Team v Nth

Team v Nth

US
IN
Darren Minchington
OUT
Jack Sinclair (Omitted)

EMERGENCIES
4 Eli Templeton
21 Luke Delaney
40 Jack Sinclair

THEM
IN
Jarrad Waite
OUT
Majak Daw (Omitted)
Last edited by Jacks Back on Thu 28 Jul 2016 8:00pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Team v Nth

Meatball back... Good stuff.

So that vision of Alan Richardson talking to Sinclair on the ground immediately after the game was telling

I would have liked them to be braver and rejuvenate the 22 more. I get the feeling we will run out of petrol this game - all year we've shown we can't sustain a high level for more than 2 games. Eli deserved a run, Lee we still haven't tested much, Murdoch - where is he at, Lonie is in good form, Shents has shown a bit (but almost certainly will be delisted). Paddy could have refreshed our forward line that is relying heavily on Membrey to perform heroics both in the air and on the ground. Gresh could have been given a rest. My complain this year is we haven't used the whole squad as bravely as we could have.

Bluthy wrote:I would have liked them to be braver and rejuvenate the 22 more. I get the feeling we will run out of petrol this game - all year we've shown we can't sustain a high level for more than 2 games. Eli deserved a run, Lee we still haven't tested much, Murdoch - where is he at, Lonie is in good form, Shents has shown a bit (but almost certainly will be delisted). Paddy could have refreshed our forward line that is relying heavily on Membrey to perform heroics both in the air and on the ground. Gresh could have been given a rest. My complain this year is we haven't used the whole squad as bravely as we could have.
So we have won 3 in a row and 7 of the last 9 and making a run for the 8 in a do or die game but you think it would be a good idea to experiment with a few blokes to see if they can cut it??

BringBackMadDog wrote:
Bluthy wrote:I would have liked them to be braver and rejuvenate the 22 more. I get the feeling we will run out of petrol this game - all year we've shown we can't sustain a high level for more than 2 games. Eli deserved a run, Lee we still haven't tested much, Murdoch - where is he at, Lonie is in good form, Shents has shown a bit (but almost certainly will be delisted). Paddy could have refreshed our forward line that is relying heavily on Membrey to perform heroics both in the air and on the ground. Gresh could have been given a rest. My complain this year is we haven't used the whole squad as bravely as we could have.
So we have won 3 in a row and 7 of the last 9 and making a run for the 8 in a do or die game but you think it would be a good idea to experiment with a few blokes to see if they can cut it??
Yep. This. Just amazing some of our supporters!!

Delaney will come into the team given the return of Waite. We cannot go in small against Waite, Petrie & Brown we'll be smashed.

They are far better quality big men to what the Bulldogs had to offer.

Playon

Out of the last 36 games played at Etihad on a SATURDAY night. Saturday night only.
We have won 31 and drawn 1
( correct me if i'm wrong if not very close to that, maybe a game out)
Last edited by Playon on Thu 28 Jul 2016 11:04pm, edited 1 time in total.

I am also a bit worried about their three talls up-forward - Brown, Waite, Petrie. I thought that Delaney could get a run.
I understand why he was dropped against the Bulldogs, with their smaller/faster forward set-up.

I find it hard to fathom 7 of the last 9

On one hand two of those win were Essendon, but two were the Dogs and the Cats

It's hard to read that formline

I like this team. While we will be worried about their big forwards, they'll be wooried about our run and speed.
Good to back in the current back 6 and not rush Fisher back in. Lets see what we can do against this forward line and create turnover goals with our pressure.

Junction Oval wrote:I am also a bit worried about their three talls up-forward - Brown, Waite, Petrie. I thought that Delaney could get a run.
I understand why he was dropped against the Bulldogs, with their smaller/faster forward set-up.
Yeah I was thinking about that too... And then I thought... well... Waite is underdone... Petrie is carrying something and can't take a mark overhead and we've got a small running off attacking backline. Could go either way.
Plenty of really hard grunt work around the footy and winning 2 of those 3 match ups with their tall forwards might get us the win. Have they got anyone that can really go with Rooey? He could be everywhere on Saturday night. Hope Mav really buries Thompson into the turf at some point too. SAINTS!!

Delaney has his hands full in the VFL... After the GC and Ess debacles he won't be back.

McKenzie's a better option at fullback

Probably the most important match the club has been involved in since the Elimination Final against Sydney in 2011.

Their three talls are a worry but it could also be an advantage. Petrie hasnt been in great form. Waite is rusty. If we can spoil them in the year we can maybe exploit them on the rebound.

yipper wrote:
BringBackMadDog wrote:
Yep. This. Just amazing some of our supporters!!
Unbelievable

Playon wrote:Out of the last 36 games played at Etihad on a SATURDAY night. Saturday night only.

I thought someone said 32 wins

lintonstreet

The guys all played there hearts out last week and deserve to back it up in a Saturday night blockbuster.
I know none of us realistically thought we had any chance of playing finals this year, but I can promise you the players now do and want to be selected on form - not to be rested simply to give someone a run.

Game is at Etihad. That is our fortress now. It's Norf that should be concerned and the underdogs. Tony reportered training was excellent. The boys are still up and they've got a full 7 day break. No excuses.

Junction Oval wrote:I am also a bit worried about their three talls up-forward - Brown, Waite, Petrie. I thought that Delaney could get a run.
Wasn't dropped against the Bulldogs because he did not play the week before against the Dees.

We went into that game with the smaller backline with most posters thinking that Hogan, Watts, Vanbeberg, and Gawn pushing forward would destroy us, didn't happen that way.....,

We do appear quicker on the rebound at present, Fisher would be underdone and at present Delany to quite up to it... On that matter Roberton is now playing more key and seems to do better with more responsibility and I think the current backline works very well

I expect the game will be won in the middle , if we bring our pressure game we can roll them

I was hoping for a bit more from Sinclair and I'm not sure if Richo is trying to reinvent him as a different kind of player, but for me Sinclair should be a specialist forward rather than on-baller or whatever. This will be a game where we need to have a massive midfield effort, and a strong defensive effort from the forwards off the ball. The North talls can only do damage if the ball is bombed in quickly from rebounds or easy centre clearances.

Playon

Playon wrote:Out of the last 36 games played at Etihad on a SATURDAY night. Saturday night only.

I thought someone said 32 wins
Could be right wasnt sure if I was out on the wins or was it 2 draws, I'm only going on memory, Still it's an unbelievable stat

spert wrote:I was hoping for a bit more from Sinclair and I'm not sure if Richo is trying to reinvent him as a different kind of player, but for me Sinclair should be a specialist forward rather than on-baller or whatever. This will be a game where we need to have a massive midfield effort, and a strong defensive effort from the forwards off the ball. The North talls can only do damage if the ball is bombed in quickly from rebounds or easy centre clearances.
tony74 said about JBillings that he was being retrained in a different role; I remember him saying "trying to deal with the challenges of a new role"
So maybe Richo likes changing a player's style to fit with where he believes they can be the most value to the team?
Hope Sinclair can cope with this new role, he has truckloads of skill.
Last week he got under 10 possies, was it just 4-5?
We need his skill on the outside to break through defences like Sydney.

Wombat15

Considering this is a season defining game youve got to take in your best 22. i think the coaching staff said last week that minch was being rested. based on structure having Wright in the side allows minch to play forward and midfield as they can move wright fwd/back.
I'm all for developing the jacks, eli and giving the kids a go as a whole. but i dont think you can do that this week considering we have a real shot at making the 8.
the way i see it is....
We win i dont think the likes of Eli, Sinclair and Lonie will get much of a good run at it. because paddy, fisher and webster will come back in. and means if they are serious at making finals we will need to go 3 out of the last 4 to make it. without north winning a game.

If we lose; I feel they'll "pack in" the season. North would be 3 games ahead and i dont think our percentage would be enough. but with that being said i reckon the kids will start playing if thats the case.

all this being said tomorrow night will be a fantastic game irregardless of the outcome we have to be proud of this playing group that are certainly showing us a bright future ahead.

Wombat15 wrote:Considering this is a season defining game youve got to take in your best 22. i think the coaching staff said last week that minch was being rested. based on structure having Wright in the side allows minch to play forward and midfield as they can move wright fwd/back.
I'm all for developing the jacks, eli and giving the kids a go as a whole. but i dont think you can do that this week considering we have a real shot at making the 8.
the way i see it is....
We win i dont think the likes of Eli, Sinclair and Lonie will get much of a good run at it. because paddy, fisher and webster will come back in. and means if they are serious at making finals we will need to go 3 out of the last 4 to make it. without north winning a game.

If we lose; I feel they'll "pack in" the season. North would be 3 games ahead and i dont think our percentage would be enough. but with that being said i reckon the kids will start playing if thats the case.

all this being said tomorrow night will be a fantastic game irregardless of the outcome we have to be proud of this playing group that are certainly showing us a bright future ahead.
Spot on there mate!