Match thread - St Kilda v Carlton - Etihad Stadium

Been really loose in defence this quarter.

Far too many uncontested marks.

From the 15 minute mark Carlton just went bang, bang, bang.

Missed shots early hurt us AGAIN.

7 touches for Goddard now....Gibbs is getting his hands on it heaps more. Has had at least three shots on goal.

Need to move BJ and get him into the game. just being wasted. I am struggling to find a match up for Gibbs if we move him though.

Blake has been in the ruck this quarter.

Baker just cannot compete against their pace. Neither can mini.

Need to harden up in the middle as well, or this will end up a whitewash.

saintjake

Lack of goal kickers KILL US!

stewmac

saintjake wrote:Lack of goal kickers KILL US!
as does a lack of skill & a lack of bottle :(

Clearances.

One simple word.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'
saintluke

Probably won't win but if we can match and improve our general ball movement through the middle I think we can certainly take something out of it.

Still think we are a little loose in defence. Seemed that we didn't kick to contested situations on the wing as much as we had in the first.

Heads up all, enjoy watching us play and hope for more improvement.

Two words, Roo and BJ.

They are part of the problem at the moment.

Bring on 2012

can we win a f****** contested possession already.

we have definetly improved. armitage and cripps are getting better each week.

sipposs has been good so far.

blake, bloody hell. how much longer do we persist.

kozi is back.

gilbert looks to have his confidence back.

were atleast improving.

sunsaint wrote:
Ralphy wrote:
bigred wrote:Goddard five touches in a half.....

Seriously WTF...
if ya gave riewoldt and goddard a run in the 2;s would it be worth it
would love to see if RL had the guts to do it
he made a stand with Ball...
And that worked out well....... :?

Jesus this is annoying.

We may as well have tied one of Roo's arms behind his back, and put a blindfold on BJ.

That is how ineffective they have been.

No doubt too much attention on what Judd is doing, and not enough attack around the packs from us, playing right into Carlton's hands, Judd hardly got a touch that quarter and the other Carlton onballers just crumbed with ease -c'mon Ross, free up the onballers to play a bit of footy.

ralphsmith

There's NOTHING in this game.

We can win.

And this is how we will win.

Riewoldt will lift. Riewoldt is being carved up again by a nameless hack. COME on Riewoldt you are better than this.

What is dead may never die, but rises again harder and stronger.

It is only 20 points.

They need to stand up FFS.

Need the bloody captain to stand up and show some bloody leadership- same for his mate Goddard.

We will roll over and die. Can't clear it from the centre and stoppages, can't kick goals and we look too old, too fat, too slow.

OneEyedSainter77

People keep saying its a form slump, but how long does a form slump really last?

How do we get out of this?

To be honest, I went into this game thinking we would get walloped by ten goals.... but at half time we are just four goals down. A decent showing in the second half and we might be back in this.

Last week we did it away from home, let's try and do it on our own home ground.... and this time.... let's finish the job.

i really liked the move of putting gilbert on judd or in the middle or what ever we did. he looked to have confidence again.

Mini is just DUMB, has no idea what to do with it.

BJ needs to get up the ground a bit, stop playing negative roles.

Roo, surely it's got to happen soon.

Monty and Dal have been good

Milne sensational

Armo doing his job

Dempster has been good down back with Fisher.

Kosi very promising

I think we need to sub Raph on....

Get Goddard into the mid/fwd.

ralphsmith

Riewoldt.

5 kicks
3 hand balls
0 goals.

Goddard
3 kicks
4 hand balls

Our two highest paid players.

It's probably as simple as THESE GUYS AREN'T playing well. Our two best. Imagine if those two lift.

ralphsmith

Surely Ratten and co are shitting their pants about now.

COME ON SAINTS

BIG SECOND HALF.

Reiwoldt has no idea when the ball is being kicked to him - unless it is lace out chest height he is flat out a liability at the moment - he has no presence one on one body on body - gets pushed off the ball way too easily - for a guy his size its weak and pathetic

Gwilt's dropped mark wraps up our season thus far - it was horrific to watch knowing that they would swoop and score and its not the first time this year he has done it

Our fumbling is as you would expect from an under 9's side and our tackling allowing them to squeeze out of a situation and get the ball away to advantage brings tears to my eyes

Please dont get me started on our kicking for goal let alone one guy in our forward line who can actually kick the ball 45m - Roo didnt make the distance from 40

Agree that we need to get Goddard into the game - seems like the have put Gibbs into their forward line to tag Goddard - put him the midfield and see what happens

Reckon the umpiring has pretty average - both ways but some decisions against us have been costly

We can still win but we know need to take the game on - interesting half coming up

Cmon saints!!!

ralphsmith

Goddard is at full forward now.

OneEyedSainter77

ralphsmith wrote:Goddard is at full forward now.
Excellent.

Bang Goddard in the middle or at CHF and get Roo out on a wing

Gibbs just pushed Goddard out of the way in amarking contest as if he were a piece of paper - for christs sake stand your friggin ground!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!