armo

armo

playing his best game to date

Re: armo

Yep, sounds like Tank is playing a ripping game.

snoopygirl

Took a great mark in the first quarter too.

Faded a little, but I thought in the context of the game, nearly everyone had a moment of being the guy.

Last two weeks have been great, really looking forward to him proving that two inside mids can rotate in a side...and however much we all disagreed with him playing forward last year, it's given him a good goal sense.

He's fun to watch the way he barrels in head first. Good game for 3 quarters tonight and looked the player who led the midfield against the Hawks in Tassie a few years ago.

I like the way he is a hard penetrating kick, especially inside 50.
His kick to Milney for a goal in the last was very good.
As Gerard said on the telecast, I wish he could get his possies up to 25 a game and he would be a real asset.

doggerel

Agree with everything said. Playing with great guts and flair

St Kilda Social Club member since 1996

the last quarter was junk !
intensity was down as everyone was trying not to get hurt . we had a six day break , now another six day break to the freo game .
we took it easy
Great game armo

gringo wrote:He's fun to watch the way he barrels in head first. Good game for 3 quarters tonight and looked the player who led the midfield against the Hawks in Tassie a few years ago.
Both Armo and Steven looked good in that game and Steven looked really good up forward...they were both dropped however and it seemed like Lyon had made his mind up that they were'nt going to play the week folowing. I don't think they got another lookin that year...yeah uhhhhm both were not ready and had no tank and were way too young to take Dempster's spot...and they had bad groins

Scollop wrote:
gringo wrote:He's fun to watch the way he barrels in head first. Good game for 3 quarters tonight and looked the player who led the midfield against the Hawks in Tassie a few years ago.
Both Armo and Steven looked good in that game and Steven looked really good up forward...they were both dropped however and it seemed like Lyon had made his mind up that they were'nt going to play the week folowing. I don't think they got another lookin that year...yeah uhhhhm both were not ready and had no tank and were way too young to take Dempster's spot...and they had bad groins
Careful there Scollop
that's the Messiah you're questioning!

Riewoldt and Goddard to live up to their reputations ,Clarke and Ray to defy theirs in 2012!

Nice to get an opportunity.......

He's too slow, can't kick, isnt fit enough...... What about the fact he can actually play footy

And let him string a few together playing where he plays best.....

His best game for the club I thought. He looked tough and dangerous

Good to see a few of the young guys responding to having some faith shown in them.

maverick wrote:I like the way he is a hard penetrating kick, especially inside 50.
His kick to Milney for a goal in the last was very good.
As Gerard said on the telecast, I wish he could get his possies up to 25 a game and he would be a real asset.
Really loved his game tonight and they gave him one vote on the radio, which was well earned. I was also especially impressed with his penetrating kicking. It was very noticeable.
As for the 25 possies, he would get them easily if he was playing mainly in the middle, but I think he's still playing mainly up forward.

maverick wrote:As Gerard said on the telecast, I wish he could get his possies up to 25 a game and he would be a real asset.
If he played in the centre on Matty Boyd he'd get thirty a game. He's doing far more valuable work forward of the centre right now. 6 i50s and 3 goal assists to go along with his goal. Possessions be damned.

From the vantage point of the game I thought that was one of the best games that Armo has played for us. What I liked this game was his execution. Let us hope that we look back tonight as being the game where he truly "arrived".

It would not surprise me if Watters was extremely delighted with Armo's game as he seemed to be in all the right places and particularly early in the game when it was still a hard contest.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Sun 15 Apr 2012 5:14pm, edited 1 time in total.

Scollop wrote:Both Armo and Steven looked good in that game and Steven looked really good up forward...they were both dropped however and it seemed like Lyon had made his mind up that they were'nt going to play the week folowing.
nope. armo played the next two games after that. steven was emergency the next week, but he didn't actually do that much in his first game in tassie and we had to find spots for hayes, baker, montagna, riewoldt, goddard, gilbert, fisher and dal santo. not sure who you would have left out for him.

St Loxton

Great game by Armo, has genuinley a deadly left foot, has always been a good finisher around the goals.
Is making better decisions now when he wins the hard ball.
We do need himself and Jack to assist the Lendog in contested possession and tackling.
Best game from him for quite a while.
Well done young fella.

He's probably picked up votes twice this season, has picked up votes in the past..... He has been trying to 'arrive' since 2009

It's the likes of Armo and others (Steven, Geary, Polo) that need to lift if the team is to move ahead. It's good to see. Let's hope that they can maintain their great efforts.

BigMart wrote:He's probably picked up votes twice this season, has picked up votes in the past..... He has been trying to 'arrive' since 2009
Agree, reckon he got himself the 1 brownlow last week, and probably 1 or 2 this week (may fall behind Lenny/Boyd who were also under the umps noses)

armo is really playing well! top stuff to watch.
where is dwoodrow? still trying to catch that big marlin?

Yes great game David - now the test is to back it up week after week with the same effort !

http://www.insidefootballonline.com/news2.html
Armitage was surprised by the extent of the win over the Western Bulldogs last weekend.
"We prepared all week for a nice hard contest and early on it was," he said.
"(But) we applied massive pressure and got some turnovers and kicked some goals."
For the Saints it was all about getting a good start.
"That was the focus all week, coming in from the start and making an impact," he said.
Armitage certainly did that on a personal level with a big opening quarter.
"That's two good first quarters in a row I have had and now I've got to keep going and keep building consistency," he said.
"I'm going into my sixth year now. You go up and down and play a good game and then play an average one. It's time to really put a stamp down and be consistent."
Over summer he has worked on his speed with new fitness chief Peter Burge.
"I've also done a lot of leg weights and squats, that kind of thing, to build a bit more power to be quicker over the ground," Armitage said.
Friday night's home game against Fremantle will herald the return of ex-Saints coach Ross Lyon, who departed in the off-season in dramatic fashion.
"It doesn't matter who's coaching," Armitage said. "We'll focus on what we've got to focus on."

Most impressive thing was Armitage's "spread" - his run and carry and ability to win the ball and then also receive wide was as good as it's ever been in any game that he has played with us.