ANZAC Day Footy

Moccha wrote:Who cares?

No one other than Essendon or Collingwood supporters are interested in that game. It's so overrated it's boring
correct.

Atmosphere? I go most years... Bar the big crowd it is nothing like a final. Nothing.

Why? Because it's only worth 4 points.

It's just a normal game that is hyped up by the media. Full o fair weathers who go to one match a year.

Should be a ripper nonetheless this week. But it would be any round... Both are in form.

Leo.J wrote: And now the AFL gift... GIFT this sacred day to two clubs that have done nothing to earn this privilege...

IMO the 2 highest placed Victorian teams should play at the G on Azac day, and the 2 highest placed non-victorian teams play at the highest placed team's home ground.
Wow, your opinion sounds very similar to the one I posted 5 minutes before you in the good friday thread - coincidence?

"the highest 2 Victorian teams from the previous year play a day match at the G, then an evening match between the 2 highest interstate teams - due reward for performance. "

joffaboy wrote:I congratulate Mick Malthouse for raising the argument that Collingwood and Essendon have no right to play every Anzac Day.

He said it was a privilege not a right.

Also said that after 15 years it should not be a Collingwood Essendon game only - said maybe early on as Sheedy had fought for it, but not now.

At least one of the coaches of the clubs involved has had the courage to put it out there.
Funny how he says it now though. Now that he's leaving and will most likely be coaching elsewhere next year!

Enrico_Misso wrote:
Saints43 wrote:Why do Collingwood play on Anzac day when they are one of four teams who did not disband during the whole of the Great War where the Anzac legend was born?

In 1916 Collingwood were in the competition while six other teams did not field teams while their young were men in the trenches.

Collingwood bravely won the premiership in 1917.
EXACTLY
The government and the armed forces at the time requested the clubs to disband as they felt it sent the wrong signals that some fit young men should be playing sport while others risked their lives.
But they couldn't force them.

Collingwood were one of the four clubs that defied that request.

WHAT HYPOCRITES !
Now you will see FILTHY SCUM like Maguire and co on Monday bleating on about the ANZAC traditions.
Traditions that their club thumbed their nose at.
But now when there is a quid to be made they suddenly embrace it.

It should be rotated amongst all clubs, or the top two Vic clubs is also a reasonable proposal.
Essendon and friggin Collingwood DO NOT OWN OUR WAR HISTORY.
This is very interesting, would love to see a bit of mainstream media report this, HS or Today Tonight… it's a bit like claiming to be a war hero when you are actually a deserter.

North V Melbourne would get plenty of interest/crowd if they had recently finished in the top 4, most likely that they also would have played each other in a recent final too…

Saints V Pies would generate pretty big hype this year even though we have been awful so far - 3 more points and there would only be 1 loss between us, it's pretty unusual for a top 4 side to struggle like we are currently.

Other recent matches of Cats V Saints, Hawks V Cats, would have been awesome, instead we have had to wait till round 15 for the best 2 sides to play, meanwhile the bombers have been miles off the pies in the anzac clashes...

stevie wrote:What annoys me most is they trot out the same pre-match stuff each year. Players talking to vets, coaches saying we can't compare a game to footy,etc the same boring shite every year.

I used to get fired up watching in the past but not anymore especially after last years gf2 result

Oh, and I have been to Gallipoli so sort of know a bit about the legend
i won't be watching it.....if you're reading dimspew....you need to change the format...and the teams...
Yep could you imagine the ratings for Melbourne and North.
Are you a TV exec? What on earth do ratings have to do with ANZAC Day?

On this topic, I would also like to point out that ANZAC Day is the 25th of April. Why did we have the last post and the national anthem on the 21st of April. In my opinion there is only one ANZAC Day and that is the only day that should be solemnised as such.

dragit wrote:This is very interesting, would love to see a bit of mainstream media report this, HS or Today Tonight… it's a bit like claiming to be a war hero when you are actually a deserter.
I once read a very interesting article on this.
Basically the newspapers ran a massive campaign that it was disrespectful for the VFL to continue whilst the boys were serving in the military.
The VFL came under huge pressure.
They convened an emergency meeting to discuss terminating.
Under their constitution a 75% vote was required.
Six voted to terminate including StKilda.
Four voted to continue - Fitz, Melb, Carlton and guess who?
So because the 75% vote wasn't achieved the competition continued with just those four clubs.
Recriminations continued.
Attendances were poor.
Most of the pre-war players went into service.
So the lists bore no resemblance and players were coming and going on a weekly basis.

Nevertheless the premierships stand even though they were cheap and unrepresentative.

But how hypocritical is it that one of those clubs that defied public opinion back then is now claiming the ANZAC tradition as "theirs".

WHAT SCUM THEY ARE!!!!

who or what is pulling Mick's strings
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/c ... 1dsaa.html

Asked specifically in that interview about the Magpies and Bombers retaining Anzac Day, Malthouse replied: "I've always been very firm that this has been going for a number of years and it's been marketed very well. We all benefit by it and it's something that just seems to grab the imagination of the public. Whether they are Collingwood or Essendon they want to get here. Now I think that it should stay."

That was at 4pm on Monday. At his media conference late on Wednesday morning, Mick pondered: "Should it be exclusive? There are a lot of players out there who perhaps are saying, 'Why didn't we get a chance to play?' Is it fair? I feel very privileged, but I feel selfish at times wondering what it's like for other clubs looking in, and thinking, 'We have every right to be here as well, so why aren't we?' That bites into me a little bit."

Now it's scarcely imaginable that, after almost 11 years of involvement in this biggest of home-and-away fixtures, Mick's position suddenly shifted during the 43 hours between media engagements. So what is this about?

>>>>>>>>>>
Collingwood president Eddie McGuire says he hasn't spoken to Malthouse about his remarks but, having given the coach some time off over Easter, "will have a chat with him". Describing Malthouse as "a very disciplined person generally", McGuire classed his words to the media on Wednesday as the "musings of an elder statesman".

McGuire said the coach has long held the "completely opposite" view to that being ascribed to his media conference. As for Collingwood and Essendon maintaining their hold on Anzac Day at the MCG, the Magpies' president said: "I can never understand people who want to change things that are fantastic."

stevie wrote:What annoys me most is they trot out the same pre-match stuff each year. Players talking to vets, coaches saying we can't compare a game to footy,etc the same boring shite every year.

I used to get fired up watching in the past but not anymore especially after last years gf2 result

Oh, and I have been to Gallipoli so sort of know a bit about the legend
i won't be watching it.....if you're reading dimspew....you need to change the format...and the teams...
Yep could you imagine the ratings for Melbourne and North.
Are you a TV exec? What on earth do ratings have to do with ANZAC Day?

On this topic, I would also like to point out that ANZAC Day is the 25th of April. Why did we have the last post and the national anthem on the 21st of April. In my opinion there is only one ANZAC Day and that is the only day that should be solemnised as such.
Maybe if you read the other post it may help. He was talking about not watching and suggesting if the format changes, whatever that means, and the teams he may watch it. Anyway fancy the TV stations wanting ratings for their 1 billion they will pay next rights.

Enrico_Misso wrote:
dragit wrote:This is very interesting, would love to see a bit of mainstream media report this, HS or Today Tonight… it's a bit like claiming to be a war hero when you are actually a deserter.
Basically the newspapers ran a massive campaign that it was disrespectful for the VFL to continue whilst the boys were serving in the military.
>>>>>>>>
WHAT SCUM THEY ARE!!!!
More on that in this article
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/a ... 1dsav.html

In the case of professional footballers, it was often a vital means of supplementing low family income. So intense was the pressure in 1916 that Victoria's premier football competitions succumbed to the outcry not to play while the empire needed men at the front. The VFL was reduced to four teams and the VFA went into recess until 1918. Footballers and fans who did not enlist were caustically branded "loafers" and "slackers" and accused of cowardice by those set against the playing of football in wartime.

The irony was that footballers did enlist as much as any other sector of society. They were burdened by the prevailing perception that they represented the most healthy and physically adept specimens of manhood who would prove natural and proficient soldiers.

Leo.J

Leo.J wrote: And now the AFL gift... GIFT this sacred day to two clubs that have done nothing to earn this privilege...

IMO the 2 highest placed Victorian teams should play at the G on Azac day, and the 2 highest placed non-victorian teams play at the highest placed team's home ground.
Wow, your opinion sounds very similar to the one I posted 5 minutes before you in the good friday thread - coincidence?

"the highest 2 Victorian teams from the previous year play a day match at the G, then an evening match between the 2 highest interstate teams - due reward for performance. "
I've been saying that for 5 years.

Go back and have a look on Big Footy and here, and I think you'll find that I run this idea out every year.

Leo.J

Leo.J wrote:

I've been saying that for 5 years.

Go back and have a look on Big Footy and here, and I think you'll find that I run this idea out every year.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=237346

We are screwed.

As plugger said, the billion dollar rights deal means that TV rules.

The only reason Dimwit wants live footy on FTA is due to the huge Internet live streaming growth - he simply can't bury his head in the sand any longer.

As for sharing Anzac Day profits - won't happen.

Dimwit licks Eddies arse as Eddies club supplies AD with plenty of bonus income.

sendmehomehappy

So is there a journo with the guts to truthfully canvass the issues, as outlined in this thread, and to ask the hard necessary questions in the media tomorrow?

or do they all kowtow to Eddie?

Leo.J wrote:IMO the Anzac spirit has been dirtied by this event.

I've been pissed off about this for years.

The Anzacs fought and died for our country, nothing was gifted to them, they earnt their respect, and earnt Australia a reputation as a tough and courageous nation based on their sacrifices and heroics in europe during the great war.

Since then our soldiers have fought and represented Australia with that spirit in mind and heart.

And now the AFL gift... GIFT this sacred day to two clubs that have done nothing to earn this privilege...

Then at least this privilege to represent the Anzacs is earnt, not given to clubs based on revenue from attendances.
How is the Anzac spirit dirtird by the event. I know we dont like it that it is the same 2 teams but the huge crowd is important to the spirit of the event. Melbourne V North just wouldnt be the same as the other 2 sides.
see
first post by plugg and he had to not agree and question it

excellent idea i reckon

matrix wrote:
Leo.J wrote:IMO the Anzac spirit has been dirtied by this event.

I've been pissed off about this for years.

The Anzacs fought and died for our country, nothing was gifted to them, they earnt their respect, and earnt Australia a reputation as a tough and courageous nation based on their sacrifices and heroics in europe during the great war.

Since then our soldiers have fought and represented Australia with that spirit in mind and heart.

And now the AFL gift... GIFT this sacred day to two clubs that have done nothing to earn this privilege...

Then at least this privilege to represent the Anzacs is earnt, not given to clubs based on revenue from attendances.
How is the Anzac spirit dirtird by the event. I know we dont like it that it is the same 2 teams but the huge crowd is important to the spirit of the event. Melbourne V North just wouldnt be the same as the other 2 sides.
see
first post by plugg and he had to not agree and question it

excellent idea i reckon
Yep because I do disagree. Sorry that I aint a sheep like some. Like I said what a build up if it was North and melbourne especially if one had dropped off like us this year. Dont like either Dons or Pies but it provides a build up because of rivalry. Sorry that I want the Anzac day game to be a big build up.

Anyway Baa Baa.

Well Good Friday is far less marketable.

Do it for Jesus! or Do it for the Diggers!

The latter's always gonna win.

It's f***ed.

Sacred, sad day. Reflect thankfully and peacefully. Don't be buying overpriced pies at an AFL cashcow.

It's disingenuous and, to me, as a bloke with dead soldiers in the family, it's not a day for profiteering.

My humble opinion.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

it wouldnt be any bigger if geelong played hawthorn?
they couldnt find old footage and 'create' a rivalry on some past memories??

it would still get 85+ on their assses

carlton
collingwood
hawthorn
st kilda
melbourne
tigers
bombers

any one of those sides playing another would draw a MASSIVE crowd

Enrico_Misso wrote:
>>>>>>>>
WHAT SCUM THEY ARE!!!!
More on that in this article
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/a ... 1dsav.html

In the case of professional footballers, it was often a vital means of supplementing low family income. So intense was the pressure in 1916 that Victoria's premier football competitions succumbed to the outcry not to play while the empire needed men at the front. The VFL was reduced to four teams and the VFA went into recess until 1918. Footballers and fans who did not enlist were caustically branded "loafers" and "slackers" and accused of cowardice by those set against the playing of football in wartime.

The irony was that footballers did enlist as much as any other sector of society. They were burdened by the prevailing perception that they represented the most healthy and physically adept specimens of manhood who would prove natural and proficient soldiers.
Interesting article - thanks Bratty.

Reading articles like that help give an understanding of just how much resentment there was to the clubs choosing to continue playing during WW1.
What they should have done but failed by two votes was to suspend the competition whilst the war was on and maybe organise adhoc scratch matches between soldiers on leave.
But to continue the comp with players coming and going each week and allowing the results of those games and Premierships to stand was and is a joke.
The games from that period should be annulled.

Super article.

Upstanding points of view.

The AFL plus two powerful clubs have appropriated a horrible myth to sell tickets. What's worse is we've bought in. If ALL the money went to the RSL - and I mean every last cent - then that would go SOME way to redressing the kitsch awfulness of the concept, but even still the concept would stand alone as a terribly out of place theft of a survivalist spirit a game of footy couldn't even go close to a single step towards representing.

The bogan hordes, however, couldn't care less. And therein lies the true source of power in this country.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

Leo.J wrote:I've been saying that for 5 years.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=237346[/quote]

Humble apologies Leo,
Was pretty silly of me to think I was the only one who had come up with this solution, it's a pretty obvious and logical one really I suppose…

I see you didn't get much love from others on BigFooty, when those morons go on about 'tradition' and 'we started it", I like to point out that North Melbourne started friday night football, yet they only get about one of those a year now, should they get to play every friday night because they "started" it? what an absurd notion.
Rich clubs (and the AFL) getting richer, that is about the only real tradition… it makes me sick.

was interesting to hear M M on radio today taking a breath and thinking twice before answering - then mentioning that he had to be careful with his words--- as alluded to above- has obviously expressed an opinion about sharing and then ' had a discussion' with someone

Gelong Scott- whichever one- was quite firm this morning about the fact that 2 strong- financially- teams continued to get stronger due to this monopoly..... http://au.sports.yahoo.com/afl/news/art ... ac-spoils/

MM then said it was the AFL's role to set the Fixture-- trying to set the Pies away from the game..
Last edited by saintbrat on Sun 24 Apr 2011 10:37pm, edited 1 time in total.

Leo.J

dragit wrote:...Rich clubs (and the AFL) getting richer, that is about the only real tradition… it makes me sick.
I agree.

There use to be 2 games on Anzac Day, one at the MCG and one at Waverley and they always drew great crowds.
Sheedy didn't do this for Anzac tradition, he did it because he knew that Essendon and Collingwood would make a fortune out of it as would the AFL.
The final seller of the game was that tht first game was a great game that ended in a draw, if it had have been a one sided fizzer, then maybe Essendon and filth wouldn't have ended up with the exclusive rights.
Personally, think I'll watch It's Wonderful Life on DVD tomorrow, have more interest in that than these two teams hog the limelight.
However, one can only hope for injuries and suspensions to ruin both sides seasons.

Went to the dawn service.
Very moving experience.

Though seeing some people in Collingwood gear annoyed me for the reasons above.

Now enjoy the rest of the day with the radio and TV off.

saintbrat wrote:was interesting to hear M M on radio today taking a breath and thinking twice before answering - then mentioning that he had to be careful with his words--- as alluded to above- has obviously expressed an opinion about sharing and then ' had a discussion' with someone

Gelong Scott- whichever one- was quite firm this morning about the fact that 2 strong- financially- teams continued to get stronger due to this monopoly..... http://au.sports.yahoo.com/afl/news/art ... ac-spoils/

MM then said it was the AFL's role to set the Fixture-- trying to set the Pies away from the game..

eddie everywhere must have put a flea in his ear...