ledger

ledger

..not drafted...is he a chance for a rookie listing with either weagles or shockers...????...if not wow...we offered him a two year contract.....

but he thought he could do better....

...also mitch thorp missed out as well...

Re: ledger

Both will be rookied

I don't think he was offered a contract… pretty sure they told him they would have to wait and see whether he would be retained… he was always pretty likely to be de-listed, so he took his chance and asked to be de-listed in order to get taken as a FA.

Seeing as we just drafted 3 first round mids and added Savage, Ledger wouldn't have seen much game time any time soon.

Think you are a bit confused about the 2 years.........sting!

BigMart wrote:Both will be rookied

Based on inside info or you dont want to be proved incorrect? At least there were photos.

he is not training with any of the two WA clubs at the moment.

SinCitySainter

They mentioned on SEN that the Pies may look to rookie him.

LTN16

I reckon he has shot himself in the foot and no one will pick him up..

PADDLEPOP1001

Saints definitely offered him a contract of one year!

PADDLEPOP1000

Bizarre set of circumstances all round

reckon he will be at the tigers ......

claremont tigers that is

chook23 wrote:Think you are a bit confused about the 2 years.........sting!
maybe..maybe it was a twelve months contract...in any event scott sad he was offered a contract but asked to be delisted anyway.....

He was good - but not good enough. AFL is a tough gig. He will look back and say that perhaps he should have done things a bit differently at the Saints.

Did we really offer him a contract ?
Seems bizarre on multiple levels if we did.

He is headed straight to the wafl. Maybe Lyon will rookie him if hes lucky.

chook23 wrote:Think you are a bit confused about the 2 years.........sting!
maybe..maybe it was a twelve months contract...in any event scott sad he was offered a contract but asked to be delisted anyway.....

Thats not correct at all. he was never offerred another contract. of course he would have taken it if he was. he was delisted because we didnt want him.

Ledger asked the club to be delisted. He said so when interviewed on TWR. He was unsure if he would be offered a new contract (the club wanted to wait until after trade period) and thought strategically to become a delisted FA would be his best option. Unfortunately he missed his best chance to be recruited in the delisted FA period. The National draft was a long shot for him.

Old Mate wrote:Ledger asked the club to be delisted. He said so when interviewed on TWR. He was unsure if he would be offered a new contract (the club wanted to wait until after trade period) and thought strategically to become a delisted FA would be his best option. Unfortunately he missed his best chance to be recruited in the delisted FA period. The National draft was a long shot for him.

He may have asked to be delisted but that was because he was told we werent keeping him.

PADDLEPOP1001 wrote:Saints definitely offered him a contract of one year!
correct.......i clearly remember scott saying so.....

No not true.

Seems from the debate that he was not getting enough game time, was either offered a 1 year contract or told he would have to wait until after the first free agency and trade period to see if the club would offer him a contract.
He then thought "Gee, if I can't get game time and a long term commitment to me from the 3rd bottom club, I stand a much better chance with a premiership contender like Fremantle". :roll: :roll: :roll:

Clearly learning the hard way that he overrated himself. :? :? :?

No ledger, just a journeyman. :shock:

PADDLEPOP1001

Watters said he would be offered a one year contract however asked to move on!

PADDLEPOP1000

No not true.
Seems like Scott Watters offered people a lot of things that he had no authority to do.
Watters was never the list manager.

correct.......i clearly remember scott saying so.....[/quote]

No not true.[/quote]

Seems like Scott Watters offered people a lot of things that he had no authority to do.
Watters was never the list manager.[/quote]
Yet he let his ego take over and the rest is history, no wrong doing on our behalf.

slider

Ledger was told he had a 50/50 chance of being retained and should go and check other options, from that point he chose to leave. He was also wanting to go back home, was never offered another contract at that stage.

but he's a liar!