I love Ross, But..

SainterK wrote:Still have a feeling McEvoy may be a late out, and Blake may play in the ruck against Kepler.
Why?
He looks sore, even a bit injured late against the Suns.

Has Jolly, Mummy and Goldstein in the coming weeks....just a feeling.

Happy to be wrong.
Well be happy. Every player looks sore after a game.

SainterK wrote:Still have a feeling McEvoy may be a late out, and Blake may play in the ruck against Kepler.
I've already made mention of that in another thread, you copy cat.
I am not a copy cat, not intentionally anyway :wink:

Didn't see that comment, I agree with you then.

Just seeing the Freo ins, and Blake coming in, made me suspicious.

I don't think that Posters are putting Ross down, but the rising questions are - (i) when will Walsh get a game? & (ii) why isn't he getting a game, as it appears that his form has been good at Sandy? With Zac out this week, Walsh seems like a good match for the position.

Walsh has been with us for 4 years now. If he is "not good enough," I am ok with that. My question is, why haven't we tried him and what does it take for the timing to be right?

It just seems odd that several other young guys have been given an opportunity this year and Walsh has been playing well, yet can't get a game.

Junction Oval wrote:I don't think that Posters are putting Ross down, but the rising questions are - (i) when will Walsh get a game? & (ii) why isn't he getting a game, as it appears that his form has been good at Sandy? With Zac out this week, Walsh seems like a good match for the position.

Walsh has been with us for 4 years now. If he is "not good enough," I am ok with that. My question is, why haven't we tried him and what does it take for the timing to be right?

It just seems odd that several other young guys have been given an opportunity this year and Walsh has been playing well, yet can't get a game.
"In October 2009, Walsh finally agreed to sign a 2 year AFL contract in 2009, with St Kilda general manager Matthew Drain saying that "he has enormous talent to become an important player for St Kilda"

Junction Oval wrote:
Walsh has been with us for 4 years now.
This is his second season. He has yet to play 30 games of Australian Rules.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Thanks for the correction Joffa :
I pushed the wrong key and didn't check it before posting! I am not comfortable confusing things on matters of fact.

The second most successful coach of St Kilda is??

People need to take the rose coloured glasses off when it comes to Walsh and Stanley - they may become champions but they are at best good players for Sandy - who are pretty average.

Bowey Boy wrote:The second most successful coach of St Kilda is??

People need to take the rose coloured glasses off when it comes to Walsh and Stanley - they may become champions but they are at best good players for Sandy - who are pretty average.
yep...but they could play a lot better surrounded by guys who can actually play football.....

Junction Oval wrote:Thanks for the correction Joffa :
I pushed the wrong key and didn't check it before posting! I am not comfortable confusing things on matters of fact.
Cool no worries, thought you may have seen the facetious post on this thread earlier about Walsh's four year apprenticeship.

Walsh could be a very good player for us. Came to us as a forward, was sent down back last season and this to learn the game, and has been again pushed forward.

Looking like they are grooming him where they origonally wanted him, up forward.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

joffaboy wrote:So even after playing more first gamers than anyone apart from Gold Coast we still have people whinging and whining :roll:

Considering lyon watches the games every week, go to all training, and knows what the team needs more than some internet armchair experts, I put my faith in Ross.

Blake is a far better backman than Walsh, and is also more versatile.

Walsh is nothing special.
Stop talking sense!

We've won 5 in a row.

The wheels gave come off.

Hallalj#3

Why?

Happy to be wrong.

Not every player is limping pretty badly though..

Hallalj#3 wrote:
Why?

Happy to be wrong.

A hell of a lot are though.

perfectionist wrote:
fingers wrote:...Why would Walsh get a game this week when we are battling for a spot in the 8? This is hardly the time to experiment.
Too obvious.
I'm not sure what that means?

bozza1980

joffaboy wrote:So even after playing more first gamers than anyone apart from Gold Coast we still have people whinging and whining :roll:

Considering lyon watches the games every week, go to all training, and knows what the team needs more than some internet armchair experts, I put my faith in Ross.

C'mon, how can the man who's job it is to know the capabilities, fitness, attitude and performance level of these players know more than us who watch St Kilda play on the weekend and read Sandringham's best every week??

Every other club has shown a greater respect for youth, one of them even played more debutants than us.

Completely gutless of Ross to continue selecting the side he thinks gives our club the best chance of winning football games on the weekend.

Ridiculous!!

Life is very short and there's no time for fussing and fighting my friends.

barks4eva wrote:Lyon talks about "Integrity with Selection" but that surely is just a crock of shyte reeking hypocrisy.

"Integrity with selection"

PERLEEEEEEEEEEZE

What a total load of bollocks!
You just love bagging don't you, first it was GT and the board, now they're gone you just move on to the next lot. Blake was the obvious replacement for Dawson, Walsh is going to be a player but in every game I have seen him play for Sandy, he still gives away too many free kicks and turns it over under pressure. He still needs a lot more time to develop his skills and reading of the game. We are in a precarious position and surely our first goal is to make finals not experiment

yep...granted...ross knows more about footy than all of us...all coaches do.....that's why they get the gig in the first place.....none of them are above being out of touch though at some stage of their careers... or incompetent......that's why they get the sack......craig, bailey anybody???...

..ross never played the kids.....well not until this year....a fair few on here bagged him for that...as did the press...and the club was getting jumpy.......that's why i have a sneaking suspicion that a few got a game this year....not for long though...apart from armo and jack.....but then...what were the options.....i have a certain amount of respect for ross...but he is conservative in his selections...just like his former boss.....

Hallalj#3

Hallalj#3 wrote:
Why?

Happy to be wrong.
yeah nah there not.. Most walk off comfortably, the next day might be different..

A hell of a lot are though.

No Joffa that's crap. YOU MUST PLAY WALSH

**cue sarcasm music** :roll: :roll:

Which of these "kids" actually DESERVE a game?

In Ross we trust

villasaint

Ross knows best that's for sure. Must say I can't wait for Walsh to get a game as he will be a player. Sad to see some supporters writing him off before he has even played a game.

Ross is the messiah

stinger wrote:yep...granted...ross knows more about footy than all of us...all coaches do.....that's why they get the gig in the first place.....none of them are above being out of touch though at some stage of their careers... or incompetent......that's why they get the sack......craig, bailey anybody???...

Except of course when the coach/buffoon happens to appoint himself

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Bowey Boy wrote:The second most successful coach of St Kilda is??

yep...but they could play a lot better surrounded by guys who can actually play football.....
Precisely, many instances of players unable to get a touch at VFL level but suddenly given an opportunity surrounded by guns at AFL level and they flourish.

I'm absolutely astonished.

Where's the outrage for the 'dropping' of Lynch?
Surely Roo coulfd have played FB in place of the suspended Zac?