I’ll go off my nut if GC gets a PP after their 1st pick!

Special

I’ll go off my nut if GC gets a PP after their 1st pick!

I’m over all this pandering to that pathetic club.

Imagine if those fools get gifted pick 2?

Last year we got screwed due to the FA Lynch deal.

Imagine if we got pushed down the draft order again two years in a row??

There should be no compo picks of any description until either the end of the first round or pick 10 of the draft.

Inadvertently screwing other Shyte teams for the benefit of the GC sucks.

Re: I’ll go off my nut if GC gets a PP after their 1st pick!

Special wrote: Mon 26 Aug 2019 5:06am I’m over all this pandering to that pathetic club.

There should be no compo picks of any description until either the end of the first round or pick 10 of the draft.

Most of what the AFL achieve is inadvertent. They are Olympic Gold Medalists at "unintended consequences"...…..

The only silver lining would be Melbourne miss out on Anderson.

Unfortunately being pushed back one spot won't effect our first pick in Round 4 too much. I can see us screwing the pooch in terms of our first rounder this year & doubling down and screwing next year's first round.

I genuinely have no confidence in our ability to orchestrate trades, whether they be players or picks.

They just need to bite the bullet and relocate them to Tasmania and while they're at it, relocate GWS permanently to Canberra.

They don't need more draft picks, they still have trouble keeping any good players!

No one cares about AFL (or indeed sport in general) on the Gold Coast.

I cannot believe they drafted Ben King, yet took Lukotious ahead of Max King. Did they not think Ben would want to join his brother at the Club they supported?

We would have just taken Ben And Max would have just come to us anyway

gotta fell for the suns. gws got a far, far better deal with drafts. the afl just assumed they could plonk a club in the gc and it would happen.
the suns big mistake was wasting their cap on ablett. they needed a few very good experienced leaders but put all their eggs in one basket, and a basket that is all about himself not the team. he's also a religious nutter and amongst you boys not a good thing as the players divided into two camps. two very different camps.
not sure what the afl can do except admit they got it wrong first time and either hand them a bevy of predraft picks or relocate. either way it'll be years before they are competitive. the other option is a special salary cap as gws received - allow them to get a couple of leaders.

Special

Linton Lodger wrote: Mon 26 Aug 2019 12:38pm They just need to bite the bullet and relocate them to Tasmania and while they're at it, relocate GWS permanently to Canberra.

They don't need more draft picks, they still have trouble keeping any good players!

I cannot believe they drafted Ben King, yet took Lukotious ahead of Max King. Did they not think Ben would want to join his brother at the Club they supported?
That’s captain obvious stuff re relocating GC and GWS. Problem is Gilligan is too retarded to even consider it.

It’ll happen.

Special wrote: Mon 26 Aug 2019 4:41pm
Linton Lodger wrote: Mon 26 Aug 2019 12:38pm They just need to bite the bullet and relocate them to Tasmania and while they're at it, relocate GWS permanently to Canberra.

That’s captain obvious stuff re relocating GC and GWS. Problem is Gilligan is too retarded to even consider it.
I've watched us play GWS in Sydney and Canberra (this year). Canberra felt like their home ground and it appears there is great enthusiasm for them in Canberra, as their team.

I hope they do, so they pick Anderson and we can pick him up in two years

I get the feeling every other club in the league will join you...I really can't see everyone putting up with another year of compromised draft positions, just to prop up a team full of high draft picks.

It will come with conditions, e.g. the players will have to agree to stay for 5 years and that will mean AFLPA will have to endorse it and the players concerned will have to agree. Giving GC priority picks as an incubator for the top four sides to hatch in a year or so is so stuffed vis a vis an even comp, yet all the Sun's ex guns are with other clubs now - except Mav. They obviously need help but is has to be cleverly crafted and the vested interests around the Commission table are not going to be oozing altruism. There also needs to be a current business plan - if a club on the GC is not going to be viable in 10 years then scrap the failed experiment and give Tassy a licence. I think the chances of getting B. King will reduced markedly after the assistance package and conditions are in place - a no poaching rule is likely to apply.

League Can’t make a contract conditional, if it’s different to other clubs initial contract

The will get it for sure. And they have a reasonable case too.

I don't think they will, and I don't think they have. How much longer will the AFL continue to take a handful of picks off their existing 'successful' franchises (i.e. clubs that can pull 30,000-50,000 members no problem) to prop up a team that continually gets top draft picks and soft draws, and does nothing with them? It doesn't make any sense as a business whatsoever, and given the likes of Eddie have been vocal in protesting against a PP, I reckon it will be hard to ignore.

Gold Coast don't need another raw but talented 18 year old. They need a couple of key position veterans, probably a full back and centre half forward, with mature bodies and experience.
They can get the best 18 year old midfielder in the country with their first pick.
Melbourne, Carlton and St Kilda shouldn't get shafted over this.

Special wrote: Mon 26 Aug 2019 5:06am I’m over all this pandering to that pathetic club.

Hate people whinging and sooking about the Gold Coast.

The amount of stars they have lost is sickening and not good for the competition. They deserve a priority pick.

Perhaps GCS can serve great a purpose in drafting #1s and PPs and then develop them and have all ready and geared up for AFL level in time for when they move back to their home state.

Special

Spinner wrote: Tue 27 Aug 2019 11:08pm

The amount of stars they have lost is sickening and not good for the competition. They deserve a priority pick.
What so they get another great pick and get another kid that will piss off somewhere else?

Gee you don’t get it do you - that’s just repeating the past!

Doesn’t it concern you that WE would then drop down a pick and WE the team YOU follow has been shyte for 8 years and is in desperate need of the best possible first round pick we can get??

A priority pick is not got to fix Gold Coast’s issues.

They are a basket case.

Gold Coast is a basket case. They should be re-located. The AFL keeps trying to prop up a footy club where no footy club should be. Send them to Tassie where there’s some passion for the game and people actually give a crap about AFL. Sometimes franchises open shops in locations that don’t prosper, they don’t work because it’s the wrong place for that franchise. That is the case with Gold Coast.

A mate went to the final game Sat nite as his mum got free tickets The crowd was officially 7,000 He said there was no way there was that many.

If a Vic team relocated here they would get good support The ground and facilities and transport are great The people who go to every game follow other clubs but like to see live afl But the constant losing is getting too much.

degruch wrote: Tue 27 Aug 2019 9:03pm I don't think they will, and I don't think they have. How much longer will the AFL continue to take a handful of picks off their existing 'successful' franchises (i.e. clubs that can pull 30,000-50,000 members no problem) to prop up a team that continually gets top draft picks and soft draws, and does nothing with them? It doesn't make any sense as a business whatsoever, and given the likes of Eddie have been vocal in protesting against a PP, I reckon it will be hard to ignore.
As far as the AFL is concerned, as long as it takes.

And it makes perfect business sense.

Eddie can complain but the AFL wants GCS to be successful and thrive. They will get it and have Pick 1 and 2. I think that the clubs are already planning for this scenario.

Special wrote: Wed 28 Aug 2019 7:37am

What so they get another great pick and get another kid that will piss off somewhere else?

Gee you don’t get it do you - that’s just repeating the past!

Doesn’t it concern you that WE would then drop down a pick and WE the team YOU follow has been shyte for 8 years and is in desperate need of the best possible first round pick we can get??

The team ‘we’ follow has received multiple priority picks for less.

Gold Coast are far worse.

Whinge whinge sook sook.

I like reminding my Brissy supporting mate about their heartfelt bid for a desperately needed compo pick last year, and how much it has helped them in 2019. Hey, wait a minute...