Josh Caddy

Re: Josh Caddy

On the local radio news this rave, it said that Caddy was definitely leaving - the Suns were disappointed but wished him the best.
Then it said that he is talking to us and Geelong

SinCitySainter

Yes Caddy is in a position to make demands. He does not have to accept any trade.
There may be clubs he doesn't wish to go to for what ever reason.
The Suns cannot force him to accept a trade but he seems to be trying to do the best thing by the club so may go to ever they request.
He wants to get back to Melbourne but he may not just go to which ever club offers the best deal.

Sick Nal Danto

Lets make it clear, he practically quit the club

It's a highest bid wins.....Pelchen has a good history of getting trades done

just look at the Saad, Milera deal last year

Sobraz wrote:
Animal Enclosure wrote:Offering pick 12 plus player (not sure who).
All depends on this...

If that 'plus player' is Raph, or similar calibre, go for it... If its a Dal, then it'd be the same as losing BJ...

I'd be shattered to lose Dal, or BJ for that matter...

For the record, from what I've seen of Toy, he will struggle to make it...

Is this our Raph who played about 3 games this year. He has no value at all. Why do people think clubs are dumb.

Even though he isn't in our plans doesn't mean he has no value, Guerra had no value to us, Wakelin no value. Possibly they have seen he would fit a role they want covered and will take him as the icing in the deal on two players one who is going home and one being pretty much delisted subtly. He missed a full preseason and a heap of early footy, other clubs aren't internet morons with chips on their shoulders about a run down 3 years ago. They are getting a first round pick for a player drafted with a first round pick. Toy is struggling up there and is looking like not making it there. What value does he have to us?

Sobraz wrote:
All depends on this...

If that 'plus player' is Raph, or similar calibre, go for it... If its a Dal, then it'd be the same as losing BJ...

Is this our Raph who played about 3 games this year. He has no value at all. Why do people think clubs are dumb.

Even though he isn't in our plans doesn't mean he has no value, Guerra had no value to us, Wakelin no value. Possibly they have seen he would fit a role they want covered and will take him as the icing in the deal on two players one who is going home and one being pretty much delisted subtly. He missed a full preseason and a heap of early footy, other clubs aren't internet morons with chips on their shoulders about a run down 3 years ago. They are getting a first round pick for a player drafted with a first round pick. Toy is struggling up there and is looking like not making it there. What value does he have to us?

Toy has no value to us either.

#1GILL

Toy has no value to us either.
Rubbish. Toy is still a very realistic chance to not just become an AFL player, but a gun AFL player.

We're talking about a bloke who, had he not been pre-selected by the Suns, was a potential #1 draft pick.

It's no secret that to date he has been a major disappointment, but to say he offers nothing is unrealistic. A change of environment and a bit of luck and he could become a genuine gun, or if not, a serviceable AFL player.

I for one, would love to have Toy on our list as he is basically a free hit at gaining a quality player. It may not come off (ala Jesse Smith), but it may, and if it does I would hope that St Kilda is the beneficiary and not another club.

#1GILL wrote:[

Rubbish. Toy is still a very realistic chance to not just become an AFL player, but a gun AFL player.

We're talking about a bloke who, had he not been pre-selected by the Suns, was a potential #1 draft pick.

It's no secret that to date he has been a major disappointment, but to say he offers nothing is unrealistic. A change of environment and a bit of luck and he could become a genuine gun, or if not, a serviceable AFL player.

I for one, would love to have Toy on our list as he is basically a free hit at gaining a quality player. It may not come off (ala Jesse Smith), but it may, and if it does I would hope that St Kilda is the beneficiary and not another club.

I actually agree, he might just need a bit of time, he may not be Goddard mark 2 but could still be a pretty handy pick up - I was just pointing out to Plugger that Raphs value in comparison isn't so bad. Raph doesn't seem to be in our forward planning but could still offer plenty to a new team, at least Toy has age on his side and might just need to be closer to home.

ROLS-LEE

Toy then could be like in the schnider / dempster deal then. Back then nbody rated dempster. Now possible AA.

#1GILL wrote:Rubbish. Toy is still a very realistic chance to not just become an AFL player, but a gun AFL player.

"potential number one draft pick" means about as much as getting 90-odd in your VCE - it matters for only about a week and then all of a sudden no one cares ever again.
#1GILL wrote:I for one, would love to have Toy on our list as he is basically a free hit at gaining a quality player.
it's only a "free hit" if it costs you nothing. more likely it would cost us a decent draft pick, so then you'd have to measure him against the player we would have got at pick (say) 20-odd.

i know nothing about toy, but picking him up isn't without risk.

Ya reckon Raph & Peake would get him over the line?

:shock:

Sobraz wrote:
Animal Enclosure wrote:Offering pick 12 plus player (not sure who).
All depends on this...

I don't think clubs are dumb. I was just using Raph as an example as he'd been mentioned several times before..

And to illustrate the point that we shouldn't use players like Dal/BJ to get deals done, as it robs Peter to pay Paul.. Perhaps a Ray or Schnides is more likely..

I think Armo would be their preference as he's able to give Ablett time out of the centre, he's a local, can play in and under and is already established but young enough to be there in 8 years time still.

I see no sense in pumping games into and then trading Armo to basically start again with Caddy..surely the idea is to BUILD a stockpile of young talent..not trade like for like?

I wouldn't even give away our no 1 pick for Caddy let alone Armo. Everyone's gone a little Caddy crazy....yes he's got talent but still pretty unproven. I'd like to know what we would be losing at 12.

PJ wrote:I wouldn't even give away our no 1 pick for Caddy let alone Armo. Everyone's gone a little Caddy crazy....yes he's got talent but still pretty unproven. I'd like to know what we would be losing at 12.
pick 12 would get us a kid with talent who is definitely unproven. i'm not sure why you'd think that's so much better than caddy?

gringo wrote:I think Armo would be their preference as he's able to give Ablett time out of the centre, he's a local, can play in and under and is already established but young enough to be there in 8 years time still.

He is a local what. He would still be nearly 2 hours from home when living on the GC. Its like saying a Matthew Brown is a local at Brisbane.

gringo wrote:I think Armo would be their preference as he's able to give Ablett time out of the centre, he's a local, can play in and under and is already established but young enough to be there in 8 years time still.

He is a local what. He would still be nearly 2 hours from home when living on the GC. Its like saying a Matthew Brown is a local at Brisbane.
Or a Josh Caddy is a local at Geelong? :wink:

Bardon Saint

Re Armo: My understanding is that his home is Mackay in Nq. His family is still there and this is where he goes in the off season. He relocated to bris and stayed with Gavin urquarts family for footy reasons only and this may have only been for a few years. IMO he is more of a local now of Seaford than the GC.

GC def want to do a trade and not have him go into the draft...that is obvious. Also i have heard that they have made it clear they are not interested in BJ. (Not saying we put it forward but ive been told they have said no interest).

Will we get it done? I am not sure...my guys aren't giving me heaps of confidence. Think there is actually a bit more media around St Kilda on this one than fact..

PJ wrote:I wouldn't even give away our no 1 pick for Caddy let alone Armo. Everyone's gone a little Caddy crazy....yes he's got talent but still pretty unproven. I'd like to know what we would be losing at 12.
pick 12 would get us a kid with talent who is definitely unproven. i'm not sure why you'd think that's so much better than caddy?
I didn't say the pick would be so much better...I just said make comparisons before you just automatically give the pick away. Caddy was pick 7 in a compromised draft effectively making him a much lower draft pick. He's had a little time in a very inexperienced team...why would you automatically jump to gain his services.....what are our needs? could we get a highly rated KPP? If Goddard doesn't go are we prepared to risk our only high selesction for him?

PJ wrote:
I didn't say the pick would be so much better...I just said make comparisons before you just automatically give the pick away. Caddy was pick 7 in a compromised draft effectively making him a much lower draft pick. He's had a little time in a very inexperienced team...why would you automatically jump to gain his services.....what are our needs? could we get a highly rated KPP? If Goddard doesn't go are we prepared to risk our only high selesction for him?
if goddard doesnt sign we get the pick after our current pick so its 13.... that means we have 2 pics.

Would i
t help to trade for a caddy to keep bj as it would help his golf game.

I would rather be 2 hours than interstate if i was playing, he is a queenslander, would love to be in something other than melbourne winters I bet, has the added bonus from a marketing perspective for GC. All I'm saying is he is the one they will ask for in my opinion, I'm hoping he stays and we offer up Raph who could also add something to them and apparently they have shown some interest. I spent time as a kid living in Northern NSW and still would love to live closer to the warm weather.

Solar wrote:Would i
t help to trade for a caddy to keep bj as it would help his golf game.
No you didn't

If I were pelchen I would be targeting Melbourne as a club. Isn't there a young ruckmen down there who has told them he wants out?!