Expansive Watters on SEN

Fidelis

Expansive Watters on SEN

Worth listening to the Watters interview on SEN the morning after.

Interestingly, among other things, when asked what kids outside the team he'd like to give an opportunities, he mentioned Ross, Cripps, Simpkin, Newnes and Stanley but didn't name Ledger.

http://www.sen.com.au/audioplayer/Audio ... rt-1)/4933

http://www.sen.com.au/audioplayer/Audio ... rt-2)/4932

Faithful Even Unto Death

Re: Expansive Watters on SEN

Fidelis wrote:Worth listening to the Watters interview on SEN the morning after.

Interestingly, among other things, when asked what kids outside the team he'd like to give an opportunities, he mentioned Ross, Cripps, Simpkin, Newnes and Stanley but didn't name Ledger.

http://www.sen.com.au/audioplayer/Audio ... rt-1)/4933

http://www.sen.com.au/audioplayer/Audio ... rt-2)/4932
Why does he hate Ledger?

doug booths dog

[color=#4000FF]With respect Fidelis, I thought the comment "we're still assessing Raff" was more interesting. Why after 8 years are we still assessing Raff....is it because he's a habitual flirt, - very offensive and damaging when he gets it right, but too often just 'buggers up the basics'. In a game where turnovers are becoming increasingly costly, can we afford the uncertainty that plagues a number of our key backs (Raff, Blake, Gilbo, Gears)....I'm tipping we need another good decision maker back there to balance up the scales.[/color]

the dog bites back !!!

When I follow the link Scott Watters (part2) is actually Brenton Sanderson as well as Sanderson's own part 2
Has anyone else found this?

I loved what he said , he thinks that with the list we have , if we play our best footy we can beat anyone ,
however he is obviously looking to the future , i reckon him and pelchen would have a number of older players earmarked as possible trades or delistings at the end of the year . They would also have a list of what sort of player to draft .
painted a positive picture for next few years once some of our younger talent have another pre-season under there belts , ledger would fall into this category.

Boy did we "dodge a bullet" when Lyon decamped!!! This guy Watters is the real deal! No bulbs*** just quiet and measured comments I say we should be looking to extend the contract NOW!!!!!

From my post on May27th

Our Coach
by tony74 » Sun 27 May 2012 8:54pm

Anyone else here Lenny on 3aw this arvo. When quizzed on the coaching style between Lyon and Watters he towed the company line. What I did find interesting was that he thought Scott would be our coach for a long time. He was quite adamant that Scott would be there till the jobs done. I really have the feeling that we have some real solidarity at the club

Onya Tony74!!!!

His best quote was, when asked if he had woken up a bit grumpy this morning,
"It's lucky I don't own a cat"!

At least the coach gets it.

This sites resident player apologists woke up this morning all "warm and fuzz" cause we kicked a few goals....thats nice.....we're being scored against AT WILL and sit 6-6.....ah but I got to wave my saints flag a few times....right?

Teflon wrote:At least the coach gets it.

This sites resident player apologists woke up this morning all "warm and fuzz" cause we kicked a few goals....thats nice.....we're being scored against AT WILL and sit 6-6.....ah but I got to wave my saints flag a few times....right?
You had us finishing 11th, why are you surprised, but above that....why are you so critical?

They are probably ahead of where you placed them.

Alright already. We know you're not happy. But how long are you going to bang on about it???!!!!
Multiple threads, and essentially the same thing posted by you 200 times.
Rather than moan, how about you post some solutions?

As you said, the coach gets it, so you can relax and go and have a lie down.

Your signature says "I see dumb people".
I assume you are looking in the mirror. :lol:

HitTheBoundary wrote:

Alright already. We know you're not happy. But how long are you going to bang on about it???!!!!

He is starting to sound more and more like B4E!!!!!

markinUSA

I don't think he hates Ledger.
When I watched the game on TV over here, there was an story about Watters at half-time.
It showed clips from training and so on. Not sure which stations it aired on in Aus.
He talks to many of the boys during the training.
Then he says to Ledger "I know you've got concerns and you'll see the physio in a second, but don't let your skill level drop now".
So... I wondered if there is more to the Ledger story than just plain hate. Whether he is carrying a niggling injury or something, which they haven't publicized. Wouldn't surprise me.

"Don't give up, never give up" - Robert Harvey.

It doesn't concern me that Ledger isn't getting a game cos our midfielder's have been brilliant this year....Across the board....And we've added some much needed depth with Armo and Steven playing more permanent roles in the middle. What concerns me is McEvoy in the team. I understand he's played his first game back after an extended period out but being realistic apart from about 6 games last year he's always been ordinary in the middle. He's not athletic and he's not strong enough. At least he has age on his side. In the short term I reckon we play Blake in the middle (who is fairly ordinary down back anyway) cos he may not win the taps however he somewhat negates his opponent and then gives us another rover around the stoppage....His tackling pressure is also very good. Kosi to pinch hit and Stanley when back to take more of the load. I would drop McEvoy for Stanley when he's available. Watters' certainly put pressure on Ben in the media leading up to the game and from what I saw he failed.

as an apologist i find it funny that people that thought our fortunes were heading south at a rate of knots are unhappy with guys trying hard for a win despite not being the dominant force they were. as a guy who lived through the 1980s and 90s a side that doesn't throw in the towel when the going gets a little tough is a nice change. Adelaide were very good and at home full of confidence. we were ugly, maimed and tired but those 22 didn't do what most posters did- disgraced themselves. i'm happy with gutsy losses as opposed to what GC offer up.

So your happy with mediocre.... OK... That is better than terrible I suppose.

I'm not so happy with the side being average

longtimesaint wrote:When I follow the link Scott Watters (part2) is actually Brenton Sanderson as well as Sanderson's own part 2
Has anyone else found this?
yep...i gave up

mr six o'clock wrote:I loved what he said , he thinks that with the list we have , if we play our best footy we can beat anyone ,
however he is obviously looking to the future , i reckon him and pelchen would have a number of older players earmarked as possible trades or delistings at the end of the year . They would also have a list of what sort of player to draft .
painted a positive picture for next few years once some of our younger talent have another pre-season under there belts , ledger would fall into this category.

milne and blake to retire.....ray, polo, wilkes and peake to get the bullet......leaves us a bit of leg room......

as an apologist i find it funny that people that thought our fortunes were heading south at a rate of knots are unhappy with guys trying hard for a win despite not being the dominant force they were. as a guy who lived through the 1980s and 90s a side that doesn't throw in the towel when the going gets a little tough is a nice change. Adelaide were very good and at home full of confidence. we were ugly, maimed and tired but those 22 didn't do what most posters did- disgraced themselves. i'm happy with gutsy losses as opposed to what GC offer up.
well said....

Old Mate wrote:It doesn't concern me that Ledger isn't getting a game cos our midfielder's have been brilliant this year....Across the board....And we've added some much needed depth with Armo and Steven playing more permanent roles in the middle. What concerns me is McEvoy in the team. I understand he's played his first game back after an extended period out but being realistic apart from about 6 games last year he's always been ordinary in the middle. He's not athletic and he's not strong enough. At least he has age on his side. In the short term I reckon we play Blake in the middle (who is fairly ordinary down back anyway) cos he may not win the taps however he somewhat negates his opponent and then gives us another rover around the stoppage....His tackling pressure is also very good. Kosi to pinch hit and Stanley when back to take more of the load. I would drop McEvoy for Stanley when he's available. Watters' certainly put pressure on Ben in the media leading up to the game and from what I saw he failed.
Don't agree about mac , its was his first game for 7 weeks and was rusty .
Agree about the mid-field , If we had a big defender and forwards who could kick those crucial goals , we could be on top !

You had us finishing 11th, why are you surprised, but above that....why are you so critical?

They are probably ahead of where you placed them.
see I love this...

Its not about expectations in January - its about what we see right now.

Your happy, "thrilled" to be so close to the Crows.......good for you...i saw a side let an enormous opportunity slip through sloppy play, loose defending and lame shots on goal.

Watters reaction after the game told me exactly what I needed to know: he was BITTERLY upset with that effort and in his own words "loathe to praise the comeback.....the game goes for 4 qtrs..."

Damn right.

Thats all we need to know isnt it?

Sad thing bout that pathetic post is that bar 12 minutes left in the game we werent gutsy....we were lucky....Crows missed plenty of shots on goal also.....

Im just super glad our coach was extremely dissapointed (rightly so - as many posters on here who do give a shyte about this side improving) were also and yes, you the apologist can just be happy "we tried"... :roll:

HitTheBoundary wrote:

Ive put my solutions forward multiple times on this site.

I dont just log on to tell other posters what they can/cant say after a game like you have just done cause you obviously have no football related opinion..

So my opinion of that is: you can go ferk yourself and Im prepared to have that view 200 times over if thats ok with you? (Im also lying down now...)

Buckets wrote:
HitTheBoundary wrote:

He is starting to sound more and more like B4E!!!!!
why? because I dont share youre "rose colored" views of last night?

how petty and pathetic - is that how you get cyber friends??