Jones is the most underrated player in the AFL

Brilliant whn he's let off the leash, is any one else as maligned for so much out put?

Unforgiven

Don't know about 'off the leash', was tagging Hill today, and did a great job. Also Gram on Fyfe at times was really good. Blakes solid too :)

Carpe Diem

His output has steadily declined since the 2009 season. Tonight he was back to his 2009 form.

saintjake

If he wasn't a tagger and was played in a Swan roll, he would be very effective.
just run, run, run chase the ball, get the ball, kick the ball

Remember when those Collingwood dogs ganged up on him early last year. It knocked his confidence a bit imo, but now he has it back.

One of the less savoury things I've seen on a football field ... on a par with their low-rent coach accusing a St Kilda favourite of rape in front of a national TV audience.

Should we return the favour next week, targetting perhaps Swan or Pendlebury or Ball?

Our would that make us as bad as them?

Old Mate wrote:His output has steadily declined since the 2009 season. Tonight he was back to his 2009 form.

Declined until about 8 weeks ago. Has been very good in our resurgence. Outstanding tonight.

I'm going to disagree with this

he presents the ultimate conumdrum as a footballer

He works hard, wins heaps of ball, is fast, tackles well, often negates his opponent
but
his disposal by foot is so poor... he really doesn't hurt the opposition enough.

He really needs games of 20+ possessions to appear damaging

IMO wasn't nearly damaging enough given the amount of ball he got tonight

Example... 3rd quarter
Both Jones and Mzungu got 12 possessions in the third... who wasthe damaging player?

I think the opposition let him run free coz they know he won't hurt you too much

still a good performance by him though
beat the pants off Hill

skeptic wrote:I'm going to disagree with this
Weren't you trading him mid season? :lol:

degruch wrote:
i don't think anyone would take him

skeptic wrote:
degruch wrote:
i don't think anyone would take him
Fair enough, we'll keep him then.

If he was a better kick...he has improved, but tonight he turned it over...he would certainly be an a grader

curiously...

my position on this is clear but I'm interested

Give me some legitimate potential trades for Clint Jones

If you wanted to trade him for a pick, what round is he worth?

If he decided to quit for money, what player/s would constitute an even swap

I want to see what players others rank him beside

yeah, took hill to the cleaners. hill couldn't cope, topped with a nice poster from 2 m out.

Been a major part of the resurgence, loving that fanatical frenzied attack on the ball he's got back.

bigcarl wrote:Remember when those Collingwood dogs ganged up on him early last year. It knocked his confidence a bit imo, but now he has it back.

One of the less savoury things I've seen on a football field ... on a par with their low-rent coach accusing a St Kilda favourite of rape in front of a national TV audience.

Should we return the favour next week, targetting perhaps Swan or Pendlebury or Ball?
Our would that make us as bad as them?
Daisy Thomas ????????????????????? !!

bigcarl wrote:Should we return the favour next week, targetting perhaps Swan or Pendlebury or Ball?
Bakes on Ball usually, isn't it?

Teams used to be able to let Swan rack up 30 possies a game with no impact, but that's changed the last 12 months...Pendles too.

Collingwood know what they're doing, roughing Jones up, as he's the best tagger in the comp. Is an A-grade tagger = an a-grade midfielder? Probably not on paper, but bloody close. So, I'd have to say a trade for Jones would cost the opposition a first rounder easy.

Dont think so. Clubs arnt concerned he gets it 29 times.

Similar to Brady Rawlings or Michael Doughty

Good stopper.

Spinner wrote:Dont think so. Clubs arnt concerned he gets it 29 times.
I'm glad Freo weren't...Collingwood certainly are. Who looks stupid now?

Judging by the posts here, I would have thought that Tommy Walsh deserved that moniker. Anyone who has seen Clint play in the last three years would not underrate him.

degruch wrote:
Spinner wrote:Dont think so. Clubs arnt concerned he gets it 29 times.
I'm glad Freo weren't...Collingwood certainly are. Who looks stupid now?

Im sure they are terrified.

if Hayes, Monty or BJ had it 29 times... the result would have been a massacre

I don't think you can compare 29 outside possessions with what Jones gives, he gets the ball moving forward through traffic and in no space. It is a really difficult job and the guys that do it well are worth more than an outside mid. Goddard gets 29 off the backline with quite a bit of contested ball in there but he also gets a lot of loose ball. Lenny is a coal face player but can also get plenty of outside ball as well. Lenny's inside disposal is often messy but once released you know you will see him lay an instant tackle of quick handball out. 29 possessions for Jones are going to come mostly on top of a stopping job often with screens set on him by the opposition mids that knock the stuffing out of him. I stand by my comment very underrated, even by our fans.

CJ's speed, courage and willingness have won the hearts of many on here who seem to rate effort far more highly than they do skill. Some have him in their top 5 most weeks, which is silly: but not as silly as the suggestion that, if he wasn't required to play as a tagger he'd be able to play like Dane Swan!!

Skeptic is right: CJ's ball skills are barely of VFL standard. That's why he couldn't break into AFL until he was relatively old. He was lucky to find a sympathetic coach with a game plan that suits him.

had i think about 69% disp

but he gets plenty of it and most of the time uses it ok
ive never seen him handball clanger i reckon

as if youd chuck him up for trade
shesh
friggin workhorse stopper who gets plenty of it

Pace is more important than ever and CJ has it in spades. One of our more important players despite his atrocious disposal. I'd suggest he'd be one of the first players picked by Lyon, certainly when discussing matchups.