We acknowledge we have let you down ...

... and we are going to do something about it.

We've had a season that is unacceptable.
We want our guys to be so disappointed in this year that they do something about it.

I can guarantee we are going to improve the list, the coaching program and the way we coach - that will be our focus.

Re: We acknowledge we have let you down ...

That was the final coach's message for 2018.
Encouraging to hear these wise words of wisdom from our esteemed coach explaining in coherent detail exactly what went wrong, why it went wrong, and what he is doing to fix it.
How can we not be inspired and brimming with confidence after that articulate manifesto!

Gee, if Malcolm Taliban had realised how bad he had been and admitted to it, he could have kept his job as prime minister only his assistants (ministers) would have to go.

didn't bother to watch his Holman's message.
But never, did he really admit that he has made errors this year.
His stubborn belief in himself has cruelled the whole club.
Kept playing the same underachievers, couldn't develop anyone,
could not work out why our skills were Auskick level,
and continues to blame the players,
and now 3 assistants are gone, it confirms his belief that he, like the Pope,
is infallible.
The celebration after we beat a bottom team (as if it were a final)
revealed his self-love and unwavering belief in himself.

I won't renew until I am happy with the trades and new assistants.
In fact, after 4 wins this year, I won't renew unless we have a better year,
then and only then will I renew for 2020.

Barneysaint

You have to renew by 2020. It's the year they said we will win the premiership. Turn the ladder upside down.

WellardSaint wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 3:07am didn't bother to watch his Holman's message.
is infallible.

Well, don't let the door hit you where god split you. :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

chico2001

He did mention the strong word at least 3 times, so we know that the saints are going to be strong next year..... dont we?

Its too late richo, sorry mate.

derby Street

WellardSaint wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 3:07am didn't bother to watch his Holman's message.
is infallible.

Well I am glad I am not in the trenches with you dear fair weather supporter. I've been through worse than this year.

"Our focus is to be really aggressive, coach really strongly, challenge our players really strongly to bounce back, to look at this year as an incredibly disappointing year, a year where we underachieved, and we need to respond,"
'what the heck does 'coach really strongly' even mean?
our game plan for 2019 looks like angry headless chooks running all over the paddock.

So if we park the first 23 weeks of the season it was somewhat pleasing.

I don't buy the whole 'we let you down' thing.

It's too emotive. Which detracts too much from the s*** performance of people in key roles.

No one was let down - you simply aren't good at your job and have performed very poorly for a long time.

While making my way to the gates after the sireen mercifully brought an end to this schitt house of a season I saw a couple of blokes clapping the side from the field. One of them saw me shaking my head, and said “that was a great effort today! We didn’t get smashed”
Now, don’t get me wrong, I want to be positive, but Christ! if we find “not getting smashed” reason to cheer the side off the park, then as a club, we truly ARE in the schitt

Our focus needs to be on recruiting a couple of A grade midfielders with elite skills - an inside A grader like Fyfe and an outside midfielder with dash and kicking skills like a Brad Hill, for instance - and with some luck with injuries, we'd be a totally different proposition next year.
I'd feel let down yet again, if we don't go after and finally land a couple of A graders or budding A graders like that.
Last edited by samoht on Mon 27 Aug 2018 11:51am, edited 1 time in total.

samoht wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 11:41am Our focus needs to be on recruiting a couple of A grade midfielders with elite skills - an inside A grader like Fyfe and an outside midfielder with dash and kicking skills like a Brad Hill, and with some luck with injuries, we'd be a totally different proposition next year.
I'd feel let down yet again, if we don't go after and finally land a couple of A graders or budding A graders like that.
You’re doggedly clinging on to the idea that Richardson is not the problem and have bought the blame the players line. Do you really reckon that zero of the yong players we’ve recruited in the past five years have A grade talent?

st.byron wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 11:51am
samoht wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 11:41am Our focus needs to be on recruiting a couple of A grade midfielders with elite skills - an inside A grader like Fyfe and an outside midfielder with dash and kicking skills like a Brad Hill, and with some luck with injuries, we'd be a totally different proposition next year.
You’re doggedly clinging on to the idea that Richardson is not the problem and have bought the blame the players line. Do you really reckon that zero of the yong players we’ve recruited in the past five years have A grade talent?
Name the A graders with elite skills in our team. Name one, st byron. Then compare us with the top 4 teams.
I'm waiting for your response.
(Actually, Steele is developing nicely - under Richo even, ironically - and might become our first A grader - and his disposal efficiency is excellent).

You're wrong about one thing -- I pointed out some of Richo's faults (reluctance to play some of the kids, etc..), but beyond this..
our biggest problem has been our recruiting -- and will continue to be so if we are focussing on Lycett, Hannebery etc (if true - let's hope not).
Last edited by samoht on Mon 27 Aug 2018 12:57pm, edited 1 time in total.

samoht wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 11:52am
Name the A graders with elite skills in our team. Name one, st byron. Then compare us with the top 4 teams.
(Actually, Steele is developing nicely - under Richo even - and might actually become our first).

I pointed out some of Richo's faults (reluctance to play some of the kids, etc..) --- but beyond this, we need to nail our recruiting.
Our biggest problem has been our recruiting -- and will continue to be so if we are focussing on Lycett, etc (if true).
Your first sentence in that response belies your blind spot IMO. It’s a circular argument. We don’t have A graders - maybe Ross. And why don’t we have multiple A grade players? Acres, Billings, Gresham, Sinclair, Steele, Membrey. All players who have shown they have what it takes to be A grade players. Why aren’t they? Because our development and coaching sucks. Big time. And there are others with potential who have stalled or gone backwards big time under Richardson.
I don’t understand your argument. As though players are recruited as ready made AFL A grade standard and all you have to do is pick the right ones. Happens very rarely. Coaching, development, being part of a cohesive, trusting environment. All things we have been hopeless at and Richardson has been the head noddy for five years. Enough.

And all of Richardson’s blah blah blah about conducting a strong review, we will coach strongly etc etc....it just makes me :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: Laughable. The dysfunctional head clown reviewing the circus.
I ask you again. Do you really reckon that none of our young recruits in the past five years can be A grade players? They’re all duds?
Last edited by st.byron on Mon 27 Aug 2018 1:00pm, edited 3 times in total.

Double post sorry....
st.byron wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 12:53pm
samoht wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 11:52am
(Actually, Steele is developing nicely - under Richo even - and might actually become our first).

I pointed out some of Richo's faults (reluctance to play some of the kids, etc..) --- but beyond this, we need to nail our recruiting.
Our biggest problem has been our recruiting -- and will continue to be so if we are focussing on Lycett, etc (if true).
Your first sentence in that response belies your blind spot IMO. It’s a circular argument. We don’t have A graders - maybe Ross. And why don’t we have multiple A grade players? Acres, Billings, Gresham, Sinclair, Steele, Membrey. All players who have shown they have what it takes to be A grade players. Why aren’t they? Because our development and coaching sucks. Big time. And there are others with potential who have stalled or gone backwards big time under Richardson.
I don’t understand your argument. As though players are recruited as ready made AFL A grade standard and all you have to do is pick the right ones. Happens very rarely. Coaching, development, being part of a cohesive, trusting environment. All things we have been hopeless at and Richardson has been the head noddy for five years. Enough

Ross is not an A grader with elite skills. Neither is Jack steven.
Jack Steele is our closest to being an A grader with elite skills.

Jack steele is having a break out year under Richo - ironic as it seems.
Last edited by samoht on Mon 27 Aug 2018 1:00pm, edited 2 times in total.

SMS

Its simple. Richo stays we stay s***

Worse coach of all time. The stats say this.

We have good
players great spread of forward back and mids.

yet we lose to everyone.

Its coaches

samoht wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 12:58pm Ross is not an A grader with elite skills. Neither is Jack steven.
Jack Steele is our closest to being an A grader with elite skills.

Jack steele is having a break out year under Richo - ironic as it seems.
Are you going to answer the questions?

Do players get recruited as A graders?
Why have none ...ZERO....of our young players developed into A graders? Is it that none of the players we have picked have the talent?

It's also simple -- we keep recruiting multiple C grade midfielders with average skills, and multiple C grade ruckmen -- we will stay sh1te no matter who coaches us!!!

A coach can easily be replaced --- but you can't take your poor recruiting decisions back.

We need to nail our recruiting and recruit to a plan with some non-negotiables and some quality standards from now on - not haphazardly and with no standards and no plan as we have been over the years.

Our recruiters will continue to drag us down if we're seriously looking at Lycett and Hanneberry.

st byron ...

To answer your question -- Steele is on his way to becoming an elite A grader. He has excellent disposal.
Rice, Austin even Connellan and Joyce already have good kicking skills. They are not midfielders though -- we need these skills in our midfielders.
You either have these skills or you don't. For instance, when Goddard was recruited as a 17 year old, his kicking skills were obvious (although, he never
made it as a midfielder under multiple coaches - which is another matter - and just underlines that coaches can only develop players - even the talented ones - only so far).

It's up to the recruiters to find us A grade midfielders with elite kicking skills - the next Brayshaw, land a ready-made Brad Hill etc.. instead of recruiting multiple C grade midfielders with average skills and multiple C grade ruckmen.
There needs to be a plan and some standards set.

Enough said...
I'm just tired of hearing that Richo is to blame for everything. Why aren't we blaming him for Steele's breakout year too - and for the excellent/career best form of players we've recruited from other clubs?

Richo has faults, sure - but the point is he can easily be replaced, so our recruiting is the area of most concern, IMHO - and is much more critical.
Some balance, please!!

saint64

is infallible.

Will you be able to cope next year without your hat/scarf, pin, sticker, lanyard and (one) game ticket though?

samoht wrote: Mon 27 Aug 2018 1:03pm It's also simple -- we keep recruiting multiple C grade midfielders with average skills, and multiple C grade ruckmen -- we will stay sh1te no matter who coaches us!!!

A coach can easily be replaced --- but you can't take your poor recruiting decisions back.

We need to nail our recruiting and recruit to a plan with some non-negotiables and some quality standards from now on - not haphazardly and with no standards and no plan as we have been over the years.

Our recruiters will continue to drag us down if we're seriously looking at Lycett and Hanneberry.
x

So you are saying that none of the young players we’ve recruited in the past five years are any good. None of them. Not one. That’s the logical conclusion of your argument. Is that what you’re saying? He asks for the third time.