Moorabbin - Trouble Ahead

SaintJohn1956

Moorabbin - Trouble Ahead

Anyone else hear the bloke ring up John Faine this morning complaining about how Government money being used to help the rebuilding of Moorabbin is basically to support the building of a pokies venue? I forget his name but apparently he is a paid up supporter and well known for his objection to poker machines. Basically said this is a facility that is going to be for children etc but also have poker machines and Government money shouldn't be used. Not too late to stop it etc etc.

Saint John

Re: Moorabbin - Trouble Ahead

What a flog.

Darth Vader

That's what you get for listening to the ABC.

Darth Vader wrote:That's what you get for listening to the ABC.
Looking forward for the new movie? I am....

Sobraz wrote:What a flog.
Exactly. I'm not sure if flogs like him a real threat. But even if they have a voice I have confidence this time in our club. The important thing is the council and govt are on our side so flogs can whinge as much as they like and most probably get nowhere.

Sobraz wrote:What a flog.
And a wowser. I guess he wants horse racing banned, too, and Tattslotto.

I think all clubs should be allowed to provide pokie's to 'patrons' as a source of entertainment - but should be limited in the amount of revenue they are allowed to generate from them.

In fact, I think that should apply to all pokie venues.

It doesn't sit well with me that we sit around and applaud the 'rich' clubs for being rich, when in reality a massive chunk of this richness is from pokies. It's lazy and in reality, whether it's people choices ot gamble or not, it's a pretty grubby social problem.

when the world ends
and the apocalypse begins

pokies will be to blame :roll:

Do people realise if we don't have the pokies then someone else does. There is a maximum amount of pokies in Victoria so someone else just gets them. Is it better to go to a non profit organisation that provides joy or misery to many or to an individual who keeps it for himself? Im going with our club. Anyway it wont be stopped by this fool and even if it was the pokies still stay in the current venue. He obviously lacks a few brains.

exactly pluggs
they are a bastard of a thing but you might as well grab them because standing fat under some ethical cloud is just going to see us fall further behind

i dont mid the odd poke myself
but id be lucky to put twenty bucks in with some mates once a year

what i dont do is chase kangaroos and pump 300 into the $ machine (like someone did with me the mon after the 09 grannie lol)

philtee

Worth reading all the press releases that Kingston Council has been putting out, especially this bit -
"Cr Gledhill also wanted to reassure the community that no public money was being spent on the existing St Kilda Football Club gaming facilities.
“This project is about enhancing the parkland open space areas and building a community football hub,” he said.

See more at:
http://www.kingston.vic.gov.au/Your-Cou ... 3ZMkG.dpuf
http://www.kingston.vic.gov.au/Your-Cou ... -expansion
http://www.kingston.vic.gov.au/Your-Cou ... in-Reserve

Mm mm
I didn't think Titsy Topsy was the marrying kind :shock:

philtee

And these -
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader/inne ... 7324467538
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/s ... 7324662416

And Archie Fraser gets his say here -
"Archie Fraser said it was with “great reluctance’’ that he engineered the Saints’ move away from what he regarded as their spiritual home."
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader/inne ... 7326907484

stjay

philtee wrote:And these -
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader/inne ... 7324467538
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/s ... 7324662416

And Archie Fraser gets his say here -
"Archie Fraser said it was with “great reluctance’’ that he engineered the Saints’ move away from what he regarded as their spiritual home."
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader/inne ... 7326907484
I can't get a sense of what were really the outstanding issues which led to the Seaford move. This article on Archie Fraser seems like his attempt at revisionist history.
Council said the sticking point was not being able to put the pokies on South Rd - and if that is the case then he deserves the shoulder the responsibility for one of the biggest disasters in the club's history.
I just don't buy the vendatta argument as a major factor of the council's unwillingness to negotiate.

Pokies are an individual call but there is a clear message from the community that they don't want it promoted which is understandable.
The club seemed to misread the collective feeling on this in an attempt to build a revenue stream and burnt goodwill in the local community which is still generating blowback now.
Debacle all round.

matrix wrote:exactly pluggs
they are a bastard of a thing but you might as well grab them because standing fat under some ethical cloud is just going to see us fall further behind

i dont mid the odd poke myself
but id be lucky to put twenty bucks in with some mates once a year

what i dont do is chase kangaroos and pump 300 into the $ machine (like someone did with me the mon after the 09 grannie lol)

it was 2 $100 notes !
... a very happy donation to the club.

Me 'n the White Kenyan dropped 4.5 k one night into the 'kangaroos' at the Bondi Hotel
whilst we were knocking back voddies at an unhealthy rate
... my god ... that was a nightmare.
... called past two days later to see a sign on the wall sayn some lucky (grrrrrr) punter had pulled 12 k outa that machine.

Omg.
... that hurt.

easy come easy go ...no good whinging ... get on with show jo.

Anyway back on topic. The pokies wont stop this project. it will obviously go ahead now.

lewdogs

Pokies destroy families. Disgusting things that prey on the poor. Awful stuff.

lewdogs wrote:Pokies destroy families. Disgusting things that prey on the poor. Awful stuff.

Alcohol? Cigarettes?

lewdogs wrote:Pokies destroy families. Disgusting things that prey on the poor. Awful stuff.
Just like drugs. It's your choice.

stjay

People destroy families through their compulsive urge to gamble - pokies are just the outlet.

Alcohol? Cigarettes?

Would you want the Saints to be a 'big, rich club' by selling booze to drunks and cigarettes to nicotine addicts?

I think there's a line as to where and how sporting clubs make their dough.

Why not start up a brothel somewhere?

Johnny Member wrote:

Alcohol? Cigarettes?

Would you want the Saints to be a 'big, rich club' by selling booze to drunks and cigarettes to nicotine addicts?

Now you are talking. That might raise some real money. :)

Johnny Member wrote:

Alcohol? Cigarettes?

Now you are talking. That might raise some real money. :)

Johnny Member wrote:

Alcohol? Cigarettes?

No I want them to be a normal sporting club and sell booze like 99% of sporting clubs. I don't want them to sell smokes though. I may want you to grow a brain as well but we don't all get what we want. The moral crusader strikes again. If they want to start a brothel im fine with that but I doubt our sponsors would be. I think they are happy to let us have pokies and grog. Could you be anymore emotive by mentioning drunks and addicts?

Johnny Member wrote:

Alcohol? Cigarettes?

No I want them to be a normal sporting club and sell booze like 99% of sporting clubs. I don't want them to sell smokes though. I may want you to grow a brain as well but we don't all get what we want. The moral crusader strikes again. If they want to start a brothel im fine with that but I doubt our sponsors would be. I think they are happy to let us have pokies and grog. Could you be anymore emotive by mentioning drunks and addicts?
Why don't you want them to sell smokes??

Again, I'm hardly a moral crusader.

I gamble. I drink. I own race horses. I've worked at a large wagering company.

Gambling can deadset ruin lives. As can drinking. And plenty of other things too. But that doesn't mean people should be allowed to do it. It's their choice.

But, I don't think it's right to set people up for your own advantage. And that's precisely what pokies venues do. That's their sole purpose. It's the same as KFC ads having hot young people smiling and laughing and having a great time whilst eating a drumstick - instead of showing some drunked, fat, middle aged reserve umpire from East Bentleigh secretly scoffing a value meal in his car in the carpark (just for example).

Again, I'm not against them completely. But I do think revenue should be capped and the enticements banned. I don't think you should be able to advertise gambling full stop - same as cigarettes and booze. And for what it's worth, most 'recreational drugs' should be legal in my opinion.

People like pokies, and should be allowed to play them if they want. People should also be allowed to provide that service.

But I don't think footy clubs should beat their chests about how big and powerful they are, when in reality a massive chunk of that power comes from the money they took from pokies. It's not 'good business'. It's lazy. And as I said, the benefits that a football club gets and provides as a result of this money, is far, far outweighed by the damage that pokies can do to society.

As a footy club supporter, I find it a bit grubby.

I applaud North for going 'pokie free'.