Intra Club Pre-season Match

Re: Intra Club Pre-season Match

Eastlink to frankston freeway. Turn left at Seaford rd. Then left again just before the shops ( opposite the pub.). I think its called ti-tree rd. 300m and you're there

Remember to lock your doors and take valuables with you.

DK27 wrote:Hi Forumites.
I am going down to the practice match tomorrow morning with my 3 year old and elderly Dad and curious about parking and how to get there from the City. Which turn off on the East Link etc. and where to park to minimise walking would be great please.
I will post a report and maybe photos.
Cheers.

There's only on street parking , which means you may have to drop them off and then find a car park .
I suspect this is also why the game is not scheduled for later in the day as a crowd of more than 500 will probably cause a traffic jam .

DK27 wrote:Hi Forumites.
I am going down to the practice match tomorrow morning with my 3 year old and elderly Dad and curious about parking and how to get there from the City. Which turn off on the East Link etc. and where to park to minimise walking would be great please.
I will post a report and maybe photos.
Cheers.

I usually drive down beach road- Nepean hwy- and turn left into Seaford rd then after I cross the Frankston Freeway or you could take the Frankston Freeway and turn off at Seaford Rd turn left and then right into east rd- and club is just past the Seaford Primary school
http://maps.google.com.au/maps?q=east+r ... 0&t=m&z=15

I'm planning to go along, if anyone want to come and introduce themselves and perhaps have a chat about the forum, I'll be wearing a home jumper with no 8 on the back and an old school Saints cap.

See you there!

Note: Preferably during the quarter breaks!

Ross who?

It is amazing how much easier it is to wake up to go watch our beloved Saints, than it is to go to work!

I hope that we see somebody unexpected put their hand up. One of the First year players perhaps? Maybe a Stanley or a Winmar? Not sure what effect he will have, as he may have limited game time perhaps, but I am also looking forward to seeing L.Hayes go around again.

I have seen a few Intraclub games now, you can always get a feel for how the players are going. Somebody will come out of it demanding to be selected, who probably wasn't in most peoples best 22 beforehand.

I will write a report later on when I get home. GO SAINTS :D

Blake Acres fan club VIP

Game underway....from the Twitter reports so far...Milera has kicked a goal, Kosi is playing on Wilkes, Mac vs Blake in the ruck..Fisher at FB Stanley at FF

DWOODROW

Any more updates?

Constant ones on here DW

http://www.truesainters.com/truesainter ... 97#post997

Not just because Gilbo is playing on Roo today, but because there has also been a few pics of him with Max and on forwards at training....do you reckon he is going to be our FB?

Just got back. I watched 3.5 5ths or whatever format they were playing? Seemed to be 3 20's,then 2 10's...left at the start of the 5th.

Just casual observations,so don't read too much into them,especially being there first hit out on a wind swept paddock (think the 9.30am start may have been taking into account the 25knot south easterly we get down here every afternoon also,would of been unwatchable)

Lenny- Looks rusty understandably. Started to work his way into the game the longer it went. I'm not expecting him to be the Lenny of old early on,he looks a bit off it still.

The guns- did there usual thing

Crocker- seemed to get a lot of it,or was it just me?

Cripps- plenty of it

Ledger- Bullterrier

The main talking point at the ground was who is number 60? Wasn't on the team sheeets,so might be a zeb? Has to be the biggest unit in footy,the size of Black Caviar

Sipposs- Nothing we didn't know,but...massive kick! Bulked up a bit also

Stanley- Dissapointing,drops marks he should take
Kosi- Struggled

A lot of the young kids out to impress would get really dissapointed with a turn over

BJ banter back to the umpire was amusing when he gave away a free kick.
"got to have eyes for the ball Brendan"
-BJ- "Got to touch him first"...he clearly touched him

Crowd of about 4-500 I guess,hate to see parking if it was 4000

Went down for a look, my observations
Markworth is going to be a player, tall, extremely quick has all the time in the world when he gets it
Lenny is a gun!!!! his in close work at centre bounces is so important to us
Saad is lightning quick and hard at it a real excitement machine
Cripps and Ledger will definitely be in the starting 22 from round , both looked great, Cripps off half back and Ledger in the middle/half forward.
Winmar looked great in the first quarter but then took a hit to the guts and went off, didn't see him return
Stanley is no where near it, he shows no urgency or intensity, very disappointing
Crocker got a lot of it, he is a ball of muscle, played on the wing and gave Polo a decent old bath
Wilkes at FB was very good, he is a good sized unit and is a great kick
Simpkin was also very good at FB not sure if he is big enough for some of the big power forwards but he showed good signs

bloody stanley is pissing me off
always big wraps on him and then all reports say he looks average

sen reporting winmar left the field with blood all over him and was knocked out (??!!)
so who was there and what really happened?

I'm not sure what Stanley has ever done to warrant the wraps...

IMO he wont make it, and has shown nothing to suggest he will..

Brookes was a far far better player, and was one of the most maligned player on these boards and amongst Saints fans..

The opposite is true for Stanley..

I've far more faith in Archer stepping up...

Thanks to all for the reports... Looking forward to more filtering through during the day.

matrix wrote:bloody stanley is pissing me off

sen reporting winmar left the field with blood all over him and was knocked out (??!!)
running with the flight of the ball ran straight into a team mate coming the other way, he as holding his stomach and on all fours. I didnt see any blood but it was on the opposite flank. He was very good in the first qtr before this

StNoodles

BringBackMadDog wrote:Went down for a look, my observations
Markworth is going to be a player, tall, extremely quick has all the time in the world when he gets it
Lenny is a gun!!!! his in close work at centre bounces is so important to us
Saad is lightning quick and hard at it a real excitement machine
Cripps and Ledger will definitely be in the starting 22 from round , both looked great, Cripps off half back and Ledger in the middle/half forward.
Winmar looked great in the first quarter but then took a hit to the guts and went off, didn't see him return
Stanley is no where near it, he shows no urgency or intensity, very disappointing
Crocker got a lot of it, he is a ball of muscle, played on the wing and gave Polo a decent old bath
Wilkes at FB was very good, he is a good sized unit and is a great kick
Simpkin was also very good at FB not sure if he is big enough for some of the big power forwards but he showed good signs
Cheers for the report mate.

Who was Simpkin on? Kosi?

StNoodles

BringBackMadDog wrote:
matrix wrote:bloody stanley is pissing me off

running with the flight of the ball ran straight into a team mate coming the other way, he as holding his stomach and on all fours. I didnt see any blood but it was on the opposite flank. He was very good in the first qtr before this
Seems to get injured a lot, but also seems to throw himself into the contest from what I've seen. Bad/Good.

Seemed to be a focus on longer kicking and not over possessing forward of centre.

Here's my lowdown on each player:

1 Gram: provided a lot of run, good performance
2 Siposs: has added bulk, and like last year didnt do much but what he did he did well. Slotted a nice goal from 40
3 Steven: solid contributor through the midfield
4 Jones: went ok, sprayer a few kicks
5 McEvoy: dominant big man on the ground, took some nice grabs, could become a genuine gun this year
6 Ross: very impressive, busy in the midfield
7 Hayes: limited game time, a bit rusty, perhaps leaner than previously
8 Clarke: did not play, ran laps and did handball still
9 Crocker: had a fair bit of it. Raking left-foot in action a fair bit
10 Markworth: didn't do much but showed some of his sublime skills
11 Montagna: one of the best, racked up touches
12 Riewoldt: played forward on Gilbert and then moved forward. Involved but not dominant
13 Schneider: did not play
14 Geary: player down back on Saad, did a reasonable job but kicking was poor
15 Ledger: relatively quiet in midfield rotation
16 Newnes: like Ross impressed in his ability to win the footy. Very composed
17 Winmar: off early after knock
18: Goddard: not a great game in the middle
19 Gilbert: did a sound job on Riewoldt. Looks like he will play as a key backman
20: Armitage: moderate impact around the ground
21: Saad: hit his straps late with some great run after slow start. Very pacy
22: Ray: pretty quiet at half back
23 Koschitzke: well held by Wilkes
24 Dempster: excellent game floating across half back. Good both defensively and offensively
25 Fisher: solid as ever down back
26 Dal Santo: A class above, skills shone 
27 Blake: Beaten by McEvoy in ruck, pretty rusty
28: Stanley: soundly beaten at ff by Simpkin
29: Webster: did not play
30: Peake: not particularly influential but hasn't lost any pace
31: Simpkin: nullified Stanley and marshaled defence authoritatively
32: Milera: not sighted much after an early goal, massive vertical leap though. Incredibly skinny
33 Gwilt: did not play
34 Polo: usual self down back, fought hard but skills let him down
35 Cripps: liked his game a lot, won the footy, provided run and used it well
36 Lever: did not play, bandaged leg, walking laps, very skinny, long way off it
37: Wilkes: absolute man mountain, fought valiantly to beat Kosi and help teammates
38: Dunell: not sighted all that much
39: Shenton: impressed on the odd occasion he got the footy
40: Staley: never in it, lightly framed
41: Minchington: minimal impact
42: Archer: didn't do a great deal but better than Kosi and Stanley
43: Curren: impressed with his clearance work, looks a chance to be elevated 
44: Milne: worked through midfield/forward line and was solid
45: Ferguson: quiet down back
46: Andreoli: played in the back line and didn't do a great deal

photos up
http://www.aflphotos.com.au/galleries/r ... ection:AFL 2011 Training - St Kilda 100212&image_id=247588
oops forgot to build a Coaches box

H&S :wink:

Look Mum They let me have the Ball

Siposstar#2

On a windy day down at seaford it was hard to get a gauge on the new gameplan with so many turnover. Although there was a clear emphasis on getting the ball moving quicker! At stages the sandringham players frustrated me as the ball would be moving nicely down a wing, all of a sudden a sandy player got it turned around and just bombed it!
Milera showed poise when he had the ball, which wasn't very often but in fairness was hard to rack up a lot of posesions today. The highlight of the day was the first goal for mine, with a quick handball out of the centre to ledger who ran 10 metres tried to hit up (I think markworth,possibly newnes) good spoil from behind, ball hits the deck, then siposs' urgency at the ball was amazing dived in picked it up gave off a lightning quick handball to Milera ran to 30 faked a kick evaded his opponent and snapped the goal! A great goal by our young brigade!
Players to watch!

Seb Ross - always in a good posistion to get the pill! Probly close to most touches today
His only problem was although he seemed to always use the right option by hand he kept handballing to his team mates feet! Easy fix! Won't be surprised if he starts rd 1!

Tom ledger - attack attack attack the footy! Is how he plays! Turned the ball over by foot a bit! But everyone did today! Really like him!

Arryn siposs - as we all saw last year this kid will be a gun, has so much poise with the footy and a penetrating kick

Daniel markworth - he got better and better as the match went on, as a previous poster said had plenty of time when he got the footy, just didn't panic at all- set up about 3 goals! Could be a suprise selection rd 1 if he weren't so skinny, although similar build to heppel!

Lenny Hayes - barely played. But dont worry about him to much, tackling as good as ever, even sneaked in a signature Lenny Hayes sidestep!

Nicholas winmar - has one of the best kicks at the club and found plenty of it early before going off! Worry is he seems to really come off badly from bumps! Happened a few times in his game last year also. Has bulked up

Ahmed saad - barely touched it! Not much to go on though as was a really congested game and couldn't spot up fast runners breaking the lines due to the wind!

Hope this gives you a bit of a indication of the match! Would have typed more but on my phone and it's pissing me off to type so much on it! Go saints!!!

Formerly posted as magnifisaint 35

Thanks greatly to the reporters! Great read

millarsaint wrote:Thanks greatly to the reporters! Great read
Absolutely...

Great run down...

Feel slightly silly hanging onto every word written as though its mid season, but right now, any footy news re. saints onfield will do..

Thanks.

My impressions we're that it was very pleasing to see the newer players providing the highlights.
Seb Ross, impressive.
Arryn Sipposs showed talent.
Sam Crocker, when he got the ball, a penetrating left foot kick went deep into the forward line to a player.
Heath Ledger, has bulked up and looked very good.
Jack Newnes showed great potential.
Ahmed Saad very fast and exciting
Daniel Markworth, keep an eye on this kid, can mark, kick, run fast and score goals.
Of the others, thought Armo played well, and actually looked a little quicker, Big Ben was the best big man on the ground.
All in all a good hit out with no injuries.
Oh and the most pleasing thing I saw was when I just got there, Lenny breaking out of the pack and delivering the ball up th field.
Got a chance for a quick chat with Tom Simpkin, Arryn Sipposs and Rhyss afterwards, all seemed pretty excited about this year as they felt there was going to be more opportunities for the young blokes providing they earn their spot.
Also some said that big number 64 was Jay Lever, if it is, he is one big unit, bigger than Ben, if he isn't Jay Lever who is he, because if he is young, he is going to be a monster as he put's more muscle on.
I'm actually starting to feel a little excited about the year, think we may just surprise a lot of people, it certainly seems a much happier club down there compared to this time next year.
I've already had the New York Giants win it all, hope the Saints can give me a happy double.

In my view Tommy Ledger was BOG today - absolute terrier. We have a really exciting midfield developing. Lenny is back, Seb Ross is a younger Lenny - very very good. Joey and Dal were themselves, throw in Stevens and Armo and with Grammy playing thru there a bit also - we look quicker, cleaner and hungry in the middle. Winmar came off after colliding with the mammoth Beau Wilkes who did not feel a thing!! He is a big man who will be hard to outposition in marking duels. The windy conditions hampered the skills a bit - but they were all a bit rusty.

Milera - reminded me of watching a young Winmar playing back in 1987 - he will be exciting.

Saad - looks very good. He just needs to get used to the tempo and get his confidence up.

Ross - what a gun he will be. Lenny mark 2.

Markworth - he looks like another Dal.

Also young Cameron Shepworth looks like a footballer.

Very happy to see our captain fit, happy and tearing around like a new recruit - he will have a great year, took one telling mark dropping back with the flight - vintage roo.

We are up and about ppl.