Frees for and against saints

Re: Frees for and against saints

Ooooh I get it now, you guys legitimately don’t know the rules of AFL football, it all makes much more sense now...

The_Dud wrote:Ooooh I get it now, you guys legitimately don’t know the rules of AFL football, it all makes much more sense now...

LMFAO. :D :D :D

resaintlee

I thought at the time that players possibly felt they they were up against it with another poor decision taking the wind out of their sails after working hard. The same as when bad kicking lets us down, it did appear to be a visible response showing disappointment with the Savage decision.

Lions. 20 to 26 Win

Roos. 16 to 23 Loss

Crows. 17 to 21 Loss

Cats. 23 to 25 Loss

GWS. 18 TO 20 Draw

Dees. 15 to 20 Loss

Freo. 23 to 16 Loss

Filth. 17 to 27 Loss

Total. 149 to 178

Umpiring was very s*** tonight and did cost the Saints 3-4 goals...but so were both sides as footy clubs tonight. 2 x ordinary sides took the field and it showed.

I hope no one tries to defend that.

Oh? The usual smart arses will try to. Just to show us how cleaver they are.

Do what I do CURLY. Just ignore them.

Drives them mad.

Lions. 20 to 26 Win

Roos. 16 to 23 Loss

Crows. 17 to 21 Loss

Cats. 23 to 25 Loss

GWS. 18 TO 20 Draw

Hawks. 14 to 18 Loss

Dees. 15 to 20 Loss

Freo. 23 to 16 Loss

Filth. 17 to 27 Loss

Tiges. 19 to 14 Loss

Total. 182 to 210

Any words on what happened to the conspiracy this week?

I understand you don’t like to / can’t answer the hard questions, so I won’t hold out for a reply :)

saynta wrote: Sun 20 May 2018 12:16am Oh? The usual smart arses will try to. Just to show us how cleaver they are.

Do what I do CURLY. Just ignore them.

Drives them mad.
Bump.

Fees for and against;

Lions. 20 to 26 Win

Roos. 16 to 23 Loss

Crows. 17 to 21 Loss

Cats. 23 to 25 Loss

GWS. 18 TO 20 Draw

Hawks. 14 to 18 Loss

Dees. 15 to 20 Loss

Freo. 23 to 16 Loss

Filth. 17 to 27 Loss

Tiges. 19 to 14 Loss

Eagles 12 to 25 Loss

Total. 194 to 235

Outrageous.

We win the free kick count = whinge about umpires
We lose the free kick count = whinge about umpires

I’m starting to see a pattern here!

The_Dud wrote: Sun 03 Jun 2018 8:43pm We win the free kick count = whinge about umpires
We lose the free kick count = whinge about umpires

I’m starting to see a pattern here!

What do you mean 'we' troll.

Anyone who comes on the saints forum or any forum for that matter calling themselves a dud, does not support the team the forum is promoting.
Last edited by saynta on Mon 04 Jun 2018 11:08am, edited 1 time in total.

Darth Vader wrote: Wed 11 Apr 2018 2:52pm
Bernard Shakey wrote:Big deal!
Just means we give away more frees than our opponents.
Agree, but why do we do this? Has been happening for years and I don’t accept it’s because umpires “cheat”. What is going wrong in the way we play and why can’t we correct it?
Terrible disadvantage in Perth against the Eagles mostly as they get frees often in front of goals. That does hurt.

On your questions about why; is that we have build a pressure game including tackles, we aren't an overly large team, have had lots of younger bodies in the last six years that don't hold tackles, get pushed or push away with 2 hands against bigger players that make the umpires task easy to decide. Even Ross Lyon quoted in 2015 that you don't get real value from umpires through tackling, when he was asked by reporters why the Dockers didn't have many tackles on a game that year.

Realistically umpires do have their favourites. I believed this for years, Carey started raising this last year. Trends on freed for per teams provide trends that show how midfielders benefit greatly in the free kick count. There are clear trends that WCE and Geelong are clear favourites over many years, in particular periods with quality midfielders and ruckmen. I have some very damning evidence on frees given over 23 years. Saints are the only team not to have beaten the leagues team average in the last 7 years. Essendon, Gold Coast, Brisane and Melbourne aren't much better but all the regular finalists get plenty of "help" bar Adelaide for some reason. They dont get support from games calls and fare pretty badly despite being near the top for years?

Its very clear who got lots of frees during the key ducking years. People whinged about the Bulldogs frees for count in 2016 but seemed ignore Richmond's count the year before. They had one less free for the whole year.

Other teams who havent done well over 11 years are Collingwood, Carlton, Gold Cost and GWS. The latter due to their fledgling years.

Frees arent a huge winner but in front of goal can be a killer (like in Perth). For those who put up the argument it all gets shared around, it doesnt. Saints get less frees that West Coast in Melbourne over the 11 years with 2 frees per game differential. Seems small but it adds up. Ask Melbourne why they had 500 frees less than WCE over 5 years from 2011-2015?

Saints are 18th for "frees for"...so yep, we have got the rough end of the old white maggot stick for this sole stat this premiership season.

Fees for and against;

Lions. 20 to 26 Win

Roos. 16 to 23 Loss

Crows. 17 to 21 Loss

Cats. 23 to 25 Loss

GWS. 18 TO 20 Draw

Hawks. 14 to 18 Loss

Dees. 15 to 20 Loss

Freo. 23 to 16 Loss

Filth. 17 to 27 Loss

Tiges. 19 to 14 Loss

Eagles 12 to 25 Loss

Swans 20 to 22 Loss

Total. 214 to 257

Bit of evening up there in the last quarter.

Still, not to bad this weekend. Couple of crap decisions that resulted in goals being kicked against us.

New rule though. You don't have to kick the ball 15 metres for a mark if you are playing the Saints.

Richmond are ranked last for frees.

Doesnt seem to affect them.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-05-30/f ... es-em-away

Con Gorozidis wrote: Sat 09 Jun 2018 11:20pm Richmond are ranked last for frees.

Doesnt seem to affect them.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-05-30/f ... es-em-away
"Frees for per game: 18.3 (equal 16th)
Frees against: 20.9 (10th)
Differential: -2.6 (15th)

Most free kicks for: Jade Gresham (15, equal 30th) 2017: Billy Longer (31, equal 30th)
Most free kicks against: Tom Hickey (17, equal 12th) 2017: Jack Newnes (24, equal 65th)

Three free kick facts:
1. St Kilda is No.1 in the competition for the proportion of free kicks it has conceded in the midfield since the start of last year, at 71.5 per cent. That's almost two per cent higher than second-placed Melbourne.
2. Midfielder Jack Steele is equal-10th in the competition for conceding holding-the-man free kicks since the start of last season, with 13.
3. Ruckman Billy Longer has won seven free kicks for illegal blocks since the start of 2017, enough to have him ranked equal-fourth in the AFL. - Dinny Navaratnam"

Those figures as set out above are clearly wrong

Our average frees for per game is actually 19.45 after 11 rounds , while the free kicks against are averaging 23.4 per game, a differential of 3.95 per game.

But I get your point.

Fees for and against;

Lions. 20 to 26 Win

Roos. 16 to 23 Loss

Crows. 17 to 21 Loss

Cats. 23 to 25 Loss

GWS. 18 TO 20 Draw

Hawks. 14 to 18 Loss

Dees. 15 to 20 Loss

Freo. 23 to 16 Loss

Filth. 17 to 27 Loss

Tiges. 19 to 14 Loss

Eagles 12 to 25 Loss

Swans 20 to 22 Loss

Suns 28 to 21 Win

Total. 242 to 278

Better deal from the maggots who still managed some shockers.

They must hate Paddy. Maybe the helmet makes him invisible.

Gotta give the umps a big thanks for getting us across the line this week! Goals from frees and 50m penalties are always handy in a last quarter comeback! :D

The grand AFL conspiracy against us mustn’t have reached that far north yet...

The_Dud wrote: Mon 18 Jun 2018 2:42pm Gotta give the umps a big thanks for getting us across the line this week! Goals from frees and 50m penalties are always handy in a last quarter comeback! :D

I thought the umpires did a poor job (missed plenty for both sides)
I watched the Tigers vs Cats yesterday and the Sydney vs Eagles game and from the television there were plenty of missed frees in both those games. I just reckon the standard of umpiring is getting worse.

But I agree with you - we shouldn't be allowed to kick goals from free kicks or 50m penalties even if they are warranted,
It's totally unfair to our opposition that we be afforded similar opportunities to them.

Stats wise overall this season.

The Saints aren't getting the better of it in regards to Frees For and Frees Against.

The howler in the second qtr where a Suns was blatantly caught holding the ball in our foward line and the ball moved on. The ******** ump was making a ridiculous handball gesture to signify he got rid of the ball. Well, he hadn’t you POS and the fury that is Sts fans unleashed was massive. I haven’t screamed in anger like that for ages. It was just f****** rubbish

Mr Magic wrote: Mon 18 Jun 2018 3:03pm
The_Dud wrote: Mon 18 Jun 2018 2:42pm Gotta give the umps a big thanks for getting us across the line this week! Goals from frees and 50m penalties are always handy in a last quarter comeback! :D

I thought the umpires did a poor job (missed plenty for both sides)
I watched the Tigers vs Cats yesterday and the Sydney vs Eagles game and from the television there were plenty of missed frees in both those games. I just reckon the standard of umpiring is getting worse.

But I agree with you - we shouldn't be allowed to kick goals from free kicks or 50m penalties even if they are warranted,
It's totally unfair to our opposition that we be afforded similar opportunities to them.
Post of the week mate, but the dud troll will probably agree with you. :wink: