Billy Slater Tackling Practice

JB loving it. :D
Too slow Gresh. :shock:

Sombersainter

Re: Billy Slater Tackling Practice

There are a few players who could benefit from learning how to tackle, like Lonie and others who might learn what a tackle is, like Newnes or Paddy.

8bloggs

It will be interesting to see what impact Billy Slater will have on our tackling this season.
I felt in several games last season a lot of our tackles were either pushed aside too easily or lacked intensity.

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Mon 10 Dec 2018 6:40pm

JB loving it. :D
Too slow Gresh. :shock:
I love it, apparently Gresham could not get close to Slater, I imagine his side step is better than Lenny's!

If the players learn to catch Slater over the preseason, then God help our opponents.

Sombersainter wrote: Tue 11 Dec 2018 10:36am There are a few players who could benefit from learning how to tackle, like Lonie and others who might learn what a tackle is, like Newnes or Paddy.
Paddy is great at tackling if his opponent stands still for him.

How many AFL footy players have you tackled Ace? Just curious.

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Tue 11 Dec 2018 6:57pm How many AFL footy players have you tackled Ace? Just curious.
Every thread seems to have you lecturing people.

Please either get a sense of humour or just calm down a bit.

Having you as the constant hall monitor in every thread really gets tedious after a while.

Was I talking to you mask face?
No.

Ace bags out Paddy relentlessly, curious to know whether he has ever tackled a decent footy player before.

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Tue 11 Dec 2018 7:16pm Was I talking to you mask face?
No.
It's a public thread you twit.

Which once again you are ruining with your sanctimonious look at me comments.

This is about St.Kilda. Start your own forum if you want it all about you.

tedious ted

tedi ousted

About St Kilda?
What forum you reading mask face.
Anyway, I was talking to another poster, not you.

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Tue 11 Dec 2018 7:50pm About St Kilda?
What forum you reading mask face.
Anyway, I was talking to another poster, not you.
You're not talking. You typed that comment and directed it at someone else.

Reckon Billy Slater would be handy in our midfleld

was always smarter to be a milky

then you could just smirk at the Hall Monitor
'n his highly polished badge

HitTheBoundary wrote: Tue 11 Dec 2018 7:13pm
tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Tue 11 Dec 2018 6:57pm How many AFL footy players have you tackled Ace? Just curious.

Having you as the constant hall monitor in every thread really gets tedious after a while.
If you think Ace’s comments on Paddy are funny, I have concerns for both of you.

He just constantly trolls every thread with a negative comment about Paddy. He’s entitled to an opinion but this is ridiculous.

HitTheBoundary wrote: Tue 11 Dec 2018 7:21pm
tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Tue 11 Dec 2018 7:16pm Was I talking to you mask face?
No.
It's a public thread you twit.

Which once again you are ruining with your sanctimonious look at me comments.

This is about St.Kilda. Start your own forum if you want it all about you.
Gold!!!

The World of Warcraft gang is back. Must be meet up night at the Moorabbin Public Library again.

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Tue 11 Dec 2018 9:33pm The World of Warcraft gang is back. Must be meet up night at the Moorabbin Public Library again.
Better than just spamming this board constantly and sooking everytime someone has an opinion - can't even avoid you because you're telling everybody off in every thread... like the bloody thought police

Just once I'd like you to post an original and interesting post instead of rehashing a story like it's your own idea

kosifantutti wrote: Tue 11 Dec 2018 8:42pm
HitTheBoundary wrote: Tue 11 Dec 2018 7:13pm

If you think Ace’s comments on Paddy are funny, I have concerns for both of you.
I thought that one was somewhat amusing. I like Paddy but that doesn't mean I can't have a chuckle.
But it's nice to know you care Kos. :wink:

Ajantis

Interesting...........
During the grant thomas days he would take the players to a tackle and fall to the ground specialist, who taught the players the quickest way to get to your feet and the best feet positioning when tackling. Personally i think it made a difference.

Cheers

Ajantis wrote: Wed 12 Dec 2018 6:54am Interesting...........
During the grant thomas days he would take the players to a tackle and fall to the ground specialist, who taught the players the quickest way to get to your feet and the best feet positioning when tackling. Personally i think it made a difference.

Cheers
my memory of past training drills as well
Regardless of drills - it takes a body type to be good at this kind of action, and as a back Slater has it and most of front rowers DONT.
The saints have had in recent times three players that grew up in QLD who would have played schoolboy RL- Roo Armo and Gilbert
Gilbert being a tackling standout and was good on the run with ball in hand as well - just dont let him kick it

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Tue 11 Dec 2018 6:57pm
ace wrote: Tue 11 Dec 2018 5:09pm
Sombersainter wrote: Tue 11 Dec 2018 10:36am There are a few players who could benefit from learning how to tackle, like Lonie and others who might learn what a tackle is, like Newnes or Paddy.
Paddy is great at tackling if his opponent stands still for him.
How many AFL footy players have you tackled Ace? Just curious.
Hi Edward, my guess would be that ace (like me) has tackled less AFL footballers that you have. But, just curious... what has that got to do with the topic?

To my reading, ace isn't actually questioning Paddy's tackling technique. More like, questioning Paddy's ability to first catch blokes, to then tackle them. Like Kosi before him.

And I know you'd agree that neither speed nor agility are currently Paddy's strong suit. So looks like we all agree on this point after all. :)

But... as for tackling in general. Remember back to 2016/2017? (Even 2015?) The swarm, and a fierce fierce tackling commitment, was the Saint's hallmark. And the top teams of the day... did not like it!!! :twisted:

Our problems then were twofold though...
Putting the score on the board when we were on top, and maintaining the intensity for four quarters.
Our inability to do the former, meant that we paid dearly when we tired and the latter dropped off.

But for reasons not fully known (at least to me) our fierce tackling, our swarm... hardly to be seen in 2018! :( And like most of us, you would have observed this too Ed.

Why did our tackling intensity drop away?
Why do we need to get a Billy Slater in to remind us to, you know... tackle???
Is it the 'comfortable and relaxed' attitude that evertonfc posted about? (As you'd no doubt agree, a typically quality post from him.)
Can Billy S turn this around?
Why wasn't the choach able to turn this around himself? (Aren't we paying him $500K-odd p.a. to stay on top of vital stuff like that...?)

Clearly, you must be asking yourself these sorts of questions too Ed. Are there any answers from your sources that you can share?

Dave McNamara wrote: Sat 15 Dec 2018 3:02pm
Is it the 'comfortable and relaxed' attitude that evertonfc posted about? (As you'd no doubt agree, a typically quality post from him.)
Why wasn't the choach able to turn this around himself? (Aren't we paying him $500K-odd p.a. to stay on top of vital stuff like that...?)
Clearly, you must be asking yourself these sorts of questions too Ed. Are there any answers from your sources that you can share?
It's true that our tackling numbers have dropped away since 2015 ...
By the same token ...
Why did West Coast Eagles forget to tackle in 2018? Why did they adopt a comfortable and relaxed attitude?
West Coast Eagles were the 3rd lowest tackling team - they only averaged 61 tackles per game - about the same as us in 2018.

samoht wrote: Mon 17 Dec 2018 9:08am
Dave McNamara wrote: Sat 15 Dec 2018 3:02pm
It's true that our tackling numbers have dropped away since 2015 ...
By the same token ...
Why did West Coast Eagles forget to tackle in 2018? Why did they adopt a comfortable and relaxed attitude?
West Coast Eagles were the 3rd lowest tackling team - they only averaged 61 tackles per game - about the same as us in 2018.
Great point.