5 Elite Players Short

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/m ... 03ade7a068

According to Champion Data St Kilda is 5 elite players short of being contenders.
Elite is top 10% in your position
CHAMPION DATA 2017 LIST ANALYSIS

CLUB, ELITE, ABOVE AVERAGE, TOTAL
Western Bulldogs 6, 13, 19
GWS Giants 6, 11, 17
West Coast 6, 8, 14
Adelaide 4, 10, 14
Sydney 6, 7, 13
St Kilda 1, 11, 12
Collingwood 2, 10, 12
Port Adelaide 3, 7, 10
Melbourne 2, 8, 10
Hawthorn 5, 5, 10
Geelong 5, 4, 9
Fremantle 3, 6, 9
Richmond 3, 6, 9
Gold Coast 3, 5, 8
North Melbourne 1, 6, 7
Essendon 0, 7, 7
Carlton 2, 3, 5
Brisbane Lions 0, 3, 3

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08

Re: 5 Elite Players Short

Well what is an elite player?

I don't believe that they are accurate. Doggies did not have 6.

I reckon that we had 2 and not one.

5 more elite players would be nice, but it is unlikley.

If we can gain several more, including from what players we already have, that would be nice.

saintsRrising wrote:Well what is an elite player?

I don't believe that they are accurate. Doggies did not have 6.

I reckon that we had 2 and not one.

5 more elite players would be nice, but it is unlikley.

If we can gain several more, including from what players we already have, that would be nice.
I think those numbers are very positive for the saints...
Firstly, Carlisle could easily slot straight into ``elite", particularly in marking!

Secondly, we have several players developing... Acres, Billings, Steele, Paddy, Gresh: all have a chance to move into elite territory in the next couple of years IMO

I take it with a grain of salt but I do like our position on that table...

saint3d

So Champion Data thinks Jake Stringer is elite but at least one of Jack Steven and Nick Riewoldt is not.

They list 56 elite players that is 3.11 elite per club and another 130 above average players that is 7.22 above average per club.
We have 3.78 extra above average players but we are short 2.11 elite - that still makes us average at the moment.

It's a great measure because it ranks players objectively across their position.

It's not the only measure but it is a consistent and objective view.

Riewoldt would get ranked with the midfielders now - hence prob not elite. And while the result is great with heaps of above average, we need players to make next step.

Who can this be? Gresham and McCartin are chances... And Ross if continues to grow. There'll be heaps of growth into the above average category (Steele, Billings, Acres, Dunstan, McKenzie) need a few to exceed that.

can someone put up the list of players plse? I love a good laugh!

On last years form Hickey would be well in the top 10% of ruckmen.

The key I think is across the field balance, tenacity, a good level of skill with no weak links/ GOPs.

Elite players could weaken the balance overall by taking up a disproportionate share of the salary cap - which means by necessity a team of 5 or more elites will unavoidably end up with an over-representation of ordinary players.
Last edited by samoht on Tue 01 Nov 2016 10:30am, edited 2 times in total.

longtimesaint wrote:On last years form Hickey would be well in the top 10% of ruckmen.
And Membrey would be in the top 10% of third tall forwards.

So there's 4 - Steven, Rooey, Hickey & Membrey

Character is important too!
We should aim to be the toughest team with the right mettle and with no weak links/GOPs.

A balanced team of B graders made of the sturdy stuff with no C graders. I'll be happy with that.
Last edited by samoht on Tue 01 Nov 2016 2:45pm, edited 1 time in total.

stevie wrote:can someone put up the list of players plse? I love a good laugh!
It's November Stevie. Your 6 months of summer has began. Go out and get burnt and knock off your first slab of XXXX for the day and you'll have a laugh

saint3d

Spinner wrote:Riewoldt would get ranked with the midfielders now
If 'midfielder' is a position, how do you rank players in it? Centre clearances?

But if 'wing' is a position, I'd love to see anyone assert that Riewoldt wasn't the best player in that position in 2016.

You are only as good as your last game. 21marks, 9 goals, Roo must be the best in the AFL!

I'd seriously like to see the 6 Bulldog players that they rank as 'elite'

Off the top of my head I can only think of The Bont. The Doggies were your classic 'team'. No real stars to rely on, just 22 very good footballers having a red hot crack. You could argue that Beveridge didn't do a great job in the H&A season as the doggies finished 6th - yet they apparently have the strongest list in the competition...... Tom Boyd wouldn't even have rated as above average, yet his finals series definitely was. A lot of players in their team played their best ever footy (Clay Smith, Picken) in the finals which is what you want your players doing. It's a credit to them, however unless this Champion data was taken in the finals only, it's a crock

saint3d wrote:So Champion Data thinks Jake Stringer is elite but at least one of Jack Steven and Nick Riewoldt is not.

If Champion Data doesn't rate Riewoldt elite on last season's form, then it has significant flaws.

Linton Lodger wrote:
saint3d wrote:So Champion Data thinks Jake Stringer is elite but at least one of Jack Steven and Nick Riewoldt is not.

If Champion Data doesn't rate Riewoldt elite on last season's form, then it has significant flaws.
What position do they classify him as?

It's November Stevie. Your 6 months of summer has began. Go out and get burnt and knock off your first slab of XXXX for the day and you'll have a laugh

Lol lovely and overcast and hopefull rain here today! We've been lucky in that we had a late winter and skipped spring.

I don't drink (9 years now) but I wouldn't be drinking 'barbed wire' if I did, lol! And yeah i need some more laughs now as the whinging about no daylight saving has diminished!! WOOHOO!!!!

I don't know who Champion Data rates as elite, for the record I'll do some ratings.

I've done 2 groups, players on our list that are elite and then the ones that have shown they are potentially elite and could become so at any time from now, including as early as next season.

Currently Elite

Riewoldt, Steven, Montagna, Dempster, Carlisle, Hickey & Weller.

Potentially or Imminently Elite

Gresham, Billings, McCartin, Acres, Dunstan, Newnes, Ross, Webster, Roberton, Bruce, Membrey, White, Steele, K.Stevens, Lonie & Freeman.

citywest

Linton Lodger wrote:I don't know who Champion Data rates as elite, for the record I'll do some ratings.

I've done 2 groups, players on our list that are elite and then the ones that have shown they are potentially elite and could become so at any time from now, including as early as next season.

Currently Elite

Riewoldt, Steven, Montagna, Dempster, Carlisle, Hickey & Weller.

Potentially or Imminently Elite

Gresham, Billings, McCartin, Acres, Dunstan, Newnes, Ross, Webster, Roberton, Bruce, Membrey, White, Steele, K.Stevens, Lonie & Freeman.
Don't get me wrong, I like Weller but to call him elite is the biggest case of Rose Coloured Glasses the world has ever seen. :shock:

And I haven't checked lately, but I don't think Carlisle got too many possns in 2016

Linton Lodger wrote:I don't know who Champion Data rates as elite, for the record I'll do some ratings.
Champion data use data not their opinion.
They are the official data supplier to the AFL and clubs.

I think this is a fair measure.

Having 11 above average is a very good sign. That makes us 3rd in the comp for above average players.

Being top 10% in your position is a very hard thing to do which I think is a good measure because commentators throw the word word 'elite' around way too easily for mine.

The good news is we have some potential elites. Carlisle can be elite. Hickey cant be far off it now. Acres, Steele and Ross are potential elite midfielders. Membrey cant be far off for his position either.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Tue 01 Nov 2016 3:46pm, edited 1 time in total.

Elite Bulldogs players: Mitch Wallis, Marcus Bontempelli, Bob Murphy, Matthew Boyd, Jake Stringer, Luke Dahlhaus.

In theory it would be great to end up with 22 elite players.

But in practice a team probably can't afford to keep more than 8 elites in a team on $1 million plus each, without ending up with 8-10 GOPs on $150k each at the other end.

For every elite you'll probably end up with a GOP. ....similar to: for each action there is an equal and opposite reaction.

So the elite-heavy teams (like GWS), once their elite youngsters mature and sign hefty new contracts, will end up with a soft underbelly of ordinary footballers that a team brim-full of good footballers (with only 1 or 2 elite) could exploit.

The elite-heavy teams will therefore not be able to dominate for any sustainable period... unless their elite are persuaded to play for "way unders".

It's never the "x" elite from team A vs the "y" elite from team B (where x and y are variables from 0 to 22 - representing the number of elite on each team) --- it's team A vs team B.
Last edited by samoht on Tue 01 Nov 2016 4:03pm, edited 6 times in total.