How high can we get this year...

Saint wagga

How high can we get this year...

I had a look at the draw yesterday and looked at which games were winnable, which were probably not and which were we a chance to win...a week is a long time in footy and all it'd take is a couple of injuries to key personel and things could change dramatically...but at present...

We have a Bruce and Roo both playing really well up forward ably supported by young guys playing really well.

Our two prime midfielders steven and Armo are in career best form easing pressure on youngsters who are being able to develop and contribute. Add in Ross who should get better and is still fresh after long injury lay off adding more back half of the season grunt.

Back 6 is the most experieced part of our team, with Newnes/webster/roberton really stepping up to provide run and carry. Gilbert is fresh and should be full of running.

Our spine is actually looking really solid, barring injury, and if injury is to strike, we have well performing younger players champing at the bit...

I reckon we could win as many as 10 games! That would be a fantastic result!!

Re: How high can we get this year...

7 for me which is 4 more than the max I thought we could win so take 7 with a grain of salt.

Depends if we can get Harley Bennell in prior to the end of the year.........

Saint wagga wrote:

Well as there are only 9 H&A left, you obviously have us winning a final or two!!!

There are some tough asks in our last 9 H&A games.

Freo
Swans in the second last game
WCE in Perth

Saint wagga

Saint wagga wrote:

Well as there are only 9 H&A left, you obviously have us winning a final or two!!!

Freo
WCE in Perth
Yep very optimistic i know, but after a massive win and consistently better performances, why not aim high hey!!
For the record, think GWS, Melbourne, Richmond and the cats are winnable + i chcked in a smokey ;-)

In order to solve the relevant problem, you need to ask the right question and some on here might think you're asking the wrong question.

So let me rephrase your thread to: "how low can we go?"

It could end up being a situation where the operation was a success, but you killed the patient....but nonetheless.......

Saint wagga

SaintPav wrote:In order to solve the relevant problem, you need to ask the right question and some on here might think you're asking the wrong question.

So let me rephrase your thread to: "how low can we go?"

It could end up being a situation where the operation was a success, but you killed the patient....but nonetheless.......

very cryptic

True Believer wrote:Depends if we can get Harley Bennell in prior to the end of the year.........
Brilliant.

Sunday, gents, was the beginning of a streak that will see us making a late run on the finals.

Melb, GWS both 50/50's..

Might get up in one of Rich or Cats.. Although will rightly start both as underdog.. Depends which team shows up on the day..

Guarantee we will win in Port. That's my only certainty left for the year.

So, if I'm guessing, we beat Melbourne and Port, finish with 7 wins 4th last pick 4. Give the year a B+ rating.

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

How high can we get this year...?
Do we really want to do the same drugs as the Suns?

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.

we swamped gws, essendon, and the bulldogs at the end in three close losses - but kicked 2-5, 1-4, 1-4.
So it's not a big leap to suggest if we'd kicked better we would be in 7th, behind richmond on %.
but good teams win those - we're not there yet. and a harder run home than to here, so i'd be happy with three more, satisfied with two, over the moon with five. But would happily console those fans wanting to go the tank.

.....I'm torn

GrumpyOne wrote:
How high can we get this year...?
Do we really want to do the same drugs as the Suns?
Better than the ones that killed River Pheonix.

Prob not as high as essendon

I'll see myself out.....

sainter104

dont want to get carried away but i dont think we'll loose another game ever.

Naughty doctor, naughty.
Another three wins should get us to 8. Which would be about pick 7.

matrix wrote:Prob not as high as essendon

I'll see myself out.....
I was gonna say no way near as high as Gold Coast...

But wait...I just did.

Personally I think we need to get past the finish low get draft picks theory.
We have 10 first 22 players from the past two drafts and I think we can contend as early as 2017.
I mean that.
With our intense pressure and a few sides dropping off we could surprise.
I don't care if others think that's crazy I believe it

Saint wagga wrote:

Freo
WCE in Perth
Freo, Swans and WC could all likely be entrenched in the top 4 by that stage of the season - if so then they will likely be wanting to rest players before the Finals commence - like Freo last year - two of those games (Freo and Swans) are at Etihad which suits our style of game - given no major injuries and that our form does not taper I can actually see us winning at least 2 of those games (taking into account that the opposition may rest players)

GWS (away) - coming off an 8 day break and tough game against Tigers at the MCG against our 7 day break - 50/50
Richmond (Etihad) - coming off 9 break against Carlton at the MCG against our 7 day break - 50/50
Melbourne (MCG) - coming off a 7 day break against Brisbane at the MCG against our 7 day break - 50/50
Port (away) - coming off an 8 day break against Essendon at Etihad against our 7 day break - Port win
Freo (Etihad) - coming off a 7 day break against GWS in Perth against our 7 day break - Freo win
North (away - Tassie) - coming off a 6 day break against Melbourne at the MCG against our 6 day break - North win
Geelong (Etihad) - coming off a 7 day break against Hawthorn at the MCG against our 7 day break - Saints win
Sydney (Etihad) - coming off an 8 day break against GWS in Sydney against our 8 day break - Saints win - Sydney to rest players
West Coast (away) - coming off an ?? day break against Adelaide in Perth against our ?? day break - Saints win - West Coast to rest players + our recent ok record in Perth

So thats 3 wins, 3 losses and 3 50/50's - So I will predict 9 wins to finish 11th or 12th - so that will give us draft pick 7 or 8

We would need to win probably 7 out of our last 9 games and gain another 15% to give ourselves a Finals shot - which is very unlikely however if we bring the same intensity to the field as we did against Essendon and have a good injury run then you never know - stranger things have happened :twisted:

Devilhead wrote:
Freo, Swans and WC could all likely be entrenched in the top 4 by that stage of the season - if so then they will likely be wanting to rest players before the Finals commence - like Freo last year - two of those games (Freo and Swans) are at Etihad which suits our style of game - given no major injuries and that our form does not taper I can actually see us winning at least 2 of those games (taking into account that the opposition may rest players)
Those in the Top 4 want to finish Top 2 to guarantee a home final.

Freo is 2 games clear, but the other cannot yet ease of.

WA could possibly get 2 finals week one if Fre and WCE finish 1/2.

I'll have whatever saytinger's been smokin'...

evo

Think Teflon will be waving goodbye to his love child Parish if our form continues. The surrender monkeys have been very quiet recently.

My post-NAB Cup v Bummers was 6 to 8 wins.

8 is looking pretty close at the moment. Happy to be underestimating the team though.

I reckon we've got at least another 3 wins. Momentum is strong, yet to play some out of form teams (port, north, melb again), could still run a few of the stronger teams close, fitness is great globally, getting better and better at seeing out games.

I've got a feeling that our game against Geelong in Rd 21 is going to be huge for us. If we win every game, we'll sneak into the finals, but I reckon we'll probably end up in position 10 or 12 on the ladder, or to put it a more fashionable way, I think we'll end up with pick 7-9.

Essendon will be lucky to win another game all year and will finish 17th.

Swans will beat the Dockers in one of the most forgettable Grand Finals ever.

David Armitage will win the Brownlow, Jack Lonie the Rising Star. All Essendon's 2014 draftees will be trying as hard as they can to get down to Seaford or other promising clubs.

Darcy Parish will be stood up on stage in Adelaide on November 1st with a shiny black faux leather vest and sexy red sash looking really really miserable.

I'm getting pretty high this year myself

just joking kids, I do NOT do drugs anymore