Gram up for Grabs

Spud
Location: Near the You Yangs, or as my wife used to call it, the Dugongs.

fingers wrote:If the deal is right then so be it.... I can't help but feel that Gram actually really loves St Kilda and I don't like seeing players like that leaving. Guess I'm getting soft in my old age.
I empathise with you mate, however Gram as been notorious for squibbing the hard ball and tackles, though he is an undeniably a good ball winner. If it means we can ease our salary cap pressures I'm for it.

saintspremiers wrote:What about getting Irish from Carlscum as a backup for Macca?
You mean Santa O'Hopeless?

For a 5th round pick id think about it

Hopefully kosi follows...

Maybe Gram will be better under a new coach? Thought he was pretty good last year.
However I understand the logic that everyone is looking for more wedge (especially the younger guys) and probably they've already got it (Armo and Steven).
At the end of the day I really don't want anyone to go.
If Gram did go I would expect Lynch to take his spot.

saintjake

Trade him for Edwards

Ralphy wrote:Hopefully kosi follows...
hopefully you follow.

Ralphy wrote:Hopefully kosi follows...
hopefully you follow.

Fine by me...

Gram to North for Hamish McIntosh?

Hurricane wrote:Gram to North for Hamish McIntosh?

Do it....do it

I think because we don't have a lot of young players and we have a lot of players that are already matured.. most of them need to have a decent pay. Think that could be a reason why we need to get rid of some because we don't have enough kids for them to be on low wages.

Really, in terms of list management it is also about VALUE.

Hence, while it was sad to lose Ball a couple of years ago, he was in the top 5 paid players at the club, whilst being only around 10-15 most important on the list. That is not smart list management.

IMO, similar is likely to be true for Gram. I suspect that he is on a fair $$, and for mine whilst I like him as a player, he has not come on as I had hoped after he won the Michael Tuck medal in the 2008 NAB Cup win. IMO that was his best game ever for the club was when. Yes he had a stellar GF in 2009, but he did not become the A grade mid that we hoped for - in the way that for instance Joey did (from a lower starting point).

IMO he was actually a better and more consistent player as a rebounding half back than he has been having spent more time running through the midfield. Towards the end of this year, I reckon Ross played him in more accountable roles on opposition small forwards and he did a good job. In the game vs the Swans IMO he was one of our better players.

However, I go back to the initial point. He's probably around 10-15 on the list and has, arguably, his best days behind him. As someone else pointed out, I agree that he loves the club and has good mates, however, it is a professional footy club - and it is for the likes of Pelchen to be making these sorts of calls - obviously without ruining the fabric of the place. Clearly the salary cap is an issue. People who whine about how we got into this sort of trouble are clueless as the Bombers had this trouble a decade ago, the Cats have lost players (GAblett and Mumford) and the pies look like they will lose players also. Hard call, but if it were to come down to say Gram, Raph or Gilbert, then that is the order I would be losing them in.

For mine, if he were to go to the Roos, then these are possible deals....

Gram + pick 42 (Saints 2nd round) FOR pick 18 (Roos first round)

If Roos won't give up their first round pick then....

Gram + pick 20 (Saints 1st round) FOR pick 18 (Roos 1st round) + pick 40 (Roos 2nd round)

dogs questioning ray's contract terms???...thought he was out of contract...

He we keep Gram just to s.hit barks :D :D

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
stkildathunda

stinger wrote:dogs questioning ray's contract terms???...thought he was out of contract...
But he has to sign a new contract if he goes elsewhere, might depend on what he wants.

Dal_Santos_Gal

I hope we keep Ray, I think he has been a REALLY good pick up for us.

In Ross Get lost!

I am excited to stay at St Kilda and this is a great result for the Club and all our fans. I’m proud to be part of the Saints and am pleased to be playing football with the Clubâ€

Ray is a good player who will benefit from a better coach - his best football was early on and RL slowly stifled him... IMO.

He can provide valuable run under a new more positive coach with a positive game plan.. a coach who will see his real worth.

Do it....do it
was mcintosh injured this year or just kept out by goldstein?

do they play a second ruck?

oh, and keep ray, he's only 25.

saintlee

I'd like us to keep Ray, think he's quite under-rated myself.

Not too fussed about trading Gram, Dawson, or Peake if the right deal comes up....

savatage wrote:
SainterK wrote: May be the best thing for him in the long run to get a fresh start somewhere.
Yep coz I guess getting traded once already didn't give him the kick in the arse he needed to pull his finger out consistently...
He was an injury prone saints fan in brissies best era who wanted to be traded to us.

samoht wrote:Ray is a good player who will benefit from a better coach - his best football was early on and RL slowly stifled him... IMO.

He can provide valuable run under a new more positive coach with a positive game plan.. a coach who will see his real worth.
Ray like gram has questionable skills and decision making. these are the type of guys we should be trying to off load if we need salary cap relief. raph another.
Last edited by Old Mate on Tue 11 Oct 2011 9:40am, edited 1 time in total.

Rosco wrote:

Do it....do it

Got hurt and then Goldsteins form kept him out of the team.

Rosco wrote:

Do it....do it

That would be win win. Injury restricted talented players who have lost some value. Just can't see the advantage to our cap.

The only issue i see with mcintosh is his age. hes from the same draft as roo and kosi and getting on. id prefer maric.

Be a shame to lose Peake IMO, had a really good last hgalf of the year, has the run in the last qtr to win games, valuable linkman and does alot of unrewarded work off the ball with his fitness.