Not angry. Just...disappointed so far

I'm not angry at the club, staff, coaches, players, recruiters, etc. for the s*** start to the year. I'm more..just disappointed how its panning out. At the end of the day, its just footy and a sport so I will never get personal and abusive towards the above that were listed in my first sentence...no matter what.

I thought, like many other Sainters, that we would naturally climb the ladder or do equally as well than the last 2 years. Who wouldn't have?! I'm hopeful things will turn around still and I'm positive we have a good group of players under 25 going forward.

Plans go to s*** sometimes. That is life, but it might be an interesting off season if the sides performances keep going like this most weeks until the last round.

Again...not angry at the club and players...just very disappointed in 2018 thus far.

portosaint

Re: Not angry. Just...disappointed so far

Good for you

portosaint wrote:Good for you
Thank you wise sage.

It's because we don't get angry and demand change that we must accept part of the blame
Wouldn't happen at HAwks
We just doze along hoping for the next messiah and place people on pedestals that clearly don't deserve to be there

portosaint

Teflon wrote:It's because we don't get angry and demand change that we must accept part of the blame
Wouldn't happen at HAwks
We just doze along hoping for the next messiah and place people on pedestals that clearly don't deserve to be there
Now thats what I call a wise sage.

parkeysainter wrote:I'm not angry at the club, staff, coaches, players, recruiters, etc. for the s*** start to the year. I'm more..just disappointed how its panning out. At the end of the day, its just footy and a sport so I will never get personal and abusive towards the above that were listed in my first sentence...no matter what.

I thought, like many other Sainters, that we would naturally climb the ladder or do equally as well than the last 2 years. Who wouldn't have?! I'm hopeful things will turn around still and I'm positive we have a good group of players under 25 going forward.

Plans go to s*** sometimes. That is life, but it might be an interesting off season if the sides performances keep going like this most weeks until the last round.

Again...not angry at the club and players...just very disappointed in 2018 thus far.
And..........

Teflon wrote:It's because we don't get angry and demand change that we must accept part of the blame
Wouldn't happen at HAwks
Hawks are the family club and...its just a sport.

Otherwise, write a letter to the club or apply for a vacant position for example if you're that passionate. Maybe try get on the Saints rookie list perhaps through the next draft.

portosaint

parkeysainter wrote:
Wouldn't happen at HAwks
Hawks are the family club and...its just a sport.

Otherwise, write a letter to the club or apply for a vacant position for example if you're that passionate. Maybe try get on the Saints rookie list perhaps through the next draft.
Go for it Teflon. Doesn't matter if you don't cut the mustard... Parkey will still kiss your a**e

You're not angry?
If I see the opposition kick down the guts from a behind and hit up an unmarked player AGAIN this year I will f'n spew up.
Opposition players running out the back of our 'shape' while our players watch on.
Players not standing the mark.
Opposition players marking on their forward goal line.
Geary being used as the loose defender (freed up by the opposition for obvious reasons).

These players don't do the absolute basics. And that's before butchering the ball. FFS.

And this is the communicator that manages 60+ staff this evening:

"After half-time, (we were) really strong for about 10 minutes (but) weren't able to maximise. It did seem a little bit today like and, it's disappointing but I think it's understandable, that we then a lost a bit of drive. It was if the energy had been sapped out of the group,"

The brackets are journalists trying to assist in making this ramble into something that may be understood by his audience.

Get rid.

But what is a joke is the goal kicking.
I've seen the team get belted so many times over 40 years , losing a game pisses me off but doesn't mean jack in the real world . I've seen plenty of crap st kilda sides . But even the really crap ones sometimes would make the most of opportunities in a match and give themselves a chance to win.
In every match this year IF we took our chances we'd be in the games at half time.
And IF you're in the game then you never know.
Unfortunately in most we haven't .
We are then playing catch up
And in reality got NFC.

Myron Gaines

What a piss poor OP. Rubbish post. Grandstanding that you’ll support the club no matter what. Nothing but a snow flake. Say what needs to be said ffs. The club is rooted. Richo is as dumb as a post. It’s clear as daylight the bloke hasn’t a clue & has lost the players. Clubs f***ed at the minute with that zombie at the helm.

Myron Gaines wrote:What a piss poor OP. Rubbish post. Grandstanding that you’ll support the club no matter what. Nothing but a snow flake. Say what needs to be said ffs. The club is rooted. Richo is as dumb as a post. It’s clear as daylight the bloke hasn’t a clue & has lost the players. Clubs f***ed at the minute with that zombie at the helm.
Firstly, you are putting words into my mouth and have totally misunderstood my post in being that I'm disappointed more than anything. But if you need to drink half a slab or abuse another poster following a bad Saints loss to get out your anger then that is your issue.

The club is not rooted nor is Richo an idiot or hack either. The side is playing like total s*** and a ton of players are out of form. Have been since Rd 2 bar the GWS game.

i'm disappointed you're not angry. a stage oner. move on, move on.

portosaint wrote:
Wouldn't happen at HAwks
Now thats what I call a wise sage.

Its what I call sensible. We spend on the club and follow it weekly and beyond. only to receive a glimmer of hope that never eventuates. That's disappointing to most.

To me if smacks of inferior prospects. As Teflon says it wouldn't be deemed satisfactory at the Hawks. We have an issue now that might get fixed or we could wait another season to the offseason in hope for more glimmer.

That wont get us another finals opportunity. We need to move forward, be inspired that what the club say is meant and there is tangible evidence for all to see that we are on track. In 2016 we had a brilliant run and nearly made the finals, We were stalled by crap percentage due to hidings from West Coast, Sydney, Adelaide and the Bullies (Rd2). I asked the club when WCE trounced us in Perth, what would change. As it happened, despite all the rhetoric we got trounced by Sydney by 94 points from memory. That to me, was tangible evidence that we would not feature in 2017 finals as we hadn't really learnt much, didn't have the cattle or skills and had a tougher 2017 draw. I predicted we wouldn't get to finals but be around tenth. I was close.

2017 We nearly beat the Eagles in round 2 in Perth. Things have changed as I see progress. We start the now historic poor conversion in that game that haunted us all year. Poor kicking is poor football. We didn't make finals. Still was trounced by Adelaide, Sydney and Bulldogs, flogged Richmond but lost only 1 and 7 rounds later by over 40 points to Dons and Tigers. Inconsistent with no big wins.

2018 We lose Roo and Joey but pick up to first round picks. The will take time but the leadership of the club has dwindled badly. We are being savaged by other clubs, many younger than us and less experienced but the age and games played distribution is not favourable to Saints with no one being over 200 games. Leadership in terms of coaching, support and instruction is now killing us. This is a management issue. Its not helped progression but despite this other teams cope and flog us like Maelbourne today who have comparable team personnel stats.

What needs to change needs to happen now or very soon or we will stay exactly where we are. That is getting a quality draft pick but not picking the right one as in previous years.

Call me angry, disappointed and cynical but the clubs tangible evidence does not support their aspirations and this hurts after 5 years with one senior coach and 2 more years in contract, a large pocket of money as salary cap not used to correct the team balance. To me this is mismanagement and needs correction because we cant afford this. We have no stadium deal excuses and have spread our interest across many things at this club but lost the focus to the important thing. That's building a culture of success. AFL wont continue to bale us out for mismanagement. They will diversify to Tassie or something with a starting base of Saints players if we a re lucky.

Yeas I'm cynical, disappointed and bloody angry that we continue to blow opportunity for no success.

parkeysainter wrote:I'm not angry at the club, staff, coaches, players, recruiters, etc. for the s*** start to the year. I'm more..just disappointed how its panning out. At the end of the day, its just footy and a sport so I will never get personal and abusive towards the above that were listed in my first sentence...no matter what.

What a passionless post. That's it, just sit back and accept that the rot will continue!

I'm also simultaneously angry and disillusioned.

How could you not be angry at the crap we are being served up.

I had high hopes for Richo and the rebuild.
I thought last year was just a hiccup and the march forward would continue this year.

But two months in and some things are painfully clear.
- we have gone backwards and are now back to a hack bottom four side
- our skills are lamentable
- many big name (high draft) players that we hoped would be A-graders are C+ at best (Jack Billings?)
- in fact we have no-one at the club who is even close to an A grader except perhaps Carlisle (Jack Steven isn't because his disposal is ordinary)
- we lack leadership
- our recruiting has been dismal (Long excepted)
- our goalkicking is a disgrace

Even more significantly the gameplan seems to have collapsed.
Time and time again our defenders held up well under pressure and played that couple of handballs and chip kick to the defender wide in the back flank near the boundary and then .... Nothing! The next kick was to no-one, or a contest on the wing or a turnover.
We simply don't have a plan that allows us to run the ball out of defence.

When we do take a risk and play up the corridor our insipid kicking lets us down and we turn it over.
And when we have a bit of time and space the decision making is pathetic. Choosing the wrong option seems to be the norm - how many times did we it to a contest involving Gawn who as the tallest player on the ground unsurprisingly marked? How many times do we handball to someone under immense pressure?
And when we do choose the right option the execution lets us down.

Then there is our goalkicking.
Last year we were the most inaccurate side in the comp, and this year we are setting a new low water mark. Since round 2 we have averaged just 7 goals per game. Even under Ro$$ we scored more and he had a defensive gameplan that worked.
Membrey was a deadeye last year, woeful this year. Ditto Gresham. I used to think Billings was the worst goal kicker at our club till that laughable performance from Marshall today - even when the umps gifted him a shot from the square he simply kicked his 4th point.
What exactly does our elite specialist goalkicking coach Ben Dixon actually do?

Today I have realised/accepted the reality of things.
- the rebuild has been a failure and most of our first round picks like Paddy are simply not up to it
- Richo can't coach. If he does have a Plan A he is not communicating it and he has never had a plan B.
- we have wasted the last 5 years and have nothing to show for it
- this team is almost unwatchable unless accompanied by the Benny Hill music.

Anyone who isn't angry and disillusioned with all that is either not a real supporter or living in an alternative reality.

AMEN to that, Enrico!

Do I get angry at the Saints? Hell yeah. The goal kicking yesterday did my head in once again for example.

But this year has just turned into one big flat ended disappointment so far. I'm just over the footy and Saints at the moment to be honest given where the side should be in its development, but I will keep on trucking along and supporting them. Always have.

I'm still optimistic overall, but if the Saints end up having a completely rotten season by the end of the year then things will naturally change in all areas of the club. They have to as its not acceptable to go backwards so far.