International Rules 1st Test - Game Day thread

sainterinsydney

I totally agree that we handled Tommy Walsh very poorly, and I would prefer that he was still at the club. However, I'm glad we at least got something for him.

PakenhamSaint

Final score:
IRE: 5.17.5 (80)
AUS: 1.8.6 (36)

Tommy was very good tonight. Has a cool head. He broke up that fight when the Irish bloke was on the turf.
Thank you Ross Lyon. :evil:

PakenhamSaint wrote:Final score:
IRE: 5.17.5 (80)
AUS: 1.8.6 (36)

Tommy was very good tonight. Has a cool head. He broke up that fight when the Irish bloke was on the turf.
Thank you Ross Lyon. :evil:
Or the piss weak coward let his mates down?

GoTheTorp

Glad i dont watch this crap, sooner they p!ss it off the better

Walsh best on ground.

Thanks Ross :roll:

GoTheTorp

bigcarl wrote:Walsh best on ground.

Thanks Ross :roll:
Best on ground in what? a game of chess no doubt

ando051

Just got back from the game. We went there to support Milney. What a waste of time and money. As someone said earlier a team of "Who's That Player". Milney would of been on for a total of half a game if he was lucky. I will not be attending another game in the future i can find $45 each to waste on something else.

Rodney Eade strikes again :)

lol at everyone bitching about an unproven irishman, he went for the money that we just can't afford with the cap, wake up FFS.
If he proves to be something it won't be the clubs fault...and if he doesn't then some of you have wasted your breath.
PS Go the torp... mate you are a wanker.

If anyone is comparing that game to AFL is deluded. If it was so easy, there would be heaps of these guys playing here and doing well.

For Walsh to make it in the AFL as even a above average player, he would have to be the rare exception.

ando051, sorry you didn't enjoy it. I went to the game at Subiaco, in 2008 I think it was, and it was fantastic. The Aussies came back from a fair way behind and the crowd was really vocal; it was a great atmosphere. I think around 35,000 - 40,000 turned up which probably made the difference. I don't think the games are well supported in Melbourne, on TV it looked like only 15,000 or so were at Telstra Dome tonight and it will only be worse in the Gold Coast match :shock: They should have continued to play one of the Tests in Perth.

The match tonight was awful though. Poor selection for Australia really, Milne was the only quality player on the ground. I hardly even recognised most of the other players... mainly list cloggers for Richmond or the Gold Coast it seemed! Suckling was useless, not sure why he was persisted with when clearly he was not suitable. There should have been a tall centre half forward somewhere (like Goodes last year)... with this ball the key I think is to kick long and try and beat them in the air. Ground skills and finesse will never be Australia's strength with the round ball.

Milne looked like the most damaging for Australia - should have been given more time on the ground frankly. Walsh was outstanding for Ireland; I think we missed a trick there :(

The format is dead and buried.

Time to kill it off. Another relic of a past era.

Tommy should perhaps go back to Ireland and stick to his native wanky game or if he wants to stay in Oz maybe join the A-League.

there is no contested ball with the round ball. what a donkey's nut of a game.

yeah Walsh looked good but AFL is another ball game.

not only do I want ungrateful Walsh to be a major muck up, but found a new deep hatred for Sydney.

no integrity thieving termites.

star is born pick 35.

The whole systerm is so flawed its not funny

The Irish side have 4 players adept at both forms of the game at the highest level..we have none..cos how many AFL players abandon their careers to go play Gaelic footy...

The selection policy was a thinly disguised farce. We have to pick a side from the remaining players who arent in hospital, away overseas, cant get up after a big season etc etc. The Irish bring gun players even though its not even the end of their season over there

Put Judd, Franklin, Ablett, Pendelbury and Dal into that side and you might have seen a different result..but you'll never see the A listers playing, cos much as they wont admit it publically, the Clubs dont want them playing....so we get a side "custom picked for the unique aspects of this game" Yep Richard Douglas would definately be better at International Rules than BJ or Swan lol :roll:

"Don't start the rough stuff or we'll go home and not come back again"
they do the hard hitting..... and now when Aussies reply next week-- we'll get the.....oh but..

"and We'll take our round Ball with us"

the advantage they get with round ball at end of their season is great... play it with our ball and see what happens
dissapointing result.

Not sure I thought Walsh was that exciting, I thought the commentators did their best to pump him up and mention how much saints fans will be hurting. Can't wait to see if he kicks more goals than Saad or Milera next year.

My guess is he will still play a fair bit out at pennant hills or where ever they play up there. Jesse White mark II.