Pick 14

RavsterII

Pick 14

Who do we target this draft with our first rounder?
We probably need to go for a ready made mid and not a developing mid with variety of positions eg. Billings,Mckenzie,lonie,Sinclair ect as we have too many but who knows

So who do we target?
We have two options as I see it or maybe a very unlikely third
Option 1: target a ready made mid

Option 2:target a key defender to set our defence for the next 5 years (eg. Kieran Collins) and go for a mid next year depending on trade

Or a unlikely option 3: capitalise on the fact we have Riewoldt for a maybe 2 more years and target 1 more key forward and set up our forward line(eg. Harry McKay or curnow if he drifts who can play mid as well) and target mid next year

I really like all options a I think all benefit our development
I really like a lot of players but my hope is to land Clayton Oliver
Hayes clone IMO in his attack of the ball has a tank and is ready made with a built body and hits the scoreboard and can rack up the disposals
But for each option here are the players we should target

Option 1:
Clayton Oliver
Jade Gresham
Wayne Milera
Rhys Mathieson
Daniel Rioli
Darcy tucker
Riley bonner
Ryan Clarke
harley Balic
Charlie curnow
Callum ah chee
Josh dunkley(depends on FS decision)

Option 2:
Kieran Collins

Option 3:
Ryan burton
Harry McKay

Why do you think?
What option do we take and who do we go for?

ripplug66

Re: Pick 14

There is no option at all. Mid and then the next mid and the next mid again.

Clayton Oliver for me. Potential plus. Imagine when he gets AFL fit. Still rough around the edges, but could be an absolute gun.

Oliver reminds me a bit of Scratcher Neill.

not much been said about Ryan Burton....

Maybe not our highest priority position... but the guy kicked 5 as an under ager in the National Champs last year before breaking his leg...
He had already played seniors in the SAFL as a 16 year old

Now.. I am assuming he goes at 9 or 13 to Adelaide...

The main reason I bring him up is because I recall the last dominant underage mid size forward to have an horrific leg break was a guy called Jake Stringer... goes ok

Burton would likely have been top 5 witout the break

SuperDuper wrote:not much been said about Ryan Burton....

Maybe not our highest priority position... but the guy kicked 5 as an under ager in the National Champs last year before breaking his leg...
He had already played seniors in the SAFL as a 16 year old

Now.. I am assuming he goes at 9 or 13 to Adelaide...

The main reason I bring him up is because I recall the last dominant underage mid size forward to have an horrific leg break was a guy called Jake Stringer... goes ok

Burton would likely have been top 5 witout the break
Spot on SD. His injury will have put some off, al a Stringer. Saints probably won't risk 14 on him, even if he's still there, but if we have a later pick when he is still available he would be well worth the punt. Could be anything.

Best player available

Do a list of 14 players (minus Mills and Hopper) and the highest player not taken by the time pick 14 is called out... From that group would be the player to choose.

Would love Darcy Tucker to fall to us... As I rate him at 7 and he's slipped in estimates... But I think 11/12 is more likely for him.

Can say with certainty
Weitering, Parish, Scache, Francis, Matheson will be gone in the first 8 picks or higher

BigMart wrote:Best player available

Do a list of 14 players (minus Mills and Hopper) and the highest player not taken by the time pick 14 is called out... From that group would be the player to choose.

Would love Darcy Tucker to fall to us... As I rate him at 7 and he's slipped in estimates... But I think 11/12 is more likely for him.

Can say with certainty
Weitering, Parish, Scache, Francis, Matheson will be gone in the first 8 picks or higher

I don't get the Matho love at all. I reckon he will still possibly be there at 14.

BigMart wrote:Best player available

Can say with certainty

I don't get the Matho love at all. I reckon he will still possibly be there at 14.
Agreed, although I admit I have seen 2/fifths of ....all of him..

But the little I have seen he looks very sloppy by foot, rushed and lacking poise.

Too much like Beethem for my liking.

He's a ball winner... At the coal face

Like many of the players who finished high in the brownlow and best and fairests

Players who generate the footy for your team are the best players...

Only reason he is not higher is that he is not an elite user... Or great athletically
Jack Steven is far from elite in disposal.... But wins the footy, therefore is important.
Luke Dustan is far from elite in running.... But wins the footy

Matheson is a bit like Cunnington (a pick 5) who won a B&F in a top 4 team

SMS

DARCY TUCKER

whats wrong with him?
Some here said he was slow!?!
Doesnt look slow
LEFT sided but uses both sides well
Run and carry. Good size.

If we arent going to be bold and get rioli then DARCY TUCKER it is

- vic country boy
- left footer good skills
- seems fast good endurance but others have said otherwise

RavsterII

as of now

a lot of people are saying that Mathieson is definitely within pick 14 reach
if mathieson is there at pick 14 we take him according to many
tucker is currently likely to be our pick if mathieson is not there
but we dont need tucker as he is a developing mid and we have s many
clayton oliver is a lot like dusty/oliver wines and has room for development and is a ready made mid

SMS wrote:DARCY TUCKER

whats wrong with him?
Some here said he was slow!?!
Doesnt look slow
LEFT sided but uses both sides well
Run and carry. Good size.

If we arent going to be bold and get rioli then DARCY TUCKER it is

- vic country boy
- left footer good skills
- seems fast good endurance but others have said otherwise
I think he's pretty highly rated by most just others in front of him. He's in contention for a top 10 pick according to some.

I love Clayton Oliver, I reckon he just has the will to win you don't see in every kid. It's a special quality only the top players possess. Even the way he recovers himself when he goes down and keeps coming at the ball. He has a massive ceiling. Milera is going to be a good footballer too, the only issue I have is if he's a bit like terry and wants out after a year or two.

SMS

Milera going to adelaide/port i reckon. He has a bad heart though i heard anyway

SMS

Obviously with everyone saying matho he must have something but i dont see it.

I see specialness with tucker rioli and ah chee

Id rather oliver over matho.

citywest

We should target the best available (left footer) at pick 14.

ripplug66

citywest wrote:We should target the best available (left footer) at pick 14.

So if he was really pick 40 we should get him because he kicks left foot. Luckily the club will just get the best mid available.

Re Milera, Gringo says he may be a bit like Terry and want to go home after a couple of years.. Are they even related?? I feel they would be, both being 185cm and speedy.
But to suggest that as a reason not to draft him is ridiculous.

Anyway my choice would be either Oliver or Gresham. Milera will probably be gone by then.

resaintlee

Someone with an old fashion / biblical name seems to be the best bet for us. There is a Daniel, a Charlie and a Harry on the list above. Of course we couldn't go wrong with another Jack. (there must be some in the draft)
There is a Wayne also listed but that name was mentioned in an article about bogans and how they always have a friend called Wayne. Stick with a name that goes back 100 years to be safe.

All mids

Mathieson - Balic - Oliver - Gresham - Tucker
Last edited by MCG-Unit on Mon 26 Oct 2015 2:29pm, edited 1 time in total.

Your servants shall hold her stones dear, and have pity on her dust :shock:
Saint Stu

Clayton Oliver all day long! !!
If he had a bit more speed and didn't look like Cameron Lings brother, he would be top 10 easy!!!

Foz

Saints were very into Clayton Oliver early in year at Murray Bushrangers as confirmed by their staff. Obviously we talk to lots of players but Oliver won't be a surprise if called at # 14.

Pace early in the year was said to be the knock, but his year developed strongly from that point - played a few VFL games for Richmond I believe.

Lets not get anyone with shite disposal, we have enough of them already.

A polished ball user, by foot and by hand, on both sides, would be a bonus, however foreign that is.

CQ SAINT wrote:Oliver reminds me a bit of Scratcher Neill.
Why was he called 'Scratcher'?

CQ SAINT wrote:Oliver reminds me a bit of Scratcher Neill.
Why was he called 'Scratcher'?
He was a potato farmer