How TOTALLY USELESS is the StKilda website !!!!!

Two of our boys are really seriously injured in hospital.

It is now 8:30pm.
The last update on the site is 6:15pm.

Thousands of our supporters and the broader community would be concerned about their condition.
But there is absolutely no update.

NOTHING !!!
REALLY REALLY P!SSWEAK

so quick to go off the handle

both coming home on the plane.

chook23 wrote:so quick to go off the handle

both coming home on the plane.
That's amazing news?

Where did you hear it?
Obviously NOT on our official website. :evil:

The news on BJ is going to be on channel 10 in a minute or two from Jon Ralph.

Websites are so noughties.

You really need to go to facebook or twitter.

armo_20 David Armitage
Great win by the boys. Good news Bj and Seany are flying back with us tonight.

Furtius Quo Rdelious

Can some one please tell me why Ross' presser on the AFL website stops at the 1/12 minuite mark?

noreason41

In the dying moments of the clash, St Kilda's Sean Dempster was knocked unconscious and, like Goddard, was taken from the ground on a stretcher after being caught high by teammate Jason Blake's knee.

- Nathan Schmook

Writing a story without watching the game?

#1GILL

noreason41 wrote:In the dying moments of the clash, St Kilda's Sean Dempster was knocked unconscious and, like Goddard, was taken from the ground on a stretcher after being caught high by teammate Jason Blake's knee.

- Nathan Schmook

Writing a story without watching the game?
What's wrong with that? Seems accurate to me.

try 2.09 AM update on saints.com.au
Can't link but theyupdated when known and home safe, Lynch dislocated finger

Yep..Im afraid that in 2011, social media is where immediate news is. Take aq lot longer to update a website than to flick out a mesage on FB or Twitter

Within minutes of Armo's tweet, I reckon a huge % of Saints fans knew the good news about BJ and Shaun. Retweets, FB and text messaging carried the message far and wide

Maxstar22

saint66au wrote:Yep..Im afraid that in 2011, social media is where immediate news is. Take aq lot longer to update a website than to flick out a mesage on FB or Twitter

Within minutes of Armo's tweet, I reckon a huge % of Saints fans knew the good news about BJ and Shaun. Retweets, FB and text messaging carried the message far and wide
You would have been whinging had they posted something too early. Ever thought the "official" website might have been waiting for "official" news??

But yes, FB, twitter and the good old text message was working a treat last night. Thanks to Michael for letting me know while I was out and not anywhere near social media to find out. Even my non footy friend was glad for the news.

Maxstar22 wrote:
saint66au wrote:Yep..Im afraid that in 2011, social media is where immediate news is. Take aq lot longer to update a website than to flick out a mesage on FB or Twitter

You would have been whinging had they posted something too early. Ever thought the "official" website might have been waiting for "official" news??

But yes, FB, twitter and the good old text message was working a treat last night. Thanks to Michael for letting me know while I was out and not anywhere near social media to find out. Even my non footy friend was glad for the news.
Are you sure you didnt mean to quote Enrico's post?

Maxstar22

Maxstar22 wrote:

Perhaps I did, but I'm sure I have made my point regardless

Maxstar22 wrote:

Perhaps I did, but I'm sure I have made my point regardless
You did but whinging is an artform on this site.

completely disagree - it takes just as long to update a news column on a website as it does to post the same information on twitter, and FB IS a webpage
the problem with social media is that it is NOT official
who the bloody hell is armo_20???

mich13

sunsaint wrote:

completely disagree - it takes just as long to update a news column on a website as it does to post the same information on twitter, and FB IS a webpage
armo_20 is Armitage on twitter. As a team mate of both players and catching the same flight its close enough to being official for most!

"You can get more money elsewhere, but [St Kilda] is our home, we love it to death, so why would you want to leave?"

- Nick Dal Santo 21 Jun 2005
stkildathunda

sunsaint wrote:

It takes 2 secs to post anything on Facebook or Twitter and they only have to update one and it updates the other for them... And its official if they bothered to do it... Armo_20 is David Armitage, you know that bloke that plays in our midfield :wink:

armo_20
could be anyone

sunsaint wrote:

Social Media not official?? Saints have an "OFFICIAL" Facebook and Twitter presence, and not so long ago posted a list of players with Twitter addys ..Armo being one of them.

Umm during the NZ and Japan earthquakes and the Queensland floods / cyclone, were you breathlessly waiting on newspaper websites for minute by minute updates?? Hope not cos you would have given them a spray as well, while (especially) Twitter and Facebook were carrying news (quite literally) as it happened.

Yes saints.com.au and Facebook are both webpages, but the updating of same couldnt be more different. Last time I looked you dont need a FTP link to a host server to update your FB page

its funny you should mention the qld floods as a showcase for twitter
the Qld police were pleading with people to stop taking notice of twitter because of all the false and erroneous reports going around that once went out spread like wildfire.
No the ABC radio was the only place to get your info
you dont need ftp to update all websites

sunsaint wrote:its funny you should mention the qld floods as a showcase for twitter
the Qld police were pleading with people to stop taking notice of twitter because of all the false and erroneous reports going around that once went out spread like wildfire.
No the ABC radio was the only place to get your info
you dont need ftp to update all websites
I take your point, but there was a LOT of false and erroneous reports being spread by so-called "mainstream media" too, with that bloke who just won a Gold Logie leading the pack. Id imagine that was driving the Qld Police crazy as well
Id reckon the ABC radio coverage was glued to Twitter, with producers there to quite rightly sort the wheat from the chaff as far as false reports go. In 2011 you'd be crazy not to, but im not saying for one second everything on Social Media is gospel...but then..read the Herald-Sun recently??lol

Social media is rapidly becominig far more than a vehicle for the "I had a nice cupcake today" brigade. We first heard about the mission to take down Bin Laden through Twitter, the uprisings against the governments in Libya and Egypt were organised through social media...and like it or lump it, the first we heard that BJ and Demps were gonna be OK to fly home was straight from another player on Twitter. That was just fine by me

sunsaint wrote:

I've been out of IT for a good few years but I would have thought you could update facebook or tweet from the passenger seat of a car but updating a webpage, there are a lot more hoops to jump through.

Furtius Quo Rdelious

I don't care how it's done as long as it's quick.

Webpages like saints.com.au are almost redundant already, such is the penertration of FB (and KD!).

Given that the Two injured players did not travel with the team straight from Patterson stadium and the media personell would have been with the team and they then virtually boarded soon after arrival and there is NO internet access on the Plane they took the first opportunity after landing to check with officials on how they travelled and correct information before putting information onto the website.

I'd rather they be correct than misleading onformation be put out.

saintbrat wrote:Given that the Two injured players did not travel with the team straight from Patterson stadium and the media personell would have been with the team and they then virtually boarded soon after arrival and there is NO internet access on the Plane they took the first opportunity after landing to check with officials on how they travelled and correct information before putting information onto the website.

I'd rather they be correct than misleading onformation be put out.
If they cared enough about the webpage, they would've phoned someone in Melbourne to update the site.

But FB is more relevant, so why bother?