Defensive BS

BonoRocks

Defensive BS

Dear Ross.
All year we look like a rabble when we try to slow it up and chip it around and actually look ok when we play on and attack. Its what gets us in good positions, run with it, that last quarter is a crock of SH!T

Did you hear his three quarter time speech?

BonoRocks

plugger66 wrote:Did you hear his three quarter time speech?
yeh good one, cause the players dont play to instruction.. He just goes out there at the breaks and shuffles names around the board doesnt speak to anyone.

SainterX

There was a time a few years back we would DRILL teams into submission, now we just BORE them :P

A true king doesn't glass his girlfriend.
A true king doesn't smear his blood on an opponent when he cannot break a tag.
A true king does not label umpires disgraceful.
A true king is Robert Harvey.

BonoRocks wrote:
yeh good one, cause the players dont play to instruction.. He just goes out there at the breaks and shuffles names around the board doesnt speak to anyone.
Could easily be lack of confidence. Do you think he said I dont want to score this quarter?

Come on, we won.

Week after the bye, guys were puffing.

Made sense, and it paid off in the end.

People that don't think it is a tactic implied by Ross to shut games down need to get their heads out of the sand. Do you really think the players would consistently play against team rules by holding the ball up and kicking backwards. Not in todays game. Ross is a sound tactician and doubt that players would go against what he wants so often. Its not something like skills which are uncontrollable in the coaches box, its a game plan.

BonoRocks

BonoRocks wrote:
Could easily be lack of confidence. Do you think he said I dont want to score this quarter?
they need to run to create space, not look backwards, like they did most of that quarter, they try to chip it around and eventually turn it over and most of the time ends in a shot on goal. go an have another look, pick almost any game all year not just the last quarter, when we play like that we look like rubish..

Old Mate wrote:People that don't think it is a tactic implied by Ross to shut games down need to get their heads out of the sand. Do you really think the players would consistently play against team rules by holding the ball up and kicking backwards. Not in todays game. Ross is a sound tactician and doubt that players would go against what he wants so often. Its not something like skills which are uncontrollable in the coaches box, its a game plan.
And people who think he said dont go forward have their head up their arse.

Would rather lose than play like that !

Would rather lose than play like that - the last quarter was disgraceful RL

would rather win anyway than lose.

But concur that was scarey :(

Re: Would rather lose than play like that !

WinnersOnly wrote:Would rather lose than play like that - the last quarter was disgraceful RL
Weird username then :shock:

Old Mate wrote:People that don't think it is a tactic implied by Ross to shut games down need to get their heads out of the sand. Do you really think the players would consistently play against team rules by holding the ball up and kicking backwards. Not in todays game. Ross is a sound tactician and doubt that players would go against what he wants so often. Its not something like skills which are uncontrollable in the coaches box, its a game plan.
Saints have played tempo footy under ross since he came to the Saints. Slowing the game down, chipping it around, keeping possession and not going forward at times is a tactic. Deal with simpleton.

I win. resorting to names. Who actually said we dont play tempo footy. My point is I reckon RL never said lets just play defensive footy. You should get to some games. It will help your knowledge.

The fact we had 4 extras behind the ball, tells us something.....you dont have to a genius to know that we attepted to stop them scoring.....and put less emphasis on scoring.....

But hey, plugger you know so much more than me.....so we should just believe that the player took it upon themselves to slow the game to a walk

I win. resorting to names. Who actually said we dont play tempo footy. My point is I reckon RL never said lets just play defensive footy. You should get to some games. It will help your knowledge.
No I win because I wasn't playing a stupid game that who ever resorts to name calling losers a game.

There is coaches directions coming to players/the team throughout games by the runners and on the phone on the bench. I find it funny that you don't think that Ross directs players to slow the game down when they do. You aren't too sharp, mate.

BigMart wrote:The fact we had 4 extras behind the ball, tells us something.....you dont have to a genius to know that we attepted to stop them scoring.....and put less emphasis on scoring.....

But hey, plugger you know so much more than me.....so we should just believe that the player took it upon themselves to slow the game to a walk
This Plugger bloke is the dumbest poster on this forum. Easy to see it mate.

BigMart wrote:The fact we had 4 extras behind the ball, tells us something.....you dont have to a genius to know that we attepted to stop them scoring.....and put less emphasis on scoring.....

I knew you would a negative. I was positive of that. Were you at the game?

I still don't know what is wrong with that though?

It was the week after the bye, players were puffing, they were winning in the middle (I'd say their mids got a scolding in the 3rd break)

We won.

If they choked their shots on goal, it was probably because of the high pressure game, which Saints helped create.

We won.

Oh, and we won. :wink:

noddy04

WinnersOnly wrote:Would rather lose than play like that - the last quarter was disgraceful RL
WOW just WOW :oops:

Were you at the game?
Why do you keep saying this crap. Seriously mate watching it on TV/going to the game, does not determine footy knowledge. Get real.

Well that makes a lot of sense :roll:

Were you at the game?
Why do you keep saying this crap. Seriously mate watching it on TV/going to the game, does that determine footy knowledge. Get real.
Well that sums up your footy knowledge. It is nil. How can someone say there were 4 extras behind the ball from watching TV. That is funny.

Were you at the game?
Why do you keep saying this crap. Seriously mate watching it on TV/going to the game, does that determine footy knowledge. Get real.
Well that sums up your footy knowledge. It is nil. How can someone say there were 4 extras behind the ball from watching TV. That is funny.
4 extras behind the ball? didn't say it so don't use crap to suit your argument. Shows how desperate you are and how much of an idiot you are coming across as. You make me laugh, fool.

There were 2 bad choices in the last 1/4 - Armitage should not have passed, McEvoy should have taken a shot. Would have changed the way you are all seeing the game.