Crying about Motlops to far....

Saint_J

Crying about Motlops to far....

according to the eggsperts the Motlop call some how cost them the game and the finals.

sour grapes.

Re: Crying about Motlops to far....

Saint_J wrote:according to the eggsperts the Motlop call some how cost them the game and the finals.

sour grapes.
If it was against us how much would we be sooking? It was a bad decision, let's just admit that and move on.

Saint_J

think they should also mention we missed out on a few in our 50 that would have iced the game as well. but no mention of them... just that one.

I don't recall the Motlop one but on 3AW it was all about the non 50 to Weller.

Agree with op. Motlop was probably bog but pulling out one decision after the game was typical bias crap from channel 7. There were loads of controversial decisions. Many against us. Picking out one after the game just made Ling a redheaded flog. Also annoyed me how Ling crapped on about Hugh Goddards dad owning all the subways in Geelong. Hugh has already said that is bulls***.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Sat 22 Aug 2015 11:22pm, edited 2 times in total.

Saint_J

kosifantutti wrote:I don't recall the Motlop one but on 3AW it was all about the non 50 to Weller.
C7 scientists all about it games end.

Saint_J

Con Gorozidis wrote:Agree with op. Motlop was probably bog but pulling out one decision after the game was typical bias crap from chamnel 7. There were loads of controversial decisions. Many against one. Picking out one after the game just made Ling a redheaded flog. Also annoyed me how Ling crapped on about Hugh Goddards dad owning all the suvways in Geelong. Hugh has already said that is bulls***.
really hurts 7 commentators sat night. wasn't down the coast would have been there. just top game.

a lot of them can't accept the cats are not what they were need some crappy excuse to justify them losing and most likely missing the finals... 'would have but.... but but.....

Big footy is talking about bartels kick in after the drawing point, apparently on/over the line. And wellars 50 was obvious to me.

Motlops too far is a matter of opinion without measuring it, the other 2 are not.

I'm happy with his game regardless though, was great to watch

Noticed when Geelong player ran over the mark but haven't they been letting them go this year?

Motlop probably unlucky , but the 2 deliberate out of bounds against us were s***!!!
Last edited by saintbob on Sun 23 Aug 2015 12:40am, edited 2 times in total.

SaintPav wrote:Noticed when Geelong player ran over the mark but haven't they been letting them go this year?
I didn't see the Richmond collingwood game today but apparently they were hot to call that from what I've read else where.
To be honest it felt like finals umpiring with the put it away mentality with the game on the line.
Last edited by Griggsy on Sun 23 Aug 2015 12:12am, edited 1 time in total.

The umpires missed a fifty to us when a saints player, Bruce? was lining up for a kick on goal and a handbagger followed Roo cutting through the mark. Would have been a certain goal.

Motlop a bit hungus when forward of centre, just my opinion

Saint_J

Motlop was so damaging tonight... would love to have him at the Saints..

Funny thing Richo umpire call was right, Scott they got it wrong lol. sides of the fence.

saynta wrote:The umpires missed a fifty to us when a saints player, Bruce? was lining up for a kick on goal and a handbagger followed Roo cutting through the mark. Would have been a certain goal.
You are allowed to follow your man through the mark.

Jacks Back wrote:
saynta wrote:The umpires missed a fifty to us when a saints player, Bruce? was lining up for a kick on goal and a handbagger followed Roo cutting through the mark. Would have been a certain goal.
You are allowed to follow your man through the mark.
okay. :oops:
Last edited by saynta on Sun 23 Aug 2015 12:25am, edited 1 time in total.

It was the right decision but maybe a bit unlucky to be pinged due the normal interpretation which is virtually always wrong.
The centre of the ground is 25 metres from the front of the square.
If a player receives the ball 10 metres in front of centre he should have to bounce the ball once before getting into kicking range - but the free is rarely paid.
The rule says 15 metres not 15 running strides of closer to 2 metres.

The case in question Motlop bounced the ball and if he had been able to and kick afterwards he would have been fine.
But he had to run sideways around some St Kilda players first - he clearly exceeded 15 metres.

Saint_J wrote:Motlop was so damaging tonight... would love to have him at the Saints..

Thought Stevie J was paid an iffy mark in the first quarter which resulted in a goal.

fugazi wrote:
Saint_J wrote:Motlop was so damaging tonight... would love to have him at the Saints..

Motlop was BOG but I am sure if we were rumoured to recruit him the usual suspects on here would somehow invent some reason to bag him and then compare him to Andrew Lovett and Dayle Garlett.

We should have won easily. Lots more scoring shots, need to work on composure

bigcarl wrote:We should have won easily. Lots more scoring shots, need to work on composure
Good point

Composure can't be taught

Nothing to do with kicking ability either

ABC news were just banging on about the Motlop travel, but no mention of the non-50.

Cats were hot favourites, so hardly surprising their "would & should haves" keep getting glossed over.

Anyway, this always happens (Rd 13 2009 & QF 2010), so I don't know why we care.

No idea what the fuss is about, he ran about 25 meters and the rules say he can only run 15. So where is the problem?

Just bacause Savage ran about 30 metres earlier in the game doesn't make the Motlop call wrong, the savage decision was wrong.

SainterK wrote:Motlop a bit hungus when forward of centre, just my opinion
This! Was trying to be a hero and ran too far.

Great player though.