Creating a cauldron atmosphere at St Kilda Games

karnak

Creating a cauldron atmosphere at St Kilda Games

I live in London and watch all games via AFL Live. I thought the crowd atmosphere from Saints fans was the best I've noticed in a long time.

I think if we could land the crowd rendition of When the Saints go Marching in, we may just be able to create a cauldron vibe late in September in the next few years.

Here is a hair on end rendition from our Premier League sister club (Southampton Saints).

Eastern, if you like the idea are you able to alert any at the club? It would take significant time investment from the club to get it all up and running - but they could even prompt it on the screen to begin with! Hand out fliers - send emails to the members etc.

What are everyone's thoughts?

Sam Gilbert you are an EXCITEMENT MACHINE!

Re: Creating a cauldron atmosphere at St Kilda Games

There's obviously been a bit more effort put into having a "home ground" feeling this season, but we have heaps further to go....

Regardless of personal opinion on LED advertising, the younger MC's, all of that stuff, at least we've had a go. Etihad has felt a little less sterile this season. I really love the drums before the players run out, you could easily use a version of that instead of the "make some noise" thing.

I think we could make it a lot more hostile though. I don't want to see blue and white "GOAL" flashing around the ground when Geelong kicks a goal, because Chemist Warehouse is a sponsor. Get the sponsorship to fit our colour scheme and just flood the place with red, white and black. And I don't want to see highlights of the other team as the players are walking off at half time. Just show what the Saints have done.

It's all a bit polite and nice, when we should be using it for any advantage we can get. Bugger the other team and their supporters, this is our patch, and we want you to be intimidated when you come here. And I want it to inspire our supporters and players.

I've been to a lot of Melbourne Storm and Melbourne Victory games, and they have true home ground advantages. The old games at Olympic park with these teams were great, the crowd really was involved and had an impact. I'd love to see the Saints be able to conjur up this sort of excitement.

I'm not sure singing songs ala english football is the way to go though. It's been tried by plenty of teams, and never really taken off in AFL. Port's had a pretty good crack at it with "Never Tear Us Apart" but it's not quite "You'll Never Walk Alone" just yet.

I'm biased, but I reckon Spurs do it better.

However, I don't think you're going to turn an AFL crowd into singers just by handing out a few fliers.

aussie rules crowds don't sing - they boo!

I liked the player numbers and names spinning around the LED's at the start of the game. That's the big plus of technology.

I was thinking that this could be done before the first bounce of the game, similar to West Ham fans singing blowing bubbles or Liverpool's you never walk alone. The crowd could start clapping in unison (maybe with help from the scoreboard using a graphic) and then sing the song, it will really create a fantastic atmosphere, now the main issue is getting the supporters into the ground again.......

A pity we couldn't have bottled the old Moorabbin atmosphere, it was pretty unique. A good start at Etihad would be to remove the seats on the wing at the ground level on our home game days and have a standing room only area with fake turf, and possibly a Saints supporting software/ gaming developer could do a virtual Moorabbin scoreboard to run on the Etihad scoreboard- some of the old Moorabbin images could be digitiized and run on the various screens around the stadium. Lets use technology to create a virtual Moorabbin. Not sure if I want to see a clone of a soccer environment- best left to the Poms!

So...a Macbeth Round then?

:roll: :mrgreen:

Indigo Wolf

karnak wrote:I live in London and watch all games via AFL Live. I thought the crowd atmosphere from Saints fans was the best I've noticed in a long time.
Damn, right!I have to admit, we have a long way to go to but we're getting there. Also the technology added to all ruckus is a huge plus in my opinion. Gets the fans more excited.

paulski

I definitely noticed the great atmosphere on Sat night. I sat in the goalzone area which was half full, but the crowd sounded brilliant! We definitely have one of the most passionate supporter bases but need the extra numbers, which I hope come with success.
Would love to see a couple of standing bays at Etihad but won't happen.
On the singing, I'd love to see it happen, but don't think we have enough young male supporters, which I think you'd need.
I'm a Melb City member and love the singing and chanting, not sure it'd work in the AFL though.

IanRush

Borrow some of the Melbourne Victory Terrace boys to light the joint up a bit! :)

USELESS FACT: The WADA case against Essendon (in Sydney as well) is exactly 10 years to the day that Australia qualified for the 2006 FIFA World Cup.

IanRush wrote:Borrow some of the Melbourne Victory Terrace boys to light the joint up a bit! :)
Carlton supporters should stick to the Essendope thread.

I think the main thing is winning and playing an exciting brand.

The rest will take care of itself.
But when the AFL has control of the ground we should really push for major red/white/black theming of all home games.

As for the Moorabbin atmosphere, I think it really helped having a grand stand with a sheet metal rear that people could pound in unison. not quite sure how we can reproduce that.

HitTheBoundary wrote:I think the main thing is winning and playing an exciting brand.

But when the AFL has control of the ground we should really push for major red/white/black theming of all home games.

As for the Moorabbin atmosphere, I think it really helped having a grand stand with a sheet metal rear that people could pound in unison. not quite sure how we can reproduce that.
Easy- every Saint supporter just takes a sheet of corrugated iron and a hammer to Etihad , and every time we get a goal, start belting that iron. Could be a few issues with the security folks though.

I think it's a great idea. I've gone on at length about this subject before, but the more pro-active the match going supporters are about creating a formidable atmosphere, the better.

If we coincide this with our apparent strengthening as a club and a team, we have the opportunity to create a legacy, and something that will last through generations.

It's all got to start somewhere!

spert wrote:
HitTheBoundary wrote:I think the main thing is winning and playing an exciting brand.

Easy- every Saint supporter just takes a sheet of corrugated iron and a hammer to Etihad , and every time we get a goal, start belting that iron. Could be a few issues with the security folks though.
Against Collingwood we could bang their supporters on the head, thus creating a resonating hollow reverberation throughout the ground.

Against Essendon it would create a dull slushy sound, as their supporters are full of s***.

spert wrote:A pity we couldn't have bottled the old Moorabbin atmosphere, it was pretty unique. A good start at Etihad would be to remove the seats on the wing at the ground level on our home game days and have a standing room only area with fake turf, and possibly a Saints supporting software/ gaming developer could do a virtual Moorabbin scoreboard to run on the Etihad scoreboard- some of the old Moorabbin images could be digitiized and run on the various screens around the stadium. Lets use technology to create a virtual Moorabbin. Not sure if I want to see a clone of a soccer environment- best left to the Poms!
Some good ideas here.

We do need to do more to make it OUR ground.
More rw&b.
I like how the Dogs hang those giant posters from the roof of their legends.
A standing room section at the boundary behind the interchange would be terrific and create atmosphere.
Similarly more images of Moorabbin, the Junction Oval and even Waverley would be good.

You should submit these ideas to Matt Finnis.

Not a terrible idea there with the Linton Street theme.

Get it to the club. They actually have staff there that are GOOD at this s*** now. They really, really hold supporter engagement in the highest regard.

They are not far off it right now to be honest. I had a ball at the game on Saturday. Have not enjoyed a game of football that much in a very long time.

I would love some standing room at games... I know it will never happen, but if there was a standing room on level 1 I would be there every game.

No Holds Bard

stevie wrote:So...a Macbeth Round then?
Double, double toil and trouble; Fire burn, and cauldron bubble!!! :twisted:

Ye cat lovers appreciate this. Tabby or not tabby. Cat, is the question.

One thing I miss from the footy 20 years ago is home made flags.... There used to be so many more home made banners and flags in the crowd. I'd love to see a flag and banner making competition by the club.... something that all the families could get involved in.

We could start singing " shuddup ya face " at this weeks game against the swans , i believe that if we boo at anyone even an umpire's decision we will all be considered rascist's.
What will happen when Roo gets the ball !

prwilkinson wrote:One thing I miss from the footy 20 years ago is home made flags.... There used to be so many more home made banners and flags in the crowd. I'd love to see a flag and banner making competition by the club.... something that all the families could get involved in.
Good idea, but would they allow home made flags in? They'd probably confiscate the sticks.

HitTheBoundary wrote:
prwilkinson wrote:One thing I miss from the footy 20 years ago is home made flags.... There used to be so many more home made banners and flags in the crowd. I'd love to see a flag and banner making competition by the club.... something that all the families could get involved in.
Good idea, but would they allow home made flags in? They'd probably confiscate the sticks.
Yeah you an still bring home made flags in like the cheer squads.

Night games means more drinking and more noise. Either more drinking before a game than a day game and/or during also.

We've had heaps of day and twilight games this year which reduces the drinking noise/atmosphere

aaron82

I'm all for the home made flag idea. I think at times our flags etc in comparison to other supporter groups are a little sterile.
I'm not sure of all the rules and permutations around that but if you look at Hawthorn, Collingwood, Richmond in fact most clubs they have banners supporting particular players and themes.
Hawthorn even have a massive sign they drape over the fence after every win.

On another note a massive tick for the club this season in relation to supporter engagement and branding. The people we have hired to turn around our image from the bubble/school girl days have done an exceptional job. We are receiving a lot of good publicity with our off field work and this will translate to good sponsorship down the track. We haven't been a respectable brand for quite a while but that is changing.

I went down to the Hobart game against the kangaroos and couldn't be more impressed with the players and football department. After the Friday training session the players made themselves available for photo's and a chat with the supporters. It didn't seem like a chore to them, they really cared. Dad and myself made sure to take photos with as many players possible, Darren Minchington actually asked if he jump in a photo!

On the Saturday, Matt Finnis spoke at a local pub gathering, in my view a superb individual and I'm glad he is working his backside off to help our club out. Ameet Bains is a ripper too!

I already can't wait for next season, we are building very nicely!

and that's the bottom line