Thank Goodness we dodged this bullet

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/b ... 1v25y.html

Laughable that they refer to his mass ongoing ingestion of narcotics as 'his misfortune'. Misfortune is having an accident, getting cancer, a loved one dying, getting an illness etc.

Cousins deserves little sympathy and glad that we turned down this drug cheat at St Kilda.

The AFL never wanted to investigate his cheating as WCE because it is possible and likely that his match day form was influenced.

Its no wonder they refer to their premiership as 'icing on the cake'

Re: Thank Goodness we dodged this bullet

Why did you need to make a thread about this Dan? Bradbury made a stupid and badly timed comment in the heart of Eagles (Cousins) land. Deserves his whack.

Faarken hell. Get off your high horse would you? Life is not black and white, and people are far from it. One man's struggles don't deserve another's smug sanctimonious preacher wannabe remarks, jumping all over it like a Grade Two teacher on an errant runny nose.

Poor form mate. Find somewhere else to direct your holy energies. :roll:

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo

Don't agree with that....ben didnt use performance enhancing drugs, recreational drugs yes. And he is unfortunately an addict. Secondly he was tested over 100 times and never returned a positive in season test as he never with wce. We lost a couple of gf's by a whisker, would the composure of a 250 game premiership four times b&f multiple all Australian brownlow veteran player....we will never know

One things for sure, Richmond don't regret recruiting him for zero cost.

Dodged a bullet, don't see how.. I couldn't care if he did crack everyday after helping win us a flag, even if he got caught whilst playing with us, what would be the cost

It's not like we would have used a first round draft and 1 million dollars in our cap and never wearing the jumper.... Oh wait, we did that....

Ben can f*** his own health, his choice.... Bashing and taking advantage of women another. Least Ben gave a s*** about footy, his team and his performance.... He had runs on the board.

A pointless thread. Bradbury is a very lucky fool.

Still say we shouldve taken Cousins. We didnt bat deep enough nor had the run and carry via the midfield he offered and in 2009 I reckon he'd have been enormous alongside Hayes on a GF stage......

Whale oil beef hooked......teffers, we agree on something.

SaintPav wrote:A pointless thread. Bradbury is a very lucky fool.
+ 1- the story is about bradburys joke and the OP turns it in to a tirade about cousins being "bad".
he is not a cheat. just a naughty boy. remember chris mainwaring died. so a dumb joke and no need to get stuck into cuz.
the joke would be fine amongst mates. but probably didnt choose his audience well.

Teflon wrote:Still say we shouldve taken Cousins. We didnt bat deep enough nor had the run and carry via the midfield he offered and in 2009 I reckon he'd have been enormous alongside Hayes on a GF stage......
Why do I get this mental image from "The Club" with the prize recruit having turned up as high as a kite on match day and standing oblivious to the play, gazing up into the sky fascinated by the flight of a bird.

StKilda is not a charity. We didn't need the issues Cousins would have brought for no return.

Thought Bradbury's joke was a ripper :D :D
Perhaps not the right crowd or perhaps he wanted to get a dig in that their premiership was somewhat less than wholesome!

Dan Warna wrote:http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/b ... 1v25y.html

Laughable that they refer to his mass ongoing ingestion of narcotics as 'his misfortune'. Misfortune is having an accident, getting cancer, a loved one dying, getting an illness etc.

Cousins deserves little sympathy and glad that we turned down this drug cheat at St Kilda.

The AFL never wanted to investigate his cheating as WCE because it is possible and likely that his match day form was influenced.

I would hope none of your family ever get this sickness. Talk about high and mighty. Never done anything stupid in your life.

You can't cut out the Richmond version and simply paste him into the St Kilda lineup, doesn't work like that.

He admits himself that St Kilda rejecting him was part of his wakeup call.

Would of got the unrepentant version at the start of the doco, not the meek and contrite one at the end of it.

He needed to think his career was over IMO.

On a side note, I hope he overcomes his issues, and I hope his kid grows up with a healthy dad.

Don't take Steve Bradbury too seriously, he was the benefactor of others misfortune.....

Ben cousins will be remembered by me as a star footballer, he rates with the very best.....his work rate as legendary as our own great.

Richmond didn't need any issues from cuz, luckily most of his output at punt road was positive and productive for the tiges

Lol'd at Bradbury's joke however WTF Dan? Strange OP. Its not even relevant to the artical.

Gotta say I have little sympathy for junkies. My sympathy goes to their family and those close to them.

At least The Aged didn't go with this headline "Ben Cousins joke gets icy reception"

BigMart wrote:Richmond didn't need any issues from cuz, luckily most of his output at punt road was positive and productive for the tiges
Thats the only FACT we do know of with Ben Cousins.

Richmond gave him an opportunity. Not ONCE did he betray that trust or breach any AFL drugs policy.

The so called "Cousins psychologists" telling us it wouldnt have worked at St Kilda cause they "just know mentally Ben needed a wake up call" make me laugh.

Ben Cousins needed football. He got that and re-paid the Tigers faith (from all reports his work with their younger players was exemplary...something our youngsters couldve used IMO).

Oh did I mention his disposal and ability to hit a target AND kick a goal wouldve been handy GF day??.....I mean Ben Cousins or Robert Eddy?....you do the math as the great man says..

I would hope none of your family ever get this sickness. Talk about high and mighty. Never done anything stupid in your life.
its not a sickness, its an addiction.

he chose to do it.

Ice can be a stimulant hence its a banned substance. Even the AFL admits as does cousins, the testing was a joke.

I feel sorry for those who have to deal with drug abusers, the police, the medical staff, their families and friends. I don't feel sorry for them.

Dan Warna wrote:

he chose to do it.
Extremely limited point of view, this one.

If we were still burning them on the stake, you'd be stoking the flames you cretin.

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Last edited by Quixote on Wed 14 Mar 2012 10:37pm, edited 1 time in total.

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo

BigMart wrote:Don't agree with that....ben didnt use performance enhancing drugs, recreational drugs yes. And he is unfortunately an addict. Secondly he was tested over 100 times and never returned a positive in season test as he never with wce. We lost a couple of gf's by a whisker, would the composure of a 250 game premiership four times b&f multiple all Australian brownlow veteran player....we will never know

Dodged a bullet, don't see how.. I couldn't care if he did crack everyday after helping win us a flag, even if he got caught whilst playing with us, what would be the cost

It's not like we would have used a first round draft and 1 million dollars in our cap and never wearing the jumper.... Oh wait, we did that....

Ben can f*** his own health, his choice.... Bashing and taking advantage of women another. Least Ben gave a s*** about footy, his team and his performance.... He had runs on the board.

How would his hamstrings have copped with all that grand final pressure?

Snap.

BigMart wrote:Don't agree with that....ben didnt use performance enhancing drugs, recreational drugs yes. And he is unfortunately an addict. Secondly he was tested over 100 times and never returned a positive in season test as he never with wce. We lost a couple of gf's by a whisker, would the composure of a 250 game premiership four times b&f multiple all Australian brownlow veteran player....we will never know

Snap.
If I weigh that risk against the impact on a game he offers over a Mqualter or Eddy.....Im gonna take the risk....when Hayes got sat on by Bartel in 09......who else in the midfield really came to the fore?

What a odd thread. Life Nimbat

Snap.
If I weigh that risk against the impact on a game he offers over a Mqualter or Eddy.....Im gonna take the risk....when Hayes got sat on by Bartel in 09......who else in the midfield really came to the fore?

Dunno havnt watched the replay...

Probably work out the same way.. Considering Cousins would be injured unable to cope with playing more than 22 games and having done his hammy already twice.

I think he would have handled the pressure ok.......been there twice already, in probably two of the most pressure packed gf's in recent memory....

I think his greatest benefit would not have been his skill, but his experience and composure...which leads to sound decision making under pressure.....something we lacked whilst dominating the first half of GF 2009.

Argue all you like, but deep down we cannot seriously suggest or believe that
1. He wouldn't have made our GF teams
2. He wouldn't have made a difference

As Teflon said, there is one bloke he surely could of done more than.

Spinner you dont pick sides with crystal balls on who "may" "may not" do a hammy.

Fit and available Id take Ben Cosuins into a GF over Robert Eddy/Mqualter.

Fair enough if you see it otherwise.

Dan Warna wrote:

he chose to do it.

Ice can be a stimulant hence its a banned substance. Even the AFL admits as does cousins, the testing was a joke.

I feel sorry for those who have to deal with drug abusers, the police, the medical staff, their families and friends. I don't feel sorry for them.

It's a sickness of the soul Dan. Never had any kind of addiction yourself? Yep it was his choice......but when in the grip of an addiction it can feel like you have no choice...
Compassion needed. Slagging him or any addicts off helps no one at all......very narrow hard hearted view Dan.

hungry for a premiership

Ignorant view is what it is.

Having said that, I agree with the point that Cousins was on the gear during his playing career, including the '05 GF, and that the AFL are turning a blind eye.

Funny joke by Bradbury, by the way, but totally inappropriate.

"Too big, too strong, too whatever."

The guy was a gun. A man's man. A footballers footballer. Arguauably one of the games greatest players for his position. Used to love watching him play in his prime when it wasn't against us.