Updated injury list

Sam Fisher Hamstring Test
Lewis Pierce Back 8 weeks
Blake Acres Foot 2-4 weeks
Billy Longer Gluteal Strain Test
Sam Gilbert Foot Test
Jack Steven Foot 6 weeks

wolfpup

Re: Updated injury list

so white has got over his hamstring, really keen to see how he progresses this year

-----------

St.Kilda Forever!

ST KILDA

Player Injury Estimated Return

Sam Gilbert Foot 5-6 weeks
Lenny Hayes Suspended** Round 2
Terry Milera Foot 1-2 weeks
Leigh Montagna Suspended** Round 2
Lewis Pierce Back 6-10 weeks
Jack Steven Foot 8-10 weeks
Maverick Weller Suspended** Round 2
Spencer White Hamstring 1-2 weeks

Updated: Tuesday, March 4

Given the latest list FQF

a few suprises.............................Acres ...when did he injure foot?

Gilbert?? Listed as test after a week ago 5-6 weeks away :roll:

There are a few oddities.

Didn't hear of Longer's injury either. But if it is accurate, it shows a generally healthy list.

chook23 wrote:ST KILDA

Player Injury Estimated Return

Sam Gilbert Foot 5-6 weeks
Lenny Hayes Suspended** Round 2
Terry Milera Foot 1-2 weeks
Leigh Montagna Suspended** Round 2
Lewis Pierce Back 6-10 weeks
Jack Steven Foot 8-10 weeks
Maverick Weller Suspended** Round 2
Spencer White Hamstring 1-2 weeks

Updated: Tuesday, March 4

Given the latest list FQF

a few suprises.............................Acres ...when did he injure foot?

Gilbert?? Listed as test after a week ago 5-6 weeks away :roll:
More worryingly, what's with all the foot injuries ??

Running up hills in the snow?

So Spencer and Fisher may play in the Battle of Bayside on this Saturday?

Acres a foot as well - something going on their. Id suggest it is Bas's sprint training regime maybe.
Explains why Acres didnt play v Port.

Schneider ruled out :(

SainterK wrote:Schneider ruled out :(
out of Rd 1? is that confirmed?

No: Gilbo, Hayes, Steven, Montagna, Schneider?

Shiiiiiiiiiiiit - were in serious strife...

Nah. Injuries and suspensions are the best things that can happen this year. That way we're obviously not tanking but we get to find out a lot about our kids and grab a very good draft pick.

true - I like your +ve attitude.

You call that a positive attitude? Or are you too subtle for me?

What bullocks.

Gilbert is just a test and Fisher isn't even on there

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2014-03-1 ... for-opener

Sam Gilbert said he wasn't far away when I spoke to him late in the week- has been running a couple of weeks.

I spoke to Fisher and he said he had a few set backs in the preseason and he was trying to convince the medical staff he's right for round one- didn't sound confident though (to me). Gilbert and Acres both didn't train and are injured enough to only do stationary stuff. Hickey was running funny and when I asked he said he just has an odd style. Milera and Markworth both said they need to get the fitness up in the VFL but both hoped to get games in the AFL soon. Jack said running next week but doesn't know when he'll be back.

It's not a good look for the 1st game, especially with Joey and Lenny not available. We can't afford a trouncing against Melbourne, first time-up - they will be very cocky for a win.

wolfpup wrote:so white has got over his hamstring, really keen to see how he progresses this year
Kicked a lazy (apparently very lazy) 5 in the Dev team on Saturday - so I think hes now ready to join full training which is a good place to start for him. Still skinny and a lot of work to do but when anyone can kick 5 and look like hes not trying it has to be a good sign....

Lets face it - even if hes a 'burst' player and only ends up getting 8 touches a game - if he kicks 4 goals and kicks 80 per year at AFL level we wont be complaining.

gringo wrote:I spoke to Fisher and he said he had a few set backs in the preseason and he was trying to convince the medical staff he's right for round one- didn't sound confident though (to me). Gilbert and Acres both didn't train and are injured enough to only do stationary stuff. Hickey was running funny and when I asked he said he just has an odd style. Milera and Markworth both said they need to get the fitness up in the VFL but both hoped to get games in the AFL soon. Jack said running next week but doesn't know when he'll be back.
cheers for that

wolfpup wrote:so white has got over his hamstring, really keen to see how he progresses this year
Kicked a lazy (apparently very lazy) 5 in the Dev team on Saturday - so I think hes now ready to join full training which is a good place to start for him. Still skinny and a lot of work to do but when anyone can kick 5 and look like hes not trying it has to be a good sign....

Lets face it - even if hes a 'burst' player and only ends up getting 8 touches a game - if he kicks 4 goals and kicks 80 per year at AFL level we wont be complaining.

People say that about just about every forward for us. Someone said the same about Lee. It doesnt happen in footy these days. My guess is 8 touches a game would equate to about 10 goals in the year because he would be dropped after about 7 games unless of course he is a tackling machine and even then it would only equate to 30 goals maximum in a year.

Do you have to poo poo everything on here.

A goal every two touches over a whole season sounds perfectly reasonable to me.

We certainly have the midfield to help him do it.

Midfield?

Ours are either in newborn nappies or incontence pants (sorry Lenny! )

Do you have to poo poo everything on here.

A goal every two touches over a whole season sounds perfectly reasonable to me.

We certainly have the midfield to help him do it.
This reminds me of when Darth Vadar turned on the emperor.

Spencer apparently was a bit Gherig like in that he would do just enough to kick his 3 or 4 goals then go back to sleep. A mate who watched Spencer at TAC level said he does go missing for large chunks but he will do 10 minutes of such sublime footy you want to jump up and down on the spot. He always came with a disclaimer of if you could get it up to a more even consistency he could be anything. Franklin plays similar, you can not see him all game and the next thing you know he's kicked 5 goals from 10 minutes hard work.

I spoke to him at the training and he said he hoped to debut later in the year as he builds up a tank at Sandy. He is noticeably bigger through the upper body though at least. I asked him if he can come in and kick us 100 goals i his debut season and he said he'd try. No pressure on the kid but he's the great White hope.

The fact that he's fit and firing (with 5 goals in the dev team) is good news no matter which way you spin it.

Onwards and upwards from here.