the nerves during the granny - what did you you do to cope?

thecroc

the nerves during the granny - what did you you do to cope?

What 'out of routine' things did others do to get through the stress of the game?? Apart from drinking heaps ;)

Ironed a heap of work shirts and sewed up some holes in several socks!! then cleaned the unit with being so sick with nerves. The unit should be pretty clean by next Sunday - may get into the garage at this pace!!

But had to turn the tele off at halftime - ended uplistening to Lyon, JB and Hunt on MMM. Not a bad coverage either. Stayed with them for the rest of the game. What was the coverage like at the other radio stations? Was Brian Taylor going off his head??

Go Saints

Cried

#1GILL

Passed out

Don't normally drink during a game but around midday I was so uptight I had my first stubbie and continued through the game...was an emotional wreck by the last Quarter and will admit I went walk about at the end..need a flag to save my life basically :roll:

bozza1980

Hyperventilated

Life is very short and there's no time for fussing and fighting my friends.

i did not drink anything the entire game
just before half time i got outside and had a yiros

sat with a few flith
had the saints in standing row m11 directly behind my seat

had the earpiece in

just sat there didnt jump chant sing clap
nothing

untill bj renamed harry obrien...the step-ladder

that got me up an pretty much onto my knees lol

Q5

Nearly killed the filth supporter in front of me (well, I popped the balloon headware that she was wearing after refusing to remove it when it was obstructing my view, and you would have thought I killed her) - was so effing angry think I needed to play a game to get the adrenaline out of my system - and I'm a girl!

thecroc

Nearly killed the filth supporter in front of me (well, I popped the balloon headware that she was wearing after refusing to remove it when it was obstructing my view, and you would have thought I killed her) - was so effing angry think I needed to play a game to get the adrenaline out of my system - and I'm a girl!

Q5 - you poor thing - having stupid balloon headwear in the way - sounds like something out of a Marx Brothers movie :roll:

I had to use this on myself at least twice

jroberts:)

didn't cope :oops:

Verdun66

Drank about 10 cups of coffee.....when it got too tense, I walked around the garden with my head in my hands. I was incredibly wired at the end. Caffiene, adrenaline, shock, panic....you name it.

Wouldn't want to go through that every week....but I'm about to do it again!!

Interestingly didn't eat at all during the 09 GF but was very hungry at half time on Saturday, started eating all this comfort food as I thought we were going to lose.

But I should have known that BJ, Lenny and Roo had other ideas...

saint3d

dcstkfc wrote:Interestingly didn't eat at all during the 09 GF but was very hungry at half time on Saturday, started eating all this comfort food as I thought we were going to lose.

But I should have known that BJ, Lenny and Roo had other ideas...
They were hungry at half time too.

Was at a mates place. Half time went outsdie and kicked asoccer ball around with him.
stayed out there the whole second half - I'm a terrible 'watcher' when we aren't ahead - had the TV up just enough to hear when an ad break indicated a goal.
Went inside and watched the last 40 seconds.

This week, i start work at 4. Would rather be there - can't enjoy the GF after last years pain. TV in the smoko room at work so can keep tabs.

I was having breathing difficulties.
Had to focus on taking a number of really deep breaths after Cloke kicked that goal.

TazzieSaintGirl83

I think I have possibly suffocated myself with the Saints Bubble because I wasnt nervous.

I had tears before the game, just all the pent up emotion and then seeing Harvs in the pre game entertainment package, seeing our boys run through the banner and all the wonderful saints fans decked out in our colours and cheering loud. I spared a thought for the Barker family.

It was painful for sure in the first half but for the 2nd half it was heart bursting pride.

100% Sainter Girl Through and Through

I was at the St Kilda bowling club and had to endure an annoying female Collingwood supporter right in front of me. She kept talking to me, slowly driving me nuts. By the second half I got going on the beers just to settle the nerves. I am still tense and can't wait until the whole thing is over and we are holding the cup.

Saint_Ash
Location: Either work, home or the footy, maybe a pub somewhere

I got to the ground about 12:30.

Had a couple of nerve settling beverages.

Then just paced the concourse between the AFL members and the MCC members until the guys came out for their warm up.

The Saints bubble kept me calm before the game. But once the game started and it wasn't how I would have liked, that was different. I would have drank more except the line for drinks was SOOOOO long and slow. And the place near us ran out of white wine in the first quarter. BUt I nearlly pulled all my hair out. lol, so nerve wrecking. Extremely proud of our boys.

ThePunter

In the first quarter I started suffering from a light head and pins and needles in the hands.

Started sipping water and tried to take it easy for the rest of the game. Closest I've ever come to fainting, me thinks.

OneEyedSainter77

Let's just say my wife will NEVER wit down to watch a game of footy with me again - thank God I'm actually going this weekend - if only for her sake.

SaintHomer

It makes feel good to be able to relate to so many other nutbags!

TazzieSaintGirl83

I may have to write formal letters of apology to my neighbours though, I cheered the place down, lost my voice pretty much.
Also talked to myself quite a lot but dont worry I didnt answer.... so I am not crazy...just yet :wink:

100% Sainter Girl Through and Through

I didn't cope and still not coping now!! :wink:

SaintHomer

As they say, a week is a longtime in football.

Last week, pissed with mates, going crazy yelling the house down.

This week, watching it sober with my 9wk old daughter (whilst wife and other daughter at bday party).