lockett kicking ton #2 v crows round 22 1991

mrkiss

lockett kicking ton #2 v crows round 22 1991

anyone have footage on you tube or can send me

also the aftermatch of the brownlow in 1987 iam on it

Yeah, this has been quite an overlooked moment.

1991 was a fantastic year. We broke an 18 year drought of not playing finals footy.

Plugger Lockett was magnificent.

What a great night, beating the Ravens on their own turf.

I went over for that game.

Was my first trip to Fooball Park (Fooball is the SA pronunciation).
It was a real eye-opener for me, and I have been to Vic Park dozens of times.
It was like another planet.

I was sitting a couple of bays away from a large group of StKilda supporters who were getting pelted with fruit from all angles.
ONE of our supporters threw ONE piece of fruit back and officials descended from everywhere to forcibly remove him!!!!

But even more memorably there was a charming ethnic gentleman sitting just in front of me and everytime Adelaide scored a goal he stood up and yelled indecipherable words (often at me) and held up this pathetic little cardboard sign that included the work "C#cksucker" as well as three spelling mistakes - never seen anything like it!!!!!

But back to Plugger.
He was magnificent (as usual).
I think it was Danny Craven that kicked it to him at the southern end for a set shot that brought up his ton.

Did plugger stuff his back on an Adelaide trip?

Yeah Danny gave him a worm burner! I still have a video of that season - 'The Year Of The Rising Saint' and watch it every now and then.

Plugger hurt his back in the pre- season that year, v West Coast at Waverley.

He missed the first 6 games. The bye meant he came back in Rd 7 and booted 12 v the Crows at Moorabbin.

Enrico_Misso wrote:I went over for that game.

I was sitting a couple of bays away from a large group of StKilda supporters who were getting pelted with fruit from all angles.
ONE of our supporters threw ONE piece of fruit back and officials descended from everywhere to forcibly remove him!!!!

But even more memorably there was a charming ethnic gentleman sitting just in front of me and everytime Adelaide scored a goal he stood up and yelled indecipherable words (often at me) and held up this pathetic little cardboard sign that included the work "C#cksucker" as well as three spelling mistakes - never seen anything like it!!!!!

But back to Plugger.
I think it was Danny Craven that kicked it to him at the southern end for a set shot that brought up his ton.
Wow, Enrico. I thought Port fans were the ferals of SA, but it sounds as though the rabble of Ravens you encountered would give them a run for their money.

Maybe they have cleaned up their act since?

Re Craven, yep, pretty sure it was he who fed Plugger the pass for the ton.

Little Danny Craven A had quite a good year in '91.

Loved it when we had the mini dynamic duo - Craven A and Bowzer.
Munga wrote:Did plugger stuff his back on an Adelaide trip?
You might be referring to that game at Footy Park in 1993? Plugger went to hospital at half-time after sustaining an injury. Not sure if it was back related though.

Verdun66

But back to Plugger.

I happened to be in Adelaide about 10 years ago for the weekend and was invited to a hospitality box to watch the Crows play Port. A lot of the people in the box were supposedly high powered pollies and a few media types. It was a fairly even split between the supporters there, and during the game I've never seen anything like it. They were screaming at anyone and everyone, bug eyed and out of control. I thought a couple of times a fight would break out.

I honestly couldn't believe my eyes and ears. And this was meant to be the 'high end' of town. No wonder everyone in the outer is described as feral. No one in there thought the behavior odd.

Never forget it, and I certainly don't fancy going in the outer of AAMI!

try pm'ing mcadam05

who is busy posting clips inder the youtube name
http://www.youtube.com/user/riewoldt12

check there and then ask-

Only game I’ve ever been to Adelaide for.

One highlight was before the game going to the pub across the road and having a beer and a chat with Robbie Muir. He’d obviously been there for a while and had us in stitches with his stories of playing Grid Iron in SA and a few tales about Brian Wilson.

After the game it was established that he’d become a bit boisterous and had nearly been thrown out of Football Park, avoiding so by telling the authorities it was in fact his nephew who was sitting next to him (who much to Muir’s amusement was evicted). Later on a very animated Robbie tried unsuccessfully to gain entry to the club’s after match function.

Great night with Plugger’s ton and the win of course being the biggest highlights.

Was this the game Scott Lee kicked it immediately out of FB to Plugger (as opposed to Craven)? Or was that Plugger's 15 goal haul? If that was 1991 I'm shocked...it seemed like yesterday! Hmmm...Wednesday night footy?

Dr Spaceman wrote:Only game I’ve ever been to Adelaide for.

One highlight was before the game going to the pub across the road and having a beer and a chat with Robbie Muir. He’d obviously been there for a while and had us in stitches with his stories of playing Grid Iron in SA and a few tales about Brian Wilson.

After the game it was established that he’d become a bit boisterous and had nearly been thrown out of Football Park, avoiding so by telling the authorities it was in fact his nephew who was sitting next to him (who much to Muir’s amusement was evicted). Later on a very animated Robbie tried unsuccessfully to gain entry to the club’s after match function.

Great night with Plugger’s ton and the win of course being the biggest highlights.
I didn't know about Robbie Muir living in SA. Also him playing American Football is a strange one. He would have made a good Running Back.

I saw him a couple of years after then at one of our home matches at Waverley. He looked absolutely soused.

degruch wrote:Was this the game Scott Lee kicked it immediately out of FB to Plugger (as opposed to Craven)? Or was that Plugger's 15 goal haul? If that was 1991 I'm shocked...it seemed like yesterday! Hmmm...Wednesday night footy?
No, I'm pretty sure it was a Friday night and Plugger didn't kick as many as 15. He still ended up with a bag of 10 or so. He was Adelaide's worst nightmare.

I remember they had their version of him, Scott Hodges. Hodges did SFA for the Crows. He could kick 150+ in the SANFL, but not even half as many in the AFL. Just goes to show the difference of standards. Then after Hodges came that absolute poonce called Modra :lol:

Sainternist wrote:
degruch wrote:Was this the game Scott Lee kicked it immediately out of FB to Plugger (as opposed to Craven)? Or was that Plugger's 15 goal haul? If that was 1991 I'm shocked...it seemed like yesterday! Hmmm...Wednesday night footy?
No, I'm pretty sure it was a Friday night and Plugger didn't kick as many as 15. He still ended up with a bag of 10 or so. He was Adelaide's worst nightmare.

I remember they had their version of him, Scott Hodges. Hodges did SFA for the Crows. He could kick 150+ in the SANFL, but not even half as many in the AFL. Just goes to show the difference of standards. Then after Hodges came that absolute poonce called Modra :lol:
Friday night sounds right.

Our dog Plugger Power had won at Ballarat on the Wednesday night and we drove over from Melbourne the next day (looking back I'm not sure why we didn't just stay in Ballarat on Wednesday night and head straight to Adelaide :?) Anyway, I'm pretty sure we didn't have 2 nights in Adelaide before the game.

So mark me down for it being a Friday.

And I think you're also right about the big guy slotting about 10.

Yeah it was def a Friday night. Plugger had kicked 13 the week before against carlscum

Thinking of all the times i saw plugger kick 6 + , leaves me despondant at the way we no longer kick goals !!!!!
Would love to go to a game confident that we might kick 15 goals for the match , but nowdays i think we'll be lucky to kick 10 .
Honestly playing port sunday , i think we should win , but i reckon where only a 10% chance of kicking 15 goals .

I loved being at moorabbin when plugger had kicked 4 -6 goals by half time , you were always buzzing with excitement in anticipation for the second half .
unlike the frustration i feel when watching the saints second halves nowdays

mr six o'clock wrote:Thinking of all the times i saw plugger kick 6 + , leaves me despondant at the way we no longer kick goals !!!!!
Would love to go to a game confident that we might kick 15 goals for the match , but nowdays i think we'll be lucky to kick 10 .
Honestly playing port sunday , i think we should win , but i reckon where only a 10% chance of kicking 15 goals .

I loved being at moorabbin when plugger had kicked 4 -6 goals by half time , you were always buzzing with excitement in anticipation for the second half .
unlike the frustration i feel when watching the saints second halves nowdays
Well those days are well and truly gone sixman.

Just be grateful we got to enjoy those times. Plenty of younger fans for who Lockett is just another hit on YouTube. They'll never really appreciate what they missed :(

Sainternist wrote:

Must have been the 15 goal game where Scott Lee passed it directly to Plugger...that was the following year, if I remember correctly. Never laughed so hard in all my life.

Hodges would have been the equivalent to a very good VFL player today, and when picked by the Crows, his best might have been past him regardless. He came from a dominant team in a competition that was effectively gutted by AFL clubs.

noddy04

But back to Plugger.

Lived in SA all of my life and never heard it called fooball..maybe you should check some of your own work before posting. :)

noddy04

Verdun66 wrote:

But back to Plugger.

I happened to be in Adelaide about 10 years ago for the weekend and was invited to a hospitality box to watch the Crows play Port. A lot of the people in the box were supposedly high powered pollies and a few media types. It was a fairly even split between the supporters there, and during the game I've never seen anything like it. They were screaming at anyone and everyone, bug eyed and out of control. I thought a couple of times a fight would break out.

I honestly couldn't believe my eyes and ears. And this was meant to be the 'high end' of town. No wonder everyone in the outer is described as feral. No one in there thought the behavior odd.

Never forget it, and I certainly don't fancy going in the outer of AAMI!
Nothing like that happens with our Saint supporters?

noddy04

Sainternist wrote:

I didn't know about Robbie Muir living in SA. Also him playing American Football is a strange one. He would have made a good Running Back.

I saw him a couple of years after then at one of our home matches at Waverley. He looked absolutely soused.
I worked with Muir over here for about a year or so. Also played country footy against him. A very skillfull footballer and a good bloke to work with but a knobjockey on the footy oval. Some of the things he did over here were pretty bad and i am really broadminded.

christ its not that bad now

never had a problem in the last ten years myself

scott hodges
brilliant in the sanfl
crap in the afl

Robbie told me he once turned up at a Saints fancy dress bash naked, but covered in bits of paper.

He was attending as a Lamington :D

parky

Hey Enrico

I went over to Plugger's ton game too (went on the bus from the football club - Keith Rosewarne was on the bus too and he had some great stories).

I was in the group of Saints supporters that you were talking about. I totally agree about Football Park, it was a million times worse than Vic Park (I was at Vic Park the day Nicky lifted his jumper and whilst feral they didn't even come close to the Adealide morons).

The stuff getting chucked at as wasn't even the wost of it. At the breaks they blocked off entry to the ladies toilets so that any female with StKilda colours on couldnt get in. It was a near riot with the male StKilda supporters clearing a path.

Anyway plugger getting the ton (from a lovely Danny Craven chip kick) and us winning by about 10 goals and singing the song for the last 15 mins made the night.

After the game we went back to the casino and all the players were there so we got to talk to them all for a couple of hours.

To top it all off, Susie Quatro was staying in our hotel so we had a good chat with her the next morning (which for a few of iolder blokes it was better than the footy meeting their teenage fantasy girl)

On the Sat we went to the Adelaide oval to watch an SAFNL game and managed to have a kick on the ground at half time (which we weren't supposed to do so we got chased ).

Anyway 20 years on, for me, that is still in my top 10 favourite Saints games. And definitely in my top 3 boys weekends of all time.

I've even got the video of the game just as a reminder.

noddy04 wrote:

But back to Plugger.

Lived in SA all of my life and never heard it called fooball..maybe you should check some of your own work before posting. :)
:lol: Fooball??? Sorry, but in Australia we pronounce it (and spell it) football.

It's worth noting, over a dozen or so AFL games I've seen at AAMI Stadium, I've sat in the outer and never seen much offensive behaviour to write about...do some of our posters attract special attention by any chance?

noddy04 wrote:
Sainternist wrote:

I worked with Muir over here for about a year or so. Also played country footy against him. A very skillfull footballer and a good bloke to work with but a knobjockey on the footy oval. Some of the things he did over here were pretty bad and i am really broadminded.
He did live here for a while...early 1990's? A mate of mine sat in front of him at the footy once and reported his antics were entertaining, if frightening.