A good old fashioner rant

Saints43 wrote:
plugger66 wrote:I thought you said well said Happy Feet and it seems he wants an apology.
Worst attempted sentence ever.
Thanks Oxford.
Thanks <comma> Oxford.

Thanks, Oxford.

No worries.
Why would it need a comma? It is a 2 word statement. No pause needed.

happy feet wrote:I think we all expected better. Would you have preferred to have all the off field incidents or not. You are simply wrong if you think they have had no effect.

So state your case Plugger66 - Did you want the off field incidents or not? you seem to think they have made no difference.

I think they have made a 10% difference. If we are giving % I will go with 70% mental because of the GF's, 10% players ability, 10% off field and 10% game plan. My point is no one owes anyone an apology but if they do why are they apologizing?

Saints43 wrote:
plugger66 wrote:I thought you said well said Happy Feet and it seems he wants an apology.
Worst attempted sentence ever.
Thanks Oxford.
Thanks <comma> Oxford.

Thanks, Oxford.

No worries.
Why would it need a comma? It is a 2 word statement. No pause needed.
It needs a pause for you to pay me expected reverence.
Yours, Oxford.

You have missed the main point of the post. No premiership in 45 years and absolute crap ff the field and on the field. If you think that has only made 10% difference you are in lala land. you have latched onto one little aspect and seek to defend it. Do you think our performance off the field this year has been acceptable? Do you think our perfromance on the field has been acceptable? C'mon Plugger66 state your case!

happy feet wrote:I think we all expected better. Would you have preferred to have all the off field incidents or not. You are simply wrong if you think they have had no effect.

So state your case Plugger66 - Did you want the off field incidents or not? you seem to think they have made no difference.
Sorry I didnt realise we are now talking about different things to what you first posted. I will await your apology for changing the discussion

Read the OP and have a good think before you go to bed. Good night.

happy feet wrote:Read the OP and have a good think before you go to bed. Good night.
Read it again. Going to bed still non the wiser.

happy feet wrote:Read the OP and have a good think before you go to bed. Good night.
happy feet..now that you have met the fisherman......

STOP BITING :lol:

Re: A good old fashioner rant

happy feet wrote:This post will probably not win me too many friends, but to hell with it, I need to get this off my chest. Later on this year I will be 48 years old.

I was born in 1963 and was too young to remember the 1966 Grand Final win. I was born to a family of Saints supporters and grew up in Caleb Street, East Bentleigh. When there was a home game at Moorabbin, most of the street barracked for the Saints and we would all walk to the ground and stand at the Gilbeys Gin end of the ground.

I remember the late 70’s and the 80’s when we did not have a lot of success. I remember the likes of Trevor Barker, Jeff Sarau, Garry Colling, Greg Burns, Geoff Cunningham, Robbie Muir and too many more to name. All tough players - I am sure teams hated playing the Saints.

Fast forward to 2011 and like many others I am a very unhappy Saints supporter. To not have tasted success in the last few years is a bitter pill to swallow. To have burnt players like Harvey, Lowe, Winmar, Burke and now Lenny Hayes without winning the ultimate prize is a tragedy. I am bloody sure our current bunch of princesses will not deliver us a premiership.

What makes it all the worse is to look at the performance of our players and so-called stars this year, just makes me want to cry.

There is all this talk about not being able to climb Mt Everest again, mental fatigue, a fractured team with too many off field discretions; situations that our highly paid players should never have allowed themselves to get in; the siege mentality used as an excuse. The outward appearance of not wanting to take responsibility for their own actions, but still willing to take the money for a very highly paid position that could only tenuously be described as a job.

Not once have I seen an act of contrition or an apology to the supporters who stick with them through thick and thin, pay their money. Sure, to come so close to winning is gutting for the players but I think they should spare a thought for the supporters. To have had to wait 45 years for a premiership is a disgrace and the Club and the players should publicly acknowledge this fact. I, like many others are sick to death or waiting, but to look at the crap that has been dished up so far this year both off the field and on just makes it worse.

I don’t know whether or not any of the players or the club read this site, but I hope they do and I hope they get the message loud and clear. We want a premiership sooner rather than later. I don’t know the answer. I cannot provide the solution. That’s what the Club, the Coach and Coaching staff and players are paid handsomely to do. I am sick of the excuses and sick to death of watching a petulant non committed bunch of princesses. At least look like you are having a go. And if you can’t, well step aside and give some of the kids a go and bugger off to another Club and take their money.
This should be a letter forwarded to RL and/or Greg Westaway, not a forum thread.

We are all frustrated supporters, but complaining amongst ourselves isn't going to make the problem go away.

St Lenny

Today I spoke with a girl whose father use to play for St Kilda around 1970. He didnt play alot of games with us but he coped a head injury which ended up being a brain tumour. And where as he is still alive, his quality of life has been greatly affected. Now you think those players who havnt won us a premiership owe us an apology and what about the people who say they dont put in.

They are doing their best, they put their bodies on the line every week to try and win us all a premiership and if thats not good enough for you, to be honest, thats your problem not theirs.

s.hit thread is s.hit :roll:

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Bernard Shakey wrote:It's just a game. Get over it.
That quote is trotted out all the time by well meaning people.
But it is plain wrong.

It is much much more than a game.

joffaboy wrote:s.hit thread is s.hit :roll:
It is now with this post :roll:

Enrico_Misso wrote:
Bernard Shakey wrote:It's just a game. Get over it.
That quote is trotted out all the time by well meaning people.
But it is plain wrong.

It is much much more than a game.
Okay it's a sport, designed for relaxation. Just relax and enjoy the game.

Relaxation!!!!!

I think the only time I have gone to StKilda games relaxed was during "The Streak".

Well maybe also the 80s when I expected to lose.

But most matches I am anything but relaxed.
And as for finals the week before a final seems like a month.

Football is about passion.
That is why it means so much.
And that is why it is not relaxing.

Enrico_Misso wrote:Relaxation!!!!!

I think the only time I have gone to StKilda games relaxed was during "The Streak".

I'll agree with that.

Agree with a little bit of the OP, but no way would I criticise St Kilda 2009-2010. They will always be heroes in my mind. Sometimes things just do not fall your way in life, regardless of supreme effort.

I'm passionate about the Saints, but am still relaxed before and after a game.

bobmurray wrote:
joffaboy wrote:s.hit thread is s.hit :roll:
It is now with this post :roll:
That one post is infinately bettrer than the drivvel you post on a regular basis.

Hope for another loss on Monday are you? :roll:

Great supporter you are :roll:

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

I'm passionate about the Saints, but am still relaxed before and after a game.
How do you it, Bernie? Yoga, meditation or some kind of zen philosphy.
I'm like Enrico and can get extreme anxiety levels during games.

Supporting St.Kilda FC brings one grey hairs and stomach ulcers :lol:

can I ask again...

other than the NZ incident, what offield incidents should the club be apologising for

I reckon we showed last year that the off field incidents have very little impact. It's possibly affected Sam Gilbert in a -ive way, due to the unexpected scrutiny placed on him - as for the others, not in my opinion. Milney has showed he can cope and in fact thrive on the pressure it creates, and the one player who possibly has the most to be embarrassed about from pre-season - Nick Dal Santo (and not b/c of the size of the appendage, but more the act he was photographed in) is not playing any worse or better than any other year. For mine he has been in our best 3 players this year. The off field incidents are a convenient excuse that ppl outside the club will use to explain our drop off. The drop off has come from the GF losses in my opinion and the utter despair of not winning one coupled with the enormity of the task of trying to back up yet again.

AS for the OP, well I disagree. We choose to follow the club, no-one holds a gun to our head. I understand the sentiments, as it's bloody frustrating coming so close, but can you imagine the hours of blood sweat and tears some of our best players have put in over the past 5 years to come up short? All we do is watch - they sacrifice their bodies. Yes they are paid ridiculously well for doing it, but I'm not sure that's relevant. What many forget - is that at the end of 08 everyone expected 2011 to be like 2009 - that is that the saints would be crap. WE got 2 years longer than I bargained for out of them having a crack at the flag by rights :wink:

If you think about our club motto for a moment you might find some peace in what it really means to be a St Kilda supporter.

It's not Latin for "Strenghth through Premierships"

If you want premierships, get a second team like the Gold Coast.

Can't believe I've just wasted 5 minutes of my life reading this crap...
If you don't think everyone at the club is at least as passionate about winning a flag as you, then you are a fool.
Ross Lyon mentions the players 'representing' the members all the time. He has been absolutely relentless in his pursuit of a flag, not everything has come off but seriously, you need to pull your head out of your ass if you think you want this more than anyone at the club.
Maybe you could ask the oval ball (from gf 1 2010) to apologise, or the goal umpire (2009), or the drugs policy that allowed Chapman to get his hamstring injected (banned by WADA, then subsequently banned by the AFL).
Do you go to the footy and abuse your own players all match?
Do you think the players enjoy winning 19 straight and then losing a Grand Final?
FFS

Re: A good old fashioner rant

happy feet wrote:This post will probably not win me too many friends.
Yep, got it in one.

Your argument, as far as I can understand it, is that

1. The team you follow hasn't won a flag since you were 3 years old and you were too young to remember that time.

2. We've had some really good players since then, but lots of them had to retire without ever getting a premiership medallion.

3. We're not going too well so far this year, so you're starting to wonder when we will win a premiership.

4. You don't feel very happy about this chain of events.

5. It is, always has been, and always will be all about you.

6. Therefore, all the players and everyone else involved with the club should apologise to you.
Can't believe I've just wasted 5 minutes of my life reading this crap...
Yep......... :roll: :roll: :roll:

As St.Kilda supporters we have become accustomed to failure, as St.Kilda supporters we have seen the club implode many times just when we we're on the cusp of success.
St.kilda's problem is that it does have a losing culture due to it's long history of failure.
The hardest thing to break is that culture, remember we aren't the only club with this problem.
Bulldogs, Melbourne and Richmond all have the same problem, so did Geelong till a few years ago.
In reality, Geelong is our template to break this cycle and first most in this cycle is stability off field and coaching.
Our big turnover in assistant coaches may have had as much to do with our current on field situation as anything else, new ideas sometimes take time to implement and become 2nd nature.
So why I share your sentiments regarding what's happened this year, remember, we need every St.Kilda supporter to stay true, remain a member and keep the club very profitable so we can attract good players, good coaches etc and just maybe this may just a small hiccup on our way to success.
It is important for this club not just to win one premiership, but a series of them over the next 20 years, because it is that that will shake off that losing culture.
Just look at Hawthorn prior to the 1970's.