ROSS DIDN'T DECEIVE US

IluvHarvey wrote: If you hate the board so much are you going to do something about it? Or just consistently moan about it on here?
Funny isn't it how others keep expressing other opinions and calling Ross Lyon every name under the sun!

How many threads have been started expressing that view?

HUNDREDS!

I post in half a dozen or so threads expressing a view that the board are the ones who showed their hand from the get go when they first renewed Lyon's contract and inserted GET OUT CLAUSES!

A back to back Grand Final coach and they then appoint Pelchen effectively saying we do not trust you!

And apparently they are blameless for anything and it's all about Lyon being a prick of a human being and a liar!

I'm pissed off, pissed off with the cabbages running the joint into the ground!

This club will be the next Port Adelaide because of these clueless clowns and you'll all be playing catch up venting in the years to come!

Just putting some early scoreboard pressure on before eventually weight of numbers will see these passengers removed!
Don't get me wrong I don't totally disagree with everything you are saying, just the fact you feel the need to write the same thing in every thread. It get's boring.

IluvHarvey wrote: If you hate the board so much are you going to do something about it? Or just consistently moan about it on here?
Funny isn't it how others keep expressing other opinions and calling Ross Lyon every name under the sun!

HUNDREDS!

I post in half a dozen or so threads expressing a view that the board are the ones who showed their hand from the get go when they first renewed Lyon's contract and inserted GET OUT CLAUSES!

A back to back Grand Final coach and they then appoint Pelchen effectively saying we do not trust you!

And apparently they are blameless for anything and it's all about Lyon being a prick of a human being and a liar!

This club will be the next Port Adelaide because of these clueless clowns and you'll all be playing catch up venting in the years to come!

Just putting some early scoreboard pressure on before eventually weight of numbers will see these passengers removed!

HUNDREDS!

Con Gorozidis wrote: so i cant see how they could have done anything different.
NOT INCLUDING GET OUT CLAUSES MIGHT HAVE BEEN THE VERY FIRST THING WHEN THEY FIRST EXTENDED THE CONTRACT!

CAPICHE!

Sainterman wrote:What if, buy some amazing turn of events, MN and the admin were hopeless?

Would you still be as happy to move on and not worry about what has gone on??
It wouldn't be out of the question, of course. Although, given their track record of running the club reasonably well, you'd have to suspect it's not high on the list. What RL did after he decided he wanted out was of such extraordinary bad character, and the post-Freo appointment spin so heavy, I'm suspecting those outside the club have more to explain than the club itself...that's the obvious opinion, I suppose.

On the other side of the coin, we have people claiming they know more than some of the rest of us, and a serial pest who's disgruntled with everyone from Kenny Whiffen up...it takes a leap of faith to join that brigade at the moment...not that it's out of the question.

Post-RL, the club has taken moves to appoint a new coach in a prudent manner and have done their best to at least deal with the aftermath appropriately...I don't see this as a stuff-up or a sackable offense.

Con Gorozidis wrote: so i cant see how they could have done anything different.
NOT INCLUDING GET OUT CLAUSES MIGHT HAVE BEEN THE VERY FIRST THING WHEN THEY FIRST EXTENDED THE CONTRACT!

CAPICHE!
Well thank God they did or we'd still be stuck with the flog :P

Halo

A simple Yes or No , Are you going to put you hand up to get on the board ??

If so I look forward to see how many votes you get ,

If not Shut up & stop repeating your own crap !!

gazrat wrote:.... this one's the boards fault , imo.

... preaching the 10 year plan , then inserting a get out clause ,
showed both sides where they stood.

... he was gone then .
... believing in the he was 'headhunted' story is for ron l hubbard fans.

he even had a 'convient' smokescreen /s to do his work behind.
... there's interest in following those leads.

theres been a bit of a doublepronged attack on our footy club , imo ,
... one mob , coz they could and coz we couldnt beat em , the second mob are pissed off.

THIS 8-) :) :wink:

CAPICHE!

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

... he was gone then .

... one mob , coz they could and coz we couldnt beat em , the second mob are pissed off.

yeah the board should have signed lyon up for 4 unconditional years at 1 mill a year when were were 1-1-8 or whatever we were even when he was contracted until end 2012 and they were in talks with his mgt. cos that is a prudent course of action. FFS.

in any case isnt the get out clause 6 month notice?
cant we sue him now? isnt he in breach as we speak?

... he was gone then .

yeah the board should have signed lyon up for 4 unconditional years at 1 mill a year when were were 1-1-8 or whatever we were even when he was contracted until end 2012 and they were in talks with his mgt. cos that is a prudent course of action. FFS.

Yep lets sue. That would be very good.

... he was gone then .

We don't tend to have much 'luck' in the legal department.

markp wrote:

... he was gone then .

We don't tend to have much 'luck' in the legal department.
Where do we have luck?

... he was gone then .

But by NOT sueing him, we're admitting that we're in the wrong...CLOWNS! SACK, SACK, SACK!!!

plugger66 wrote:Where do we have luck?
Round 6, 2004... the ball was clearly out on the full!

markp wrote:
plugger66 wrote:Where do we have luck?
Round 6, 2004... the ball was clearly out on the full!
Well we get a lot of luck then.

TWO & ONE HALF HOURS

If Luke Holmsby is to be believed, and I have no reason not to believe what he says Ross Lyon sent a text message to Michael Nettlefold & Craig Kelly at 2.30pm last Thursday stating that he agreed to the terms of the Contract Extension and was ready to sign. By 5.00pm on the same day, without any further dialogue with club or management he contacted Michael Nettlefold to say that he was "out of there" and was taking up an offer with Fremantle. That, to me is not RATIONAL BEHAVIOUR !!

Eastern wrote:TWO & ONE HALF HOURS

If Luke Holmsby is to be believed, and I have no reason not to believe what he says Ross Lyon sent a text message to Michael Nettlefold & Craig Kelly at 2.30pm last Thursday stating that he agreed to the terms of the Contract Extension and was ready to sign. By 5.00pm on the same day, without any further dialogue with club or management he contacted Michael Nettlefold to say that he was "out of there" and was taking up an offer with Fremantle. That, to me is not RATIONAL BEHAVIOUR !!
Well if the offer from Fremantle came in after the text message was sent at 2.30pm

with them offering an unconditional contract of 7.5 million a year

one more year

AND

FOUR MILLION DOLLARS MORE

Sounds like perfect rational behaviour to me!

What would you do?

Well if the offer from Fremantle came in after the text message was sent at 2.30pm

one more year

AND

What would you do?

He didnt want to stay. Nut and bolt of it.

Doesnt matter what the offer was. Doesnt matter when.

Compare him to Clarko. He was staying.

Lyon wasn't. He wanted to go...

one more year

AND

What would you do?
Changing your tune all of a sudden :roll:

Nobody has argued that he shouldn't accept the money.

But you reckoned in your OP that ROSS DIDN'T DECIEVE US.

Well unless you are calling Holnsby a liar and you know more (lol) than he does, Lyon texted a message accepting terms and then 2.5 hours later quitting.

If that isn't deception nothing, ever is.

Boy you back some absolute dud issues.

First RIX and now this.

barks, your credibility is totally gone. Let go and scurry back to the hole you crawled out of.

Mate you have made a complete dill of yourself.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Has anyone considered that Lyon himself demanded a get out clause as part of his contract?
After all the Get Out clause seemed to clearly favour him more than the club.
Interesting to hear Misson comment on going to Fremantle where he stated he couldn't just expect his wife and family to suddenly pull up stakes and move to the other side of the country on a whim, that's why he went to Melbourne, because he felt like another challenge etc.
I for the life of me can't see Ross going to his wife and kids suddenly last Thursday and saying, "Hey pack your bags we're moving to Perth."
If I was Mrs Lyon, I would not be impressed with an impulsive move, even for the extra money.

I'm not changing my tune at all sheep brain!

Possibly wanted to stay out of loyalty to the playing group BUT

I perfectly understand why Lyon would leave when a better offer comes along, when the coach was not already signed, sealed and secured ages ago!

He owed the board nothing after

they inserted GET OUT CLAUSES

maintained a frosty relationship for years

refused to sign a new contract offer

appointed Pelchen

etc...etc...

3rd generation saint wrote:Has anyone considered that Lyon himself demanded a get out clause as part of his contract?
THE BOARD INSERTED THEM!

3rd generation saint wrote:Has anyone considered that Lyon himself demanded a get out clause as part of his contract?
THE BOARD INSERTED THEM!
And thank God they did!

Smart people 8-)

3rd generation saint wrote:
Barks, maybe you should check your history regarding Seaford.
The announcement was made on 17 September 2008!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
About a year and a half after they got elected in late 06.
Also I remember they we're considering Casey Fields or Frankston long before the announcement was made, depended on which council was going to give them the best deal.
SO MAYBE YOU SHOULD GET YOUR FACTS STRAIGHT BEFORE PREACHING TO EVERYONE ELSE, hey all you had to do is Google it.

I have a very good memory so do not need to google

but thanks for unwittingly providing the Dorothy Dixer anyway

FACTS

Footy First were elected in 2007 and made the announcement about moving to Frankston almost immediately after being installed BUT never once mentioned it prior to the vote!

The process was very stop, start and for many reasons was delayed with the initial location of Frankston Park being ruled out.

Eventually Archie Fraser drove around the area looking for a vacant lot, found Belvedere Park and then managed to convince a vacant lot to agree to it

The official announcement of the move to Seaford was made about a year later... as you googled it, I'll take the date you supplied as being accurate!

SO MAYBE YOU SHOULD GET YOUR FACTS STRAIGHT AND MOST CERTAINLY BEFORE ADVISING ME OF ANYTHING IN BIG CAPITAL LETTERS!!!!!!!!!!

and while you're at it, GET A FAIR DINKUM CLUE!

By the way Butterss ruled out Frankston and Casey as options,

It was the then CEO Archie Fraser who was proposing this nonsense and he did not have the unanimous support of the previous board

Archie Fraser helped orchestrate/ initiated the move on Butterss then implemented his plan with the current board who he had helped to install!!!!!!!!!!