footy classified

http://www.theage.com.au/entertainment/ ... 25d5k.html

'At the time of his appointment, Thomas was perceived as a risky option for an opinion-driven television program. He is a former coach at St Kilda, where he was a controversial figure. More contentiously, his former roles as an Age columnist and commentator for AM sports station SEN both ended badly.

Yet Thomas has proved a revelation on Mondays, where he is almost unique in the AFL landscape. Unencumbered by formal associations with official media outlets, clubs or the league itself, he feels comfortable delivering an unflinching and forthrigh'

...whilst i don't normally watch the show, thomo appears to be going okay.....

Re: footy classified

i like that show and i like GT on it
i think he shoots straight from the hip and asks the two other turkeys straight up questions to their faces

*caro and hutcho....

my god hutcho just looks like a nuff nuff with that dumb smile

hopefully gt is on there next year

I think GT adds little when questioned on football related topics other than cliched platitudes about "mental application" tbh this is his 1 and only trick.

I do enjoy his personal stoush with Dimwit who is possibly the only person with an ego big enough to tell Grant to shut up

Gary Lyon is a complete "mates rate" flog who offers nothing controversial so as not to offend his media buddies
Huchy tries to hard to be controversial
Caro talks in riddles about "my sources"

Hence I stopped watching some time back - simply ain't worth waiting up for.

I think you'll find that all the arguments are actually pre-arranged theatrics, having been discussed prior to the show.

All 4 of the panelists know what issues are going to be raised, what questions are going to be asked and most importantly what answers will be given by each of them.

Therefore it actually annoys me when the 'fake angst' gets a run.
To me it is as real as the WWE.

Good call WWE

Teflon wrote:I think GT adds little when questioned on football related topics other than cliched platitudes about "mental application" tbh this is his 1 and only trick.

I do enjoy his personal stoush with Dimwit who is possibly the only person with an ego big enough to tell Grant to shut up

Gary Lyon is a complete "mates rate" flog who offers nothing controversial so as not to offend his media buddies
Huchy tries to hard to be controversial
Caro talks in riddles about "my sources"

Hence I stopped watching some time back - simply ain't worth waiting up for.
I agree with all that Teffers. But I still watch it. I hate the ad breaks - but i still find it a show i somehow like to watch. I like GT on it. I hate how G Lyon is just so sucky and Caro sucks up Gazza because clearly she knows he influences who is on the show etc etc. Nonetheless i just cant help watching!

Thomas is brilliant in this format.

You might accuse him of being an egotist in other walks of life, or whatever abuse people want to hurl at him.

But he is excellent on television, excellent at discussing AFL issues and very enjoyable to watch.

I agree that when it comes to actual substance GT adds very little apart from loving the Scott brothers and saying players arent applying themselves etc.
But he adds a lot with his body language. The whole shiftyness and smirks and awkwardness make it compelling viewing. Kind of like you are waiting for something awkward to bubble up to the surface (and it never quite does).

GT just pushes his anti Demetriou agenda which lacks substance because we all know his pinion in this area isn't objective

I find GT is a blowhard , But he does raise controversial topics against the Afl , which is a good thing !
No doubt dimwit is part of the reason he lost his other media roles , and if Ch9 were to get back the footy rights , i'm sure he'd get the arse !
Caro and Hutchy are muckrakers , who never reveal their sources ( most things are half trues or just made up ) , and never reveal their bias's or conflicts of interest .
Take all the shite they said regarding events involving our club at the start of 2011 . Ch9 were even partly responsible for the sting on nixon . All those lies spoken , names dragged through the mud !
Yet never one apologie .

I reckon Melbourne needs another couple of TV programs to fill timeslots on Tuesday and Wednesday nights. Seems like a massive void.

Just record it and watch it whenever without commercials...only goes for a short time.

I like GT on TV, I also think he is great on twitter and likes to engage in genuine convo on there.

Teflon wrote:Good call WWE

Lol, lucky they don't wear the tight shorts

He's good value.....

I also think GT is great on Footy Classified. It's the best footy related show on TV I reckon. White Line Fever used to be the best :(

asaint

I think GT is the only person in the media who does not suck up to Demetriou. I love that.

I luv this show, maybe because I want to listen to CW talk shite, even my other half says CW talks garbage, and she doesnt follow footy!
GT - someone said he is shifty and on the edge of something, I never thought of that, but its spot on!
Its well worth watching IMHFO, on several levels. We know the hairy one is just an AFL stooge, he never hides that or tries to hide it.
I have worked with ppl who have differences of opinion and always argue and wont back down, just like on the show.
I think they have the right mix and attitude. Good on them.

Show is like Jerry Springer

All arguments are scripted and manufactured for those not bright enough to grasp that...

gee i apologize for being less bright........ :roll:

battye wrote:I also think GT is great on Footy Classified. It's the best footy related show on TV I reckon. White Line Fever used to be the best :(
What about 360 on Foxtel? Only prob is it's on four days a week for an hour so needs a lot of content to fill in the time.

matrix wrote:gee i apologize for being less bright........ :roll:
Not your fault - there are none as blind as those that will not see...

That said, you've been "awakened" now - not many footy chat sites can offer that.

No thanks required....

i very much doubt that the entire show is scripted word for word argument for argument

but anyway i feel afresh now ive been awakened
i should be ok to join in the convos over in general forum and baaaa like the rest 8-) 8-)

Lol I'm sure it's not all scripted.... nobody in their right mind would lay claim to writing some of the dribble on that show!!

call me crazy but i have always thought Ben Cousins would be great on one of these shows... he's done it all in the game and has the dark-side knowledge as well.

Legendary wrote:Thomas is brilliant in this format.

You might accuse him of being an egotist in other walks of life, or whatever abuse people want to hurl at him.

But he is excellent on television, excellent at discussing AFL issues and very enjoyable to watch.
He's perfect on this show. Everyone waits to see what he's going to say - and the more stick he hands out, the better.