Billings offered 900k a year for 2 years

I know we can’t afford to lose guys like Billings, but sorry this puts him in the absolute elite midfield territory.

I guess we have to pay someone and fill our salary cap, but this is excessive. Billings is a $500k a year mid. This is how our problems started back in the late 2000’s.

And why is it only a 2 year offer?? If we’re going to sign him up, may as well be for 3-4.

I would have been happy with a 5 year deal for 3mill

Re: Billings offered 900k a year for 2 years

Source?
Or, have you been on the sauce?

They said it on on the couch and 2 years takes him to free agency. Nothing is signed but apparently all parties are in agreement.

I reckon he's worth $800k so $900k isn't overs by much. Other clubs would certainly pay that much to get him. There's still an amount for potential factored into the pricing admittedly, but he seems on the cusp of something big and his numbers this year have been excellent.

saintkid

That's pretty good money for someone who struggles quite a lot on a set shot for goal. I'm in agreement with Moods that he is a $500k a year mid. Still has a bit to prove to be anywhere near $900K.

This is the problem when you set the benchmark of $800k for an ageing broken down DH. :roll:

He’s worth about $1.5M on that scale.

If we were willing to pay Shiel over $1 million then JB is worth every bit of $900 K

That’s the big problem with the Hannebery deal.All other negotiations will be framed within that context.Might have been different if he was aJudd or Buddy type player!Worst decision amongst a litany of bad ones over the years.

Why only 2 years?

SaintPav wrote: Tue 30 Apr 2019 8:28am Why only 2 years?
Free agent and unless we’re playing finals he goes to the highest bidder.
Hint - they share two of our colours.

Salary Cap is increasing next year I’m led to believe.... I think they will get him close to 800,000 and for 2 years which will take him to Free Agency... At the end of 2021 we should be well into our our finals window and he would be in his prime.
All these players have to realise if they want to win premierships you can’t earn top dollar you have to sacrifice something to allow for other players... if the top players demand top dollar then expect a weak bottom 6 and that has always cost us in the past.

I'd rather pay him than lose him - it's about right for what our top tier should be getting. See where we are in two years. Truth is by then if he doesn't dead set want to play for us he'll walk whatever we do. First season he's looked to me like he wanted to be here.

mightysainters

You pay what you can afford..
I don’t understand why people care if we pay overs, it’s either you pay Or it’s unused not and we’re shitter..

desertsaint wrote: Tue 30 Apr 2019 8:49am
SaintPav wrote: Tue 30 Apr 2019 8:28am Why only 2 years?
Free agent and unless we’re playing finals he goes to the highest bidder.
Hint - they share two of our colours.
Sounds like the Drug Cheats, whom I understand are now the AFL endorsed salary cap cheats.

guitars4

The_Dud wrote: Tue 30 Apr 2019 12:20am This is the problem when you set the benchmark of $800k for an ageing broken down DH. :roll:

You stole my thunder I was going to say something very similar. :wink:

Scollop wrote: Tue 30 Apr 2019 2:05am If we were willing to pay Shiel over $1 million then JB is worth every bit of $900 K
plus one

More like 800k but he is worth it. Easily our best player at the club at the moment and is nearly averaging 30 touches. He is worth every cent and probably on wing in the AA side.

I'm only concerned about the 2 years. Billings is obviously backing himself and playing it smart. I think we still need to tempt him with a longer term contract, even if it means a tad more money.

So are we a fair dinkum unit or just a feeder club?

You pay what the market demands.

The_Dud wrote: Tue 30 Apr 2019 12:20am This is the problem when you set the benchmark of $800k for an ageing broken down DH. :roll:

Yeah if we weren't paying Hannebry 800k Billings would stay for 400k. :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

CURLY wrote: Tue 30 Apr 2019 12:28pm

Yeah if we weren't paying Hannebry 800k Billings would stay for 400k. :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Lol. Whatever Hannebery is on will not effect any contract negotiations for current players or bringing in any new players. Its amazing how Hanners or Richo nearly slip into every thread on here, no matter how obscure the link.

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Tue 30 Apr 2019 12:42pm
CURLY wrote: Tue 30 Apr 2019 12:28pm

Lol. Whatever Hannebery is on will not effect any contract negotiations for current players or bringing in any new players. Its amazing how Hanners or Richo nearly slip into every thread on here, no matter how obscure the link.
Correct the poster above is the biggest culprit.

If you don't want people talking about Richo and Hannas I have a solution

Sack both Richo and Hannebery and get them out of our club. Tear up Hanna's contract and make it null and void due to him fraudulently stating or implying that he was able to perform his duties according to the papers he signed (didn't St Kilda reduce Carlisle's salary in his first year??)

Oh...and sack Lethlean too
Last edited by Scollop on Tue 30 Apr 2019 1:01pm, edited 1 time in total.

Scollop wrote: Tue 30 Apr 2019 12:57pm If you don't want people talking about Richo and Hannas I have a solution

Sack both Richo and Hannebery and get them out of our club. Tear up Hanna's contract and make it null and void due to him fraudulently stating or implying that he was able to perform his duties according to the papers he signed

Oh...and sack Lethlean too

Yeah nah there staying how about you move on.

The_President

Good article by Tom Morris
https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-20 ... 9bc27ce30b

"Not only has the left-footer expressed no desire to leave, but he’s privately reiterated his wish to remain at Moorabbin and does not want to know about rival offers.

Essendon has shown interest in the past, but potential suitors have been told in no uncertain terms he is not worth chasing."

"The in-form Billings is averaging 29 disposals per game in 2019 and the Herald Sun has reported he is set to earn upwards of $800,000 per year on his new deal. If his form continues, this figure could even push to $900,000 — a number feasible thanks to St Kilda’s spacious salary cap position and Billings hot form.

Sources in club land also maintain $800,000 will be paid to at least five players from each club as early as next year, given the natural rise the salary cap. If Billings is considered one of the stars of the Saints and is still yet to enter the prime of his career, he stands to be paid accordingly."