The boy from Lorne

Re: The boy from Lorne

In four weeks I have a lovely trip along the Great Ocean Road to Warrnambool for a function.

The highlight of said trip?

It has to be Jack's home town surely.

Ararat has a sign at the start of town saying "Home of Shane Kelly".

Great Western has a sign saying "Home of Kerryn Manning".

I will be devastated if Lorne doesn't recognise our boy in a similar way.

Iceman234 wrote:In four weeks I have a lovely trip along the Great Ocean Road to Warrnambool for a function.

Pretty sure they are planning to re-name the Great Ocean Road to the Jack Steven Road,

Don't ask me how I know though…

bergholt wrote:... on that note, does anyone know what town jack steven came from originally? i've been trying to find out but no-one seems to know....
Ah, so it's Jack Steven that this post is about(?) :shock: I'd no idea who from the heading... only clicked in to see who was this boy from Lorne...?
dragit wrote:I see Dangerfield being in the top 5-10 midfielders in a couple of years, not sure if Jack can get that high, would love to be wrong, I have been plenty, actually a lot. :)
Well maybe re Grammy (though that's yet to be definitively proven :wink: ), but I don't reckon too often Dragit. :) You may be a chance of being wrong with Jack though. I reckon the odds are way more likely that he'll be a league (at least) top ten midfielder than that he won't.

So to all you haters of the expert in-hindsight call, I'm saying this NOW. And if (when) I'm right, I'll be trawling out this thread to gloat! :lol: (If I'm wrong, well, hah, no one will remember... :wink: )

Go Jack (wherever you're from) :!: :!: :!:

Dave McNamara wrote: I reckon the odds are way more likely that he'll be a league (at least) top ten midfielder than that he won't.
We do seem to over-rate our own a lot though…
Fyfe, Cotchin, Martin, Dangerfield, Pendlebury, Murphy, Gibbs, A Swallow, Rockliff, Selwood, Masten, Shuey, Heppell - all pretty decent

Who knows how good some of Dalhuas, Scully, Golby, T Greene, Bugg, Shiel, Coniglio, Miles, D Swallow, Prestia, Horsley etc will be in a couple of years…

Gary Ablett and a few others might still go alright at 30 too…

At this stage, I don't think Jack will become a competition top-10 mid, no shame in that though…

just sayin'

Whilst I'm on a roll with the Jack predictions, I'll make a less long-range one... barring injury, I reckon that by the end of this season, Jack will be very close to, and probably will be, our number one midfielder.

No one can accuse me of relying on hindsight.. :wink:

Go Jack!!!

He comes from lawn, apparently. Sponsored by Jim's mowing.

Iceman234 wrote:In four weeks I have a lovely trip along the Great Ocean Road to Warrnambool for a function.

I must be out of touch. Jack Steven is the only one of those that I know of.

kosifantutti wrote:

Shane is Neds brother.

kosifantutti wrote:

Shane is Neds brother.
Is that the Ned who missed out on the medal at the Glenrowan Olympics?

Shane almost, well could have, almost won Olympic gold...

Kerryn is Australia's premier reins woman...

Jack is from Lorne apparently, time that was properly recognized

rexy

Great article about Jack, turning into a ripper!
Herald Sun pass thingy is a joke!
Interesting that Saad lives with GT, in his garage or perhaps with his son?
I like Briiians commentary and enjoy the Friday night 7 call team!
Just some toughts I had reading this thread!

Maybe this year?

Ah, nothing like a little gloat...

Yeah, I know I'm going early, but even if Jack's season goes belly up (and it won't), everyone will have forgotten this post so I'll still get away with it... :lol: But Jack's even progressing ahead of my prediciton..., and these posters wouldn't be wrong... :wink:

Back in May...
Dave McNamara wrote:Whilst I'm on a roll with the Jack predictions, I'll make a less long-range one... barring injury, I reckon that by the end of this season, Jack will be very close to, and probably will be, our number one midfielder.

No one can accuse me of relying on hindsight... :wink:

Go Jack!!!
Today in another thread...
plugger66 wrote:Yep clearly top 5. Hayes, Steven, Rooy, Armo and maybe Dal. The top 4 clearly ahead of the rest.
Today in another thread...
paddy wrote: ...but hands down Steven is in our top 5 players for the season... just cannot afford to lose someone that good...
Go Jack!!!

Now if only I knew some share prices for September, or some race horse's results, or... :?: :?: :?:

Bayside Nick

BT is in form tonight, so far in the first qtr has called Riewoldt's poster an absolutely magnificent kick and advised us yet again that Jack is from the Ocean Road.

The guy needs to read a book and broaden his knowledge and vocabulary

Wants to be elite..... Needs to clean up on disposal and decision...

To me, his flat out nature has its benefits, but it means his composure with footy in hand is poor. I think his defensive side needs work also.

Having said that, he is a good clearance player who can find the footy