Fev: The Should or Shouldn't Debate

Fev in a Saints Jumper?

yes, no questions asked
5%
yes, with a serious water tight contract in case of idiotness
59%
nope, deadwood, a useless unfit loser
27%
maybe, i trust whatever the recruit dept does tho
9%

Total votes: 113

St Ick wrote:Hell yes, but with strict clauses. This is kind of a response to a few comments but I wont direct them, as its pretty obvious...

He had a year with rank delivery, with Melbourne players not looking for him playing second fiddle to Dees players... sounds a perfect fit for St Kilda.

The mention of J-Pod is an interesting one, I can see the similarities. Fev is in the top percentile of forwards, DH off field or whatever, but we deserve one last tilt for the next two years for Lenny, Roo etc. He is exactly what we need.

Why is it that 'we don't want another Lovett fiasco', but we are still kicking ourselves for not getting Cousins and we are praising Gardi for turning his life around with the Saints. I agree, once bitten twice shy, but we won't be giving up 500k a year and pick 16 for Fev. Risk vs Reward with Fev is in his favour.

Fev poison to a club? Serious? Teammates love him, he genuinely cares about fans and kids love him. From all reports everyone loves him, he just had a gambling/drinking/DH problem. Has he raped anyone? Beaten anyone up? Beaten women? Cheated? Illegal bets? Hung out with killers? Gotten underage girls preggas? Taken illicit drugs? Poison to a club thats a gross exaggeration.

Fev was playing a different role, not kicking heaps of goals but playing a team orientated game and he was criticised. He kicks a heap of goals in a month and he still is criticised. He is doing all he can in my opinion to get a spot on our list.

Finally, I'd much rather 50 games from an aging Fev and 150 goals as opposed to 100 from a Dean Polo.... now.. can we get Fev on our list in a similar way to how Collingwood got Krakwhore via GWS?
im with you. what is he actually done wrong? he has a gambling problem and some drinking issues.
he hasnt done much criminal. the whole good bloke/bad bloke stuff is miles overblown and highly subjective anyway. a footy club should be a broad church able to deal with these kinds of things. in any case after his fall from grace he is likely to be reformed any way.
with an ankle bracelet on (keep him away from the casino). he might be ok.
the fact he is a very very good player. people comparing him as a player to mcqualter are just being f_wits. he has 2 colemans FFS.

SainterX

I'm with the yays on this too, with conditions.

If he really wants to play again he will take a one year contract at close to minimum wage, so little ventured but hopefully plenty gained.

And the guy hates the colors black and white, so theres another plus :P

A true king doesn't glass his girlfriend.
A true king doesn't smear his blood on an opponent when he cannot break a tag.
A true king does not label umpires disgraceful.
A true king is Robert Harvey.

The other thing I thought I'd add to the arguement for Fev is didn't he sort of buddy up with Jonno Brown while up at the Lions? People said if he couldn't straighten him out noone could - but isn't JB like an ambassador for Greyhound racing and doesn't he own a few? And he loves a drink like most country boys, not a good influence for a bloke with a drinking/gambling issue... just thought i'd throw that out there.

I'd love to go for a big name like M Clark or Dawes, but in reality Fev is a lot more obtainable. And agreed with Con, to compare him to Mini is stupid.

Unforgiven

Yeah I'm all for it. Really we may have one more crack left in the tank with Lenny back and a little improvement in other area's (+some youngsters comming through).

I'd rather we take the risk and be embaresed by Fev doing something stupid. Than make another GF or Prelim in 2012 and go down in a close one thinking ''would a cheap fev have been the difference''.

I know it's not that easy and specific to put it down to one move, but I'm sick of 'what if's'. What if Lovett didn't do...., what if we got Cousins, etc. I just want a bloody flag, and if that means taking a risk of a douche, well really, after 4 lost GF's in my lifetime (many older folks have had more hardship than me) I just don't care about the risk, just do it.

Carpe Diem

Agree.

If Fev is going to behave anywhere it's likely to be here, considering he's wanted to play for us for so long. Surely you'd be on your best behavior if the club you've wanted to play for gives you a chance and you know it's your last chance.
I hope we're open to it. Getting Jolly and Ball helped deliver Collingwood a flag and getting Fev and Lenny and Gwilt back could help deliver us one.

He should never be in our jumper. Doesnt matter how cheap. He has no negative skills so he just wouldnt work in the forward line of an AFL club the way footy is played today.

taz

Worth a shot.

clear tight contract needed

Bardon Saint

Fev kicked 10 goals yesterday against the Northern Bullants. Good form!

did he play on jamison??

matrix wrote:did he play on jamison??
Kicked 4 on him first half,so good effort,make of that what you will

Fev will have a hell of a lot more interest than what some clubs are stating at the moment. Make no mistake about it.

Only 2 clubs that definitely won't take him. Brisbane and Carlton. Still think he is worth the risk. Getting a player of his calibre (one of the best kicks of the ball I have seen) for next to nothing? Really, it is a no brainer.

Tommy Walsh has a 10 year career ahead of him.

BakesFan

Fev's made it known how big a Saints fan he was as a kid.. he worshipped Banger.....and all through his AFL career he's had a soft spot for The Saints.

Throw him a lifeline with strict behavioural conditions in the contract... add a media clause (no Footy Show etc.)....

... Fev's indiscretions pale into insignificance when compared with Krakouer's (and 1/2 of the filth playing list).....

I've been a big fan of Gards since he joined the club, and it could be argued that Fev is 'cleaner' than the big fella was..... so I say give him a shot.

He could be the difference between winning or losing the 2012 Flag.

Dan Warna wrote:Tommy Walsh has a 10 year career ahead of him.
He may but not if we get Fev. No way the club would be that stupid.

plugger66 wrote:He should never be in our jumper. Doesnt matter how cheap. He has no negative skills so he just wouldnt work in the forward line of an AFL club the way footy is played today.

I am now convinced we should get him!

I could think of some funny conditions.
Maybe keep him in a cage apart from training and games - like hannibal lecter.
or an electronic bracelet that goes off when he goes near booze or casinos.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Maybe keep him in a cage apart from training and games - like hannibal lecter.

Then they wheeled him out in a straight jacket and the mask, through the banner, at every game! :lol:

stkfc1 wrote:
Then they wheeled him out in a straight jacket and the mask, through the banner, at every game! :lol:
It's the fava beans and nice cianti at the post match I'd be concerned about  :shock:

We just need to be creative with our contracting, say he gets $20,000 and a slab every time he kicks 12 goals in a game, $1000 for every tackle in the forward line or score assist. The guy needs his negative turned into a positive- factor little returns on performance and we all win.

gringo wrote:We just need to be creative with our contracting, say he gets $20,000 and a slab every time he kicks 12 goals in a game, $1000 for every tackle in the forward line or score assist. The guy needs his negative turned into a positive- factor little returns on performance and we all win.
But when he comes to pick up his wage does he choose "Take Winnings" or "Gamble"? :wink:

Pay it into his centre bet account -our sponsors win, we win.

St Lenny

Definately no, would be a backward step in my book.

groupie1

SydneySainter wrote:Yes, if he's cheap and the contract is watertight.

That being said, is there such a thing as a watertight contract? It's all very well to have a 'no d**khead' clause in the contract, but it all comes down to how you defy d**khead behaviour and I guarantee you something, the AFLPA will not be on our side.
He'll obviously be cheap to employ, but that means there's no need for watertightness in his contract. Cheapness IS watertightness. (You f*** up, and you won't play again, but you'll only walk away with your 50 grand).

I have a suspicion we should have gotten B Cousins under the same premise after the 2008 season. I reckon he might have won us that flag.

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga
groupie1

gringo wrote:We just need to be creative with our contracting, say he gets $20,000 and a slab every time he kicks 12 goals in a game, $1000 for every tackle in the forward line or score assist. The guy needs his negative turned into a positive- factor little returns on performance and we all win.
But when he comes to pick up his wage does he choose "Take Winnings" or "Gamble"? :wink:
Dude, it's ridiculous, but actually a great idea - $1000 for every tackle he lays. Actually, you could make it $5000 per tackle to really motivate him; and it won't cost you much, but you'll at least get the intensity from him.

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga