So insipid interstate

Another terrible effort to follow up the WC debacle.

Coaching/Players just don't seem to turn up.

What is the excuse this time.

slaughtered in some key stats
Last edited by chook23 on Sun 05 Jun 2016 7:46pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: So insipid interstate

No backline. It's been a problem for an eternity

Insipid for 2.5 quarters last week

Putrid. Midfield non existent and a defence that is too small for most sides, let alone Adelaide. Very disappointing effort today. Didn't turn up, no contest, all over at quarter time. And to top it off, injuries to Goddard and McCartin. Very depressing day

magnifisaint wrote:No backline. It's been a problem for an eternity
Huge issue when your midfield are playing Vfl level, 69 f50 entries to 30.

Doesn't start in the backline... Problem is at the source (should I say Sauce)

Kate

Been a problem for a while. Not an easy one to fix either, even WCE struggle on the road,

All you have to do is set up outside and give long handballs to get outside to beat Richo's inside press. How many times did we see that and see 5 Saints charge to pressure the same player causing loose players every where. Adelaide treated the Saints with contempt and when we had possession they out numbered the go to player 3 to 1.

After 3 years you would think Richo would at least have them competitive. Completely out coached / out played and a performance that should have the spot light firmly on Richo and his staff.

Hickey a dud this week?

maverick wrote:Hickey a dud this week?
Lewie was OK down at the Cattery today

Interstate woes :( :(

Started the year with competitive games against Port in Adelaide and a good un against Hawks in Tassie but since then we have not shown up against West Coast and Adelaide - we have one more on the road and thats against Gold Coast at Metricon in Round 15 - everything else is Melbourne from here on in

Can only hope that the playing group will not be scarred by these huge interstate losses because if we want to be Premiership contenders then we have to at least be competitive during these away matches

Currently West Coast is probably the hardest trip away and Aelaide is probably not far behind - we wont be the last teams to be thrashed by these opponents at these grounds either ... that said to bring no intensity, no run and no mental effort is a huge worry especially after an 8 day break

Put simply our midfield was annihilated and our backline was undersized - with no rebound coming from the back half like there has been in previous weeks and when there was it was under pressure and we turned it over.

Could have we gone one on one all over the ground?

Could we have slowed it right down when we did have the ball and taken the sting out of their running game? Yes completely boring and not very positive but neither is getting smashed by 88pts

It seems when things arent going our way we dont have too many ideas on how to stop the bleeding except hope the opposition run out of legs like Freo and Essendon did

Of course we are still in a rebulding phase but we have a long long long long long way to go

A dud? Why do you say that?

He had a reasonable game and was a long way from our worst. Jacobs did take the honours though.

A dud? Why do you say that?

He had a reasonable game and was a long way from our worst. Jacobs did take the honours though.
In the first quarter at least I thought he got his hand on every bounce but never gave us the advantage.

Jacobs will be in the votes... He dominated!

But Hickey wasn't terrible... Just well beaten by a gun ruckman. He would have towelled up Pierce to the point of embarrassment!!!

I did not see that coming comment by richo after WC debacle....................

what will it be this time???

chook23 wrote:I did not see that coming comment by richo after WC debacle....................

Dunno

He may as well just overdub the WCE speech with "Adelaide" substituted.

Lenny, Dal etc roved to a losing ruckman much of their careers and seldom has their colours lowered. Hickey by and large has been excellent this season and deserves more support from the rest of the mids when he's not dominating.

We are extremely lucky to avoid a trip to Sydney this season. Both Sydney sides would pump us away.

chook23 wrote:I did not see that coming comment by richo after WC debacle....................

Dunno

“You can sense in meetings that there’s real clarity around everyone’s role … so from that point of view it was surprising.

“We’ll review it really strongly, we won’t just sweep it under the carpet … we’ll earn our money as coaches when we can find out why it happened."

Despite our first three quarters against Port being good, since then we have been pathetic against interstate teams on their home grounds.

Since 3/4 time vs Port, this is our for and against in 9 quarters against Port, WCE and Adelaide.

St Kilda 10.21.81
Opposition 46.35.311

81 scoring shots conceded in just nine quarters of footy. Astonishing.

Dunno

“You can sense in meetings that there’s real clarity around everyone’s role … so from that point of view it was surprising.

“We’ll review it really strongly, we won’t just sweep it under the carpet … we’ll earn our money as coaches when we can find out why it happened."
There'll be people squealing but he says the right things. He's a good coach of an ordinary team that will take 2-3 more years to pull together.

Some analysis on team performance interstate:

We are unsurprisingly the worst, with only 2 wins from 17 games interstate, 2014 and beyond.

shrodes wrote:Some analysis on team performance interstate:

We are unsurprisingly the worst, with only 2 wins from 17 games interstate, 2014 and beyond.

Good analysis. Thanks for that. "Flat track Bulldogs". I like it .
And rather than the flat track bullies, we should scrutinising the Flat Track Bulldogs, who, apart from belting the Suns up playing home matches at Cazaly's, haven't won outside of the sweet bosom of Victoria since Round 5 last year.

Beno88 wrote:Despite our first three quarters against Port being good, since then we have been pathetic against interstate teams on their home grounds.

Since 3/4 time vs Port, this is our for and against in 9 quarters against Port, WCE and Adelaide.

St Kilda 10.21.81
Opposition 46.35.311

81 scoring shots conceded in just nine quarters of footy. Astonishing.
How do you say "bad wow"

That is ridiculous

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights

shrodes wrote:Some analysis on team performance interstate:

It was only under lyon , with his " win anywhere " attitude that he was able to instill into the players that we had a good interstate record .

The players seem to think that when they board a plane there going on holiday , and play accordingly .