Team - Geary for Gwilt

Sam23

Congratulations Geary for the quick turn around and getting back to the side! I think his kicking isn't depolorable. Better kick then Armitage, Polo and Gram and they are all still in the team.

I think this means a more defensive role for Fisher which will be no worries as he can do it, but we will miss his brilliant positioning as loose man if he does go down that road.

Goddard.

Will he play on Stiffy Johncock and try and hurt them the other way perhaps??

I wish Lynchy was playing... dunno why... just think the team is better with him in it... and Walshy.... so close now.... hope he gets to play against the Gold Coast.

Walsh and Lynch well ahead of Geary in my book

prwilkinson wrote:Will he play on Stiffy Johncock and try and hurt them the other way perhaps??

I wish Lynchy was playing... dunno why... just think the team is better with him in it... and Walshy.... so close now.... hope he gets to play against the Gold Coast.
I would like to see Raph sitting on stiffy. I reckon he could hurt him.

Sam23 wrote:Congratulations Geary for the quick turn around and getting back to the side! I think his kicking isn't depolorable. Better kick then Armitage, Polo and Gram and they are all still in the team.

I think this means a more defensive role for Fisher which will be no worries as he can do it, but we will miss his brilliant positioning as loose man if he does go down that road.
Lynchy a bit stiff.

Will stiffy play or is he a bit stiff and sore?

saint6709 wrote:Walsh and Lynch well ahead of Geary in my book
Well ahead... dont see him on stkildas list next year unless contracted.

Ralphy wrote:
he'd be stiff then.

I'm getting a bit stiff thinking about this game

Old Mate wrote:I'm getting a bit stiff thinking about this game
is that ya old mate talking?

Rapt to see Geary in, I've been talking him up all year so I hope he shows a bit!
…though i wouldn't say it has given me a stiffy, we'll see tomorrow night.

Just hope we come to play. Adelaide are pissweak but they are potentially very dangerous.

Geary is perfect for the sub IMO

I would only have one of Jones and Geary in the side.

And Jones is so far in front of Geary that it does not matter.

Much has been written about Armitage, who is 22, 183cm and 84kg - so the only difference to Geary is 2kg.

Compare the way they use their bodies - and Jones does as well.

Given Geary can not do what Jones and Armitage can you look for other attributes.

And Geary is a hack there too, giving no pace therefore no spread and run ability plus he is a very, very ordinary disposer of the ball.

Our defence is well covered with the likes of Gilbert, Clarke, Dempster Gram, Ray and Goddard supporting Fisher and Dawson in the key positions.

So where does Geary fit in?

He will not feature in our mid rotations - Dal Santo, Montagna, Steven, Jones, Goddard, Gram, Ray, Armitage, Schnieder are all in front of him.

Lynch at least has versatility over Geary - being able to play forward and back.

And I left out Peake and Polo who also bring more than Geary - Peake with his pace and Polo with his body.

Zac Attack

Ralphy wrote:
Well he is getting a game ahead of both players in a team that needs to keep on winning to get into the 8 so I somehow think that Geary is rated ahead of Lynch and Walsh.

He's only likely to get a quarter if that to the top, I think it suits him....he is tough, can run alright, play in a few positions. Let him be sub for a couple of weeks and see what he's got.

would gone Lynch on versatility alone but clearly they are worried bout run out of defence and Geary can do that.

Needs to be an impact player..

2nd SIX DAY break

Geary helps with insurance re run

I agree Geary seems a good sub type.
But run out of defence - Walsh gives you that.
Good kicking in defence - Lynch.
Good man on man in defence - Simpkin.

Maybe based on match ups, but we're not attempting to replace Gwilt so to speak with this. I'm slightly intrigued.

Geary is handy as a sub because he is your Sean Dempster style utility, jack of all trades master of none (yet). Ross likes a sub that can be a fill in for injury from history Geary can have a run in the midfield and also tag damaging players or slot in on a forward or back wing. I think people have forgotten that he has played some pretty good games and his best is still in front of him. I'm happy to watch him get another crack. Lynch and Walsh should both be long term players but they are both inexperienced and it is a big game against unpredictable opponents.

Sam23 wrote:Congratulations Geary for the quick turn around and getting back to the side! I think his kicking isn't depolorable. Better kick then Armitage, Polo and Gram and they are all still in the team.

Lynchy a bit stiff.

Will stiffy play or is he a bit stiff and sore?
they are saying he will play
recouped rather well form the knock apparently
but could be all bluff :?

Walsh will play !

To the top wrote:I would only have one of Jones and Geary in the side.

And Jones is so far in front of Geary that it does not matter.

Much has been written about Armitage, who is 22, 183cm and 84kg - so the only difference to Geary is 2kg.

Compare the way they use their bodies - and Jones does as well.

Given Geary can not do what Jones and Armitage can you look for other attributes.

And Geary is a hack there too, giving no pace therefore no spread and run ability plus he is a very, very ordinary disposer of the ball.

Our defence is well covered with the likes of Gilbert, Clarke, Dempster Gram, Ray and Goddard supporting Fisher and Dawson in the key positions.

So where does Geary fit in?

He will not feature in our mid rotations - Dal Santo, Montagna, Steven, Jones, Goddard, Gram, Ray, Armitage, Schnieder are all in front of him.

Lynch at least has versatility over Geary - being able to play forward and back.
It's fair to say your case amounts to a steaming turd,

How much of Geary have you seen in the last 12 months?
It's not that difficult to work out really, we lose a rebounding defender for the year, neither of your mentioned players - Jones and Armitage are even remotely suited to that role, Geary is.

Did Gwilt feature in our mid rotations?, fair dinkim…

To the top wrote:And I left out Peake and Polo who also bring more than Geary - Peake with his pace and Polo with his body.
There are stupid posts & then there are yours…
Keep waffling about a player that you haven't even seen.

Your book doesn't count