Heathens - The Movie

Wow, I was talking about this with some friends the other day. We wanted to know where we could acquire copy. Someone was going to borrow a copy from the RMIT Library.

You may have just saved us the trouble. You're a king among men, Macca.

Thank you so much for posting this :D

Sainternist wrote:Wow, I was talking about this with some friends the other day. We wanted to know where we could acquire copy. Someone was going to borrow a copy from the RMIT Library.

It was directed and shot by Megan Spencer.

Yeah its vulgar.

Not a massive fan. With some actual narration and even a hint of interviews you could make it into so, so much more.

Make the current Filth supporters seem human. Pity I actually recognise a few of those arseholes and they do still go to the footy today.

It's a genre of filmaking called guerrilla documentary. Had never heard of it or if I did, I have forgotten.

Bernard Shakey wrote:Make the current Filth supporters seem human. Pity I actually recognise a few of those arseholes and they do still go to the footy today.
Awesome...I want to sit with them!

Bernard Shakey wrote:Make the current Filth supporters seem human. Pity I actually recognise a few of those arseholes and they do still go to the footy today.
hahahahahaha... I actually recognise a lot of those faces myself. They are as feral as can be.
bigred wrote:Yeah its vulgar.

Not a massive fan. With some actual narration and even a hint of interviews you could make it into so, so much more.
Yeah, I would have gone for a different approach myself, instead of a more "fly on the wall" narrative. I guess this is from the perspective of someone who didn't know much (or anything) about footy and wanting to show this world of footy yobbodom to an audience who is unfamiliar.

Not sure if it would have inspired many people to go to their first footy game after watching it :lol:

Would be interesting to know about how Spencer's project came about though.
Sainternist wrote:Wow, I was talking about this with some friends the other day. We wanted to know where we could acquire copy. Someone was going to borrow a copy from the RMIT Library.

It was directed and shot by Megan Spencer.
Well, yes... I ought to be thanking the filmmaker as well.

Thank you, Megan... even if there's a good chance you didn't give permission for your documentary to go to youtube :lol:
Last edited by Sainternist on Sun 04 Sep 2011 11:38pm, edited 1 time in total.

jonesy wrote:
Awesome...I want to sit with them!
Join Collingwood.

roxanne

Loved the guy with the can in one hand, holding the little tranny to his ear with the other. 1996 wasn't that long ago (was it?) but now seems like the Dark Ages. Will always treasure my time in Bay 7.

"He spoke of his stride, his power and his willingness to push himself to exhaustion. All of the things that are on display each weekend in the No 12 jumper" Garry Lyon

roxanne wrote:Loved the guy with the can in one hand, holding the little tranny to his ear with the other. 1996 wasn't that long ago (was it?) but now seems like the Dark Ages. Will always treasure my time in Bay 7.
Was way before 1996.

roxanne wrote:Loved the guy with the can in one hand, holding the little tranny to his ear with the other. 1996 wasn't that long ago (was it?) but now seems like the Dark Ages. Will always treasure my time in Bay 7.
The footage is from 1991, but the production wasn't completed until 1996.

It really does seem like years ago that people were pressing wirelesses against their ears at matches.

P.S. AFL team headbands were a terrible look, weren't they? :lol:

markinUSA

No one answered my question.
Are these people on Saintsational?
It would help me get a sense of who they are, and their perspectives when they post.

"Don't give up, never give up" - Robert Harvey.
widereceiver

Sure, the language is poor and the minds bereft, but I miss Bay 7 and all the funny as hell comments I heard when we were, usually, copping a flogging by the good sides.

Compare that to my reserved seats at Eti, the homogenized bastard child of the AFL...

The passionless proles who sit around me would stand up to fart in the bath!

I yearn for the desperate days at Linton Street. But wait, there's local footy, they haven't stolen that...yet.

"Winning's not everything, it's the ONLY thing!" Vince Lombardi.
Sam Gilbert #1 booster - always on the attack!!!
Win more for Winmar

markinUSA wrote:No one answered my question.
Are these people on Saintsational?
It would help me get a sense of who they are, and their perspectives when they post.
yeah, i am also wondering the same thing.

perhaps they wsh to remain anonymous? :lol:

widereceiver wrote:Sure, the language is poor and the minds bereft, but I miss Bay 7 and all the funny as hell comments I heard when we were, usually, copping a flogging by the good sides.

Compare that to my reserved seats at Eti, the homogenized bastard child of the AFL...

I yearn for the desperate days at Linton Street. But wait, there's local footy, they haven't stolen that...yet.
Amen, brother!

This is a great nostalgia piece, that was 80s footy, before bogans had mc mansions and dual cab utes they had beer and umpire abuse. We have lost something pretending we like shopping for kitchen bench tops and blinds and buying poncy T shirts at chaddy. They were simpler times back then, I was too young to partake in such revelry and feel I missed a time of cleansing the soul by swearing for two hours every week. My era was mid to late 90s and they had already cleaned it up somewhat by then, actually Moorabin was still pretty feral just before we left. Bring back the fat guys with beards and Sweathog jackets and Careras not worn ironically I say.

Just watched all of it - enjoyed it!

I love how Barry is quiet at the start, listening with the earphone in, standing sedately. Then later he comes a raving maniac and Chook quietens down.

I may be inspired to write a new film script, perhaps a short, in which these guys are thrust into the current era and go to Etihad...

stevie wrote:I may be inspired to write a new film script, perhaps a short, in which these guys are thrust into the current era and go to Etihad...
you mean a sequel documentary film to its predecessor? or a fictional narrative piece based on those characters?

Sainternist wrote:
stevie wrote:I may be inspired to write a new film script, perhaps a short, in which these guys are thrust into the current era and go to Etihad...
you mean a sequel documentary film to its predecessor? or a fictional narrative piece based on those characters?
A fictional one. would be interesting seeing them react to the 'draconian' values at public events now.
Perhaps they would become Internet heroes to a new generation. I'll sleep on it tonight and do some brainstorming.

But your other idea is good too - a followup, 20 years on...

They'd be ejected after 17 seconds for yelling "BALLLLLLL"...... the entire bay would turn around and look in shock at someone raising there voice. Parents would book there children into councilling on the monday. The AFL will hold focus groups on how to eradicate people yelling "BALLLLL"

Someone should also complain about how they don't serve heavies in cans like they used to.

Those guys were so cool. I just want to be like them.

SaintPav wrote: Those guys were so cool. I just want to be like them.
I thought it was cool that they listened to Slayer \m/

reminded me of round 21 this year in different colours

35...LEGEND

[quote="widereceiver"]

quote]

:P :lol: :P :lol: :D :D

widereceiver wrote: The passionless proles who sit around me would stand up to fart in the bath!
So you have to carry on like a brainless moron to have passion?