AGM early and in Frankston

El Wood

AGM early and in Frankston

The AGM, usually in Feb at Moorabbin, will be on Dec 19 and at the Frankston Arts Centre.

Re: AGM early and in Frankston

El Wood wrote:The AGM, usually in Feb at Moorabbin, will be on Dec 19 and at the Frankston Arts Centre.
That's an oxymoron if ever I heard one.

El Wood wrote:The AGM, usually in Feb at Moorabbin, will be on Dec 19 and at the Frankston Arts Centre.
I think you'll also find that it's spelled "Frankston Artz Sentre"........ :lol:

Clearly they don't want many members turning up being so close to Xmas and at Frankston at night!

mcadam05

While we are on the AGM am I the only one who was surprised they did the life memberships at the Best and Fairest??? I mean doesn't every Life member nomination have too go to a vote of members or at least a show of hands at the AGM so was doing in at the B&F even constitutional???

mcadam05 wrote:While we are on the AGM am I the only one who was surprised they did the life memberships at the Best and Fairest??? I mean doesn't every Life member nomination have too go to a vote of members or at least a show of hands at the AGM so was doing in at the B&F even constitutional???
They changed the constitution a couple of years ago, allowing a sub-committee to recomend life membership to the Board. This gets rid of the embarassing situation where members vote against players who qualify for life membership. It also makes sense in that the sub-committee has inside knowledge on volunteers, board members, administrators etc who might qualify in areas that none of us know of !!

I just can't imagine how any one can be arsed going. Last time I went to one would have been mid to late 90s and it was excruciating. Like politics you can flap your wings and quack but no one gives a s*** then they run their agenda anyway. Better to watch from a distance and complain later when what they run stuffs up, if anything actually works you can claim it was the way you would have done it anyway.

True Believer wrote:
I think you'll also find that it's spelled "Frankston Artz Sentre"........ :lol:
Bit harsh there Bernard and TB? Of course Frangas has an arts centre...

Parking isn't great though..., best to take public transport or walk.

gringo wrote:I just can't imagine how any one can be arsed going. Last time I went to one would have been mid to late 90s and it was excruciating. Like politics you can flap your wings and quack but no one gives a s*** then they run their agenda anyway. Better to watch from a distance and complain later when what they run stuffs up, if anything actually works you can claim it was the way you would have done it anyway.

This is how I feel. Been going the last few years. You're a spectator. Nothing else.

mcadam05

mcadam05 wrote:While we are on the AGM am I the only one who was surprised they did the life memberships at the Best and Fairest??? I mean doesn't every Life member nomination have too go to a vote of members or at least a show of hands at the AGM so was doing in at the B&F even constitutional???
They changed the constitution a couple of years ago, allowing a sub-committee to recomend life membership to the Board. This gets rid of the embarassing situation where members vote against players who qualify for life membership. It also makes sense in that the sub-committee has inside knowledge on volunteers, board members, administrators etc who might qualify in areas that none of us know of !!

thanks very much for that info :)

Too Cringeworthy to go. Usually the Football Nimbats/Bafoons make a full of themeself and dont make any sense.

clarky449 wrote:Too Cringeworthy to go. Usually the Football Nimbats/Bafoons make a full of themeself and dont make any sense.
You should know this word - fool.

clarky449 wrote:Too Cringeworthy to go. Usually the Football Nimbats/Bafoons make a full of themeself and dont make any sense.
Cool reply man! Keep it up

Hope the Essendon supporter Simmo2/NeXus/ DCC City West/ Helen turns up to ask the usual idiotic question about us moving to Tassie.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Ive been the last two years and enjoyed both of them. Cant make it this year as it clashes with another function

SW's speech last year was a ripper. GW was looking at him like a proud uncle

Theres always the people who confuse Question Time with Soapbox Time. Fortunately the woman who gets up every year and demands there should be a female on the Board because it will solve all our culture problems will be placated. last years "highlight" was the constant hijacking of the meeting by Stephen Mayne and his anti-pokies buddy (who posts on here too) using the flimiest of pretexts to flog their agenda of supermarket links to gambling to board member Ian McLeod (who is also CEO of Coles)
The year before? COuldnt beat for entertainment Mr Saints Footy (and ex mod here) getting up, announcing who he was to all and sundry (while sitting in an area reserved for Club staff) then getting shredded by GW for asking about our lack of major sponsor..and area GW had covered during general business.

so..its not all drab and boring :-)

Life memberships are put to a vote at the AGM but not awarded till the B&F.
See bottom of first post from the last AGM ...
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=74529&hilit=AGM

I've been to most AGMs since the early 90s.
But I'm not travelling down to Frankenstoned for it.
Makes me think they have something to hide (bit like when Butttersss had it on a Sunday morning at some obscure place in South Rd - not the town hall).

Can someone (with comprehensive car theft cover) please attend and take the minutes?

The expression is 'make a fool of themselves' not make a shelf full of them or whatever you tried to say.

joffaboy wrote:Hope the Essendon supporter Simmo2/NeXus/ DCC City West/ Helen turns up to ask the usual idiotic question about us moving to Tassie.
You mean moving to New Zealand now, don't you?

saint66au wrote:Theres always the people who confuse Question Time with Soapbox Time. Fortunately the woman who gets up every year and demands there should be a female on the Board because it will solve all our culture problems will be placated.
So she's gonna need new material then?

saint66au wrote:Ive been the last two years and enjoyed both of them. Cant make it this year as it clashes with another function

SW's speech last year was a ripper. GW was looking at him like a proud uncle

Theres always the people who confuse Question Time with Soapbox Time. Fortunately the woman who gets up every year and demands there should be a female on the Board because it will solve all our culture problems will be placated. last years "highlight" was the constant hijacking of the meeting by Stephen Mayne and his anti-pokies buddy (who posts on here too) using the flimiest of pretexts to flog their agenda of supermarket links to gambling to board member Ian McLeod (who is also CEO of Coles)
The year before? COuldnt beat for entertainment Mr Saints Footy (and ex mod here) getting up, announcing who he was to all and sundry (while sitting in an area reserved for Club staff) then getting shredded by GW for asking about our lack of major sponsor..and area GW had covered during general business.

so..its not all drab and boring :-)

Agree with this.

Question time is question time. Not whinge and have your say and finish with 'carn the mighty sainters' time. It astounds me each and every year to see people eagerly wait for the microphone, only to waste 2 minutes of everyones time.

And with Milan. Funny thing was that we didnt get a major sponsor that year! PS Anyone notice him attend the Saints race day with Ross Levin? I could have sworn that was him and they came together....anyways.....

Dark humour and irony...?

That's too much..., you're spoiling us Clarky. :lol:

(Are you a mod yet?)

Was going to take the bus there with my girlfriend.

After watching the news, now I'm not so sure.

Austinnn wrote:Was going to take the bus there with my girlfriend.

After watching the news, now I'm not so sure.

"I like it, I like it a lot"

A Strategic Plan has been developed-
http://www.saints.com.au/staticfile/AFL ... .pdf{Quote]Strategic Framework 2013-2017
In July 2011, the Club engaged Sports Business Partners to assist its Executive Management Team develop a strategic
framework that provides a roadmap for the next 5 years, through to the end of 2017 financial year.
This roadmap was completed in early May 2012 after several off-site workshops & internal sessions and was formally
approved by the Board as part of the 2013 Budget process in September this year.
The development of the strategic framework first considered the Board’s Primary Purpose statement which was developed
in April 2011.
To achieve success, instill pride and earn respect for Saints people through winning football and good citizenship.
Since 1873, successive generations of passionate and committed “Saints” have embraced the Club and made it their own. Those people have been and will continue to be both, for the Club and community.
The St Kilda Football Club exists because of that commitment and our purpose is to return that investment to the absolute best of our ability through our actions, both on and off the field.
By understanding why the Club exists, a vision for the Club was able to be developed to clearly articulate what the
organisation aspires to be.
Our vision is to be a power club in the AFL that attracts the best commercial and playing talent.
We will succeed through inspiration, innovation and intent.
In turn, the Club’s Executive set out a series of statements that defined the current mission of all Club employees in pursuit of our agreed vision.
Our mission is to…
- Be unwavering in our pursuit of AFL Premierships
- Be highly regarded for our competitive spirit, commercial standing, values and citizenship.
- Lead with considered decision making and control our own destiny by building a sustainable commercial model
- Be an employer of choice that provides a progressive work environment
In simple terms, our vision and our mission provide a clear direction on where we want to go and importantly what it will take to get us there.
Having defined our boundaries, the Club’s Executive considered each of the functional areas of the business to answer the questions, where do we want to see this business area in 5 years’ time (Desired Outcomes) and what do we need to do in the next 12 to 18 months to achieve our stated ambitions (Key Initiatives).
The result is the creation of 9 Pillars that represent the functional areas of the business and cover the entire operation of the Club.
These are:
1. Leadership & People
2. Football
3. Membership, Fan Development & Community
4. Merchandise 5. Communications
6. Finance
7. Sponsorship & Sales
8. Facilities & Stadiums
9. New Zealand
The dialogue and debate throughout this process led to the development of nearly 100 Key Initiatives across the 9 Pillars for the Club’s Executive to drive through the business over the next 5 years. {quote}

it will be interesting to see if there any queries/ questions on this framework on Wednesday

Enrico_Misso wrote:Life memberships are put to a vote at the AGM but not awarded till the B&F.
See bottom of first post from the last AGM ...
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=74529&hilit=AGM

I've been to most AGMs since the early 90s.
But I'm not travelling down to Frankenstoned for it.
Makes me think they have something to hide (bit like when Butttersss had it on a Sunday morning at some obscure place in South Rd - not the town hall).
That 'obscure place in South Road' was Tafe, was it not?

Your servants shall hold her stones dear, and have pity on her dust :shock: