Ask Alan and Matt- twitter chat - 13 Jan

St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc
.@Matt_Finnis and @AlanRichardson LIVE CHAT from 12:30pm TODAY! Send in your questions using #CEOCoachLIVE

Re: Ask Alan and Matt- twitter chat - 13 Jan

Can you guys please get pick 5 back?

cheers dragit...

dragit wrote:Can you guys please get pick 5 back?

cheers dragit...

Why would they be going on a holiday :wink:

karnak

I don't have Twitter - but would love it if someone could ask whether we have thought about approaching Southamoton FC (aka the Saints) in the English Premier League to be a sister club. They're a bayside club, share our theme song and home colours are red and white striped top with black shorts (they do look very red, white and black). They're not having a great season but the club and admin are well respected. I believe if done well it could be of great benefit.

Thought it might be a refreshing discussion point instead of talking about Essendope.

Sam Gilbert you are an EXCITEMENT MACHINE!
IanRush

Ask about Saints relationship with Kingston City Council, and how the club plans to work with Council to get club HQ back to Moorabbin.

USELESS FACT: The WADA case against Essendon (in Sydney as well) is exactly 10 years to the day that Australia qualified for the 2006 FIFA World Cup.

skeptic wrote:

cheers dragit...

Bummers footy trip on the Titanic

stevie wrote:
skeptic wrote:

cheers dragit...

Bummers footy trip on the Titanic
Maybe they're sailing to Wangaratta this time :wink:

Ask them to explain to be whole risk thing of taking a player with a massive suspension over his head.
They obviously thought that two years (which is what it could've been) without a number 5 draft pick was worth it

Inside whispers were players getting off the chargez?
or they thought the gamble was worth it?

Or they flipped a coin.

karnak wrote:I don't have Twitter - but would love it if someone could ask whether we have thought about approaching Southamoton FC (aka the Saints) in the English Premier League to be a sister club. They're a bayside club, share our theme song and home colours are red and white striped top with black shorts (they do look very red, white and black). They're not having a great season but the club and admin are well respected. I believe if done well it could be of great benefit.

Thought it might be a refreshing discussion point instead of talking about Essendope.

That's a wrap. Thank you all for your questions, interest and ongoing support - MF & AR #BeStKilda
0 retweets 0 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 5m5 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Kerri Ward

Paddy has made real gains from a conditioning perspective - expect him to be much more involved in 2017 - AR

St Kilda FC added,
Kerri Ward @kerriward63
#ceocoachlive how is Paddy Martin training.
0 retweets 0 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 7m7 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Saint Lion

We're ahead of this time last year, but we still have much to do if we are to reach 40k. Need everyone to sign up MF

St Kilda FC added,
Saint Lion @Saint_Lions
@stkildafc will we hit 40k members, is there anything planned to give the membership numbers a boost #CEOCoachLive
0 retweets 0 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 8m8 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted leah88

Billlings, Lonie, Riewoldt, Roberton & Sinclair will all play more mid this year. Gresham will go thru mid as well

St Kilda FC added,
leah88 @leaht12
@stkildafc Who can we expect to see getting more midfield time this year? #CEOCoachLIVE
0 retweets 0 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 10m10 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Stephen Simpson

Hugh is back on track and training with real spirit and energy again - AR

St Kilda FC added,
Stephen Simpson @Simdogga
How is Hugh Goddard tracking this pre season after his incident early? #Ceocoachlive
0 retweets 0 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 11m11 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Matthew Healey

Mid 2017 all going to plan - MF

St Kilda FC added,
Matthew Healey @mphealey
@stkildafc what is the estimated date of completion for the return to Moorabbin?
0 retweets 1 like
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 11m11 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Western Saints Inc.

Our Rd 3 game v C/wood will be the weekend we celebrate 50th anniversary of our 66 flag. Keep an eye out for more

St Kilda FC added,
Western Saints Inc. @westernsaints
@stkildafc @AlanRichardson @Matt_Finnis #CEOcoachlive will there be a reunion for the surviving 66 players?
0 retweets 0 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 13m13 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Chris H

2/2 Gresham also very impressive - demonstrating why he was a 1st round pick - AR

St Kilda FC added,
Chris H @odneh
@stkildafc tell us who is ripping it up- surprise packet for round 1 of the kids? maybe a couple of smokeys for my supercoach #CEOCoachLIVE
0 retweets 0 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 13m13 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Chris H

1/2 Seb has had a very strong p/s, Billings, Dunstan, Acres, Templeton have had very exciting p/s - AR

St Kilda FC added,
Chris H @odneh
@stkildafc tell us who is ripping it up- surprise packet for round 1 of the kids? maybe a couple of smokeys for my supercoach #CEOCoachLIVE
0 retweets 0 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 15m15 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Luke Thow

Nathan is only 3 sessions away from joining full training with the group, all going well - AR

St Kilda FC added,
Luke Thow @Lukethow
@stkildafc interested to see how Freeman is progressing? Obviously after his set back, has he joined in full training yet? #ceocoachlive
0 retweets 1 like
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 17m17 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Matthew Turner

Definitely will be and looking to expand on more initiatives creating opportunities for our fans to get involved MF

St Kilda FC added,
Matthew Turner @mturn88
@stkildafc will the saints be continuing initiatives such as the how I want to be crew in 2016 #CEOCoachLIVE
0 retweets 0 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 17m17 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Dave Slutzkin

We are still aiming for 2017 - MF

St Kilda FC added,
Dave Slutzkin @daveslutzkin
@stkildafc When will we see a St Kilda reserves side in the VFL? Will they play at Moorabbin? Why is that even a good idea? #ceocoachlive
0 retweets 0 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 18m18 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Western Saints Inc.

Tom finished '15 at VFL level playing strong in defence. I expect Tom to push hard for selection given this opp - AR

St Kilda FC added,
Western Saints Inc. @westernsaints
@stkildafc @AlanRichardson @Matt_Finnis #CEOcoachlive Richo with Jake now out of action for 16 does that now put Lee in the calculations ??
0 retweets 0 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 20m20 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Robert Woodroffe

Eli had a challenging 2nd year post bad broken arm. My expectations are Eli will push strongly for reg. game - AR

St Kilda FC added,
Robert Woodroffe @robertcw7
#CEOcoachlive Eli Templeton seemed to languish at Sandy in 2015. What does he need to do to get back in the senior team in 2016?
0 retweets 0 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 21m21 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Saint Lion

We are deep in design & consultation phase to ensure a state of the art fac. all Saints ppl can be proud of - MF

St Kilda FC added,
Saint Lion @Saint_Lions
@stkildafc when will the detailed plans on the moorabbin redevelopment be released? #CEOCoachLive
0 retweets 0 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 24m24 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Boba GUILTY

Tweets are coming out quicker than Matt's beard growth - AR

St Kilda FC added,
Boba GUILTY @Deyterkmahjerb
Has the NBN hit Seaford yet? Not many tweets coming out yet #ceocoachlive
1 retweet 1 like
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 26m26 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted

We're still working through the details, but clearly we won't be liable for Jake's full salary in 2016 - MF

St Kilda FC added,
This Tweet is unavailable.
0 retweets 0 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 29m29 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Tristan

Fisher, Delaney, Dempster, Goddard, Lee. I'm confident we are well served from a key defenders perspective - AR

St Kilda FC added,
Tristan @zigamula
@stkildafc @AlanRichardson with Carlisle done for the year, how does this affect the plans with backline in 2016? #ceocoachlive
0 retweets 1 like
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 31m31 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted L.A Petersen

2/2 Every decision we make is about winning our next flag/long term. Not just about 16. Jake remains a key part - AR

St Kilda FC added,
L.A Petersen @liamambery
Matt and Alan, what discussions did the club have regarding Jake and possible WADA sanctions before drafting? Good luck in '16 #ceocoachlive
0 retweets 3 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 32m32 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted L.A Petersen

1/2 Like all clubs recruiting EFC players we took advice from many sources incl lawyers & AFL re WADA appeal - MF

St Kilda FC added,
L.A Petersen @liamambery
Matt and Alan, what discussions did the club have regarding Jake and possible WADA sanctions before drafting? Good luck in '16 #ceocoachlive
1 retweet 3 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 38m38 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Joshua Sinclair

We're currently constructing a comprehensive support plan for Jake's wellbeing & development during this time - MF

St Kilda FC added,
Joshua Sinclair @sinclair_josh
Will Jake be able to train with the club throughout the season, and what support will be provided to keep him busy? Thanks #CEOcoachlive
1 retweet 7 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 41m41 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Sean Walsh

Quite simply, we need to be more consistent on all facets of our game - AR

St Kilda FC added,
Sean Walsh @WalshySainter
@stkildafc @Matt_Finnis @AlanRichardson Hey fellas! What are the keys for our list to take the next step and make the 8? #CEOCoachLIve
1 retweet 6 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 43m43 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Holly Puskas

We can replace Jake by promoting a rookie to the primary list, but don't need to decide which player until after NAB

St Kilda FC added,
Holly Puskas @HollyP35
@stkildafc which rookie will be elevated to replace @jcarlisle22 this year? #CEOCoachLIVE
2 retweets 6 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 44m44 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Kathy Goodison

Its less about the Saints being compensated & more about the affected players being looked after for their losses MF

St Kilda FC added,
Kathy Goodison @matoots57
@stkildafc @Matt_Finnis @AlanRichardson #ceocoachlive Matt will we consider legal action against Essendon as mentioned by Kochie?
2 retweets 8 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 46m46 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Joshua Sinclair

We are still dealing with the AFL, but Jake will definitely have a program that will have him ready for preseason 17

St Kilda FC added,
Joshua Sinclair @sinclair_josh
Will Jake be able to train with the club throughout the season, and what support will be provided to keep him busy? Thanks #CEOcoachlive
3 retweets 9 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 49m49 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Bev Knight

1/2 Jake's mindset has gone from frustration, disappointment, but overwhelmed by the support from @stkildafc family

St Kilda FC added,
Bev Knight @BevKnight7
@stkildafc @Matt_Finnis @AlanRichardson Does Jake have a training plan for '16 & support network in place? How's his mindset? #CEOCoachLIVE
2 retweets 11 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 51m51 minutes ago

St Kilda FC Retweeted Holly Puskas

Players will be reviewed against the trademark in the next 2 wks. From there we select our l/ship group & capt - AR

St Kilda FC added,
Holly Puskas @HollyP35
@stkildafc when will the Leadership Group and Captain for 2016 be announced? #CEOCoachLIVE
2 retweets 5 likes
St Kilda FC ‏@stkildafc 54m54 minutes ago Melbourne, Victoria

.@Matt_Finnis and @AlanRichardson are at the keyboard and ready to go. Send in your Qs now using #CEOCoachLIVE
Embedded image permalink

I'm still waiting for them to answer my question. Maybe I should have asked about "Paddy Martin"

kosifantutti wrote:Maybe I should have asked about "Paddy Martin"
Or McCartin.

Or Fargo.

That's a wrap. Thank you all for your questions, interest and ongoing support - MF & AR #BeStKilda
0 retweets 0 likes

Paddy has made real gains from a conditioning perspective - expect him to be much more involved in 2017 - AR"

Surely he meant 2016.

Thanks for reposting.

Interesting. I wonder whether midfield includes wing, or whether they were more talking about on-ballers.
Billlings, Lonie, Riewoldt, Roberton & Sinclair will all play more mid this year. Gresham will go thru mid as well

St Kilda FC added,
leah88 @leaht12
@stkildafc Who can we expect to see getting more midfield time this year? #CEOCoachLIVE

No worries mate.

ripplug66

karnak wrote:I don't have Twitter - but would love it if someone could ask whether we have thought about approaching Southamoton FC (aka the Saints) in the English Premier League to be a sister club. They're a bayside club, share our theme song and home colours are red and white striped top with black shorts (they do look very red, white and black). They're not having a great season but the club and admin are well respected. I believe if done well it could be of great benefit.

0 retweets 0 likes

Paddy has made real gains from a conditioning perspective - expect him to be much more involved in 2017 - AR

\

Looks like Paddy is done for this year. Do people think he meant 2016 or 2017?
Last edited by ripplug66 on Wed 13 Jan 2016 2:30pm, edited 1 time in total.

Thanks saynta!

Either they are planning to hold paddy back again or he meant 2016.

No rush on McCartin though.

Looking good for another top 5 draft pick this year!

ripplug66 wrote:

0 retweets 0 likes

\

Looks like Paddy is done for this year. Do people think he meant 2016 or 2017?
The club's had a rough 24 hours. Might be confusing Paddy McCartin with Paddy Ryder!

saynta wrote: Paddy has made real gains from a conditioning perspective - expect him to be much more involved in 2017 - AR

St Kilda FC added,
Kerri Ward @kerriward63
The question was about Paddy Martin so maybe he's a new recruit for the 2017 season.

shrodes wrote:
saynta wrote: Paddy has made real gains from a conditioning perspective - expect him to be much more involved in 2017 - AR

St Kilda FC added,
Kerri Ward @kerriward63
The question was about Paddy Martin so maybe he's a new recruit for the 2017 season.
Dusty reinvented? :shock: :shock: :shock:

Some really interesting snippets there. They are obviously serious about Tom Lee as a defender. I remember him as not being all that great when the ball hits the deck though which worries me. Gresham is impressing - if he gets an early guernsey in the ones that soothes some of the pain of missing Jakey. Roberton as a mid?? I guess he does that Farren Ray role of a floating, tall marking player who can push out to be a marking target on the wings. If Lonie, Sinclair, Billings, Gresham are all going through the middle then we really do have a mosquito fleet. Good honest twittering. Well done AR and MF.

Bluthy wrote:Some really interesting snippets there. They are obviously serious about Tom Lee as a defender. I remember him as not being all that great when the ball hits the deck though which worries me. Gresham is impressing - if he gets an early guernsey in the ones that soothes some of the pain of missing Jakey. Roberton as a mid?? I guess he does that Farren Ray role of a floating, tall marking player who can push out to be a marking target on the wings. If Lonie, Sinclair, Billings, Gresham are all going through the middle then we really do have a mosquito fleet. Good honest twittering. Well done AR and MF.
Hey can I have a gloat please? Even if you all say NO, I will still gloat!!!!!

At least 2 seasons ago (2014) I floated the idea of Roberton as a mid, only one poster on this site thought it could be a goer, & supported me and said the idea had merit. All the other posters who commented, poo hooed the idea quite vociferously.

Welcome aboard Richo if you are seeing what I saw in Roberton after his first season with the Saints!!:wink: :wink: :wink:

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2016-01-1 ... -challenge
The St Kilda coach said the club had a few quality candidates, with ruckman Jason Holmes proving his value in the last few rounds of last season, Josh Saunders having senior experience previously and Nick O’Kearney impressing during his maiden pre-season.

“We don’t have to do it (straight away), there is a deadline on this opportunity - it’s at the end of the NAB Challenge. You would be silly to do something early,” Richardson told 3AW’s Sports Today on Wednesday night