nicola roxon

Did anyone see that offtake the other day on tv.
she said her family are mad saints but it was unclear if she was as well.
can anyone find out ?
if she is we should make her a saintsational patron.

jimmy_slats

Re: nicola roxon

ill ask her when i see her at work on monday she has her office across from mine

'WALK THIS WAY!!!!!'

Not many politicians seem to AFL follow teams who aren't Collingwood, Essendon or Geelong.

found some family background but no connection to Saints yet
Roxon is not religious, and her parents were non-practising – Jewish in her father’s case, Anglican in her mother’s. But she was taught to be very aware of the history of her father’s family. There may or may not be a connection between how she legislates and that history: her grandfather was prevented from studying medicine in Poland because he was a Jew; her grandfather’s parents and three of his sisters died in the Holocaust; just 3% of Lvov’s 100,000 Jews survived the war. Clearly, she understands the freedoms and opportunities Australia offered to her refugee forebears. In her maiden speech in 1998, she recalled that her parents had taught her at a young age “about fairness and decency, generosity, having a go and helping others” and that, after her father died, “My mother taught me about independence and integrity.” It’s all part of who Nicola Roxon is, and of what she brings to the job as Attorney-General.
some discussion on Big footy- Bulldogs page-given it is her electorate but no confirmation anywhere

Well, if her dad is Jewish, there's a fair chance he'd be a Saints man.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Did anyone see that offtake the other day on tv.
can anyone find out ?
Let's hope not, or we may see out team running out in plain olive green jumpers :shock:

can anyone find out ?
Let's hope not, or we may see out team running out in plain olive green jumpers :shock:
Agree re the jumper colour Doc, but as you'd know only too well, for cancer-stick packaging it's a great idea..., and
a great piece of legislation. :D :D :D

A piece of legislation that btw would not have eventuated if the other mob was in power, as the other mob still refuse to knock back tobacco company political donations... shame... :roll: :oops: :shock: :cry: :evil:

Who is Nicola Roxon? I remember Cheryl Rixon. She was good in her time but I think he time maybe up. I remember the band Roxette s well but like Cheryl they are passed it.

Did you actually mean Nicola Rocks on?

plugger66 wrote:Who is Nicola Roxon? I remember Cheryl Rixon. She was good in her time but I think he time maybe up. I remember the band Roxette s well but like Cheryl they are passed it.

Cheryl Rixon?

plugger66 wrote:Who is Nicola Roxon? I remember Cheryl Rixon. She was good in her time but I think he time maybe up. I remember the band Roxette s well but like Cheryl they are passed it.

Cheryl Rixon?

Look her up on IMDB. You will get the idea.

Cheryl Rixon?

Look her up on IMDB. You will get the idea.
No need plugs, I lived through the era. Hence the drooling :wink:

We could draft her as President and switch to plain jumpers with a physical health warning to our opponents.

can anyone find out ?

Well being a Saints supporter can be quite damaging to your health so there may be something in that.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

can anyone find out ?

Well being a Saints supporter can be quite damaging to your health so there may be something in that.
Yeah, but won't somebody please think about the.................. scarves! :shock:

Sainternist wrote:Well, if her dad is Jewish, there's a fair chance he'd be a Saints man.
I lived in St Kilda (the suburb) for many years and was always amazed how many local jewish blokes went for the blues. I did some research and it seems Jews settled in an around Carlton in the 50s and then St Kilda/Caulfield in the 70s/80s became the place to be. And now many have moved out to Doncaster. Still quite a few sainters amongst them though.

jimmy_slats wrote:ill ask her when i see her at work on monday she has her office across from mine
good stuff. do some investigative work and get back to us.

jimmy_slats wrote:ill ask her when i see her at work on monday she has her office across from mine
good stuff. do some investigative work and get back to us.
But Con, will you still want her on board if she becomes an "ex MP" next year? Just asking :wink:

Dave McNamara wrote:
can anyone find out ?
Agree re the jumper colour Doc, but as you'd know only too well, for cancer-stick packaging it's a great idea..., and
a great piece of legislation. :D :D :D

A piece of legislation that btw would not have eventuated if the other mob was in power, as the other mob still refuse to knock back tobacco company political donations... shame... :roll: :oops: :shock: :cry: :evil:

something else we agree on dave......i see tassie is talking about barring anybody born after a certain year from ever being able to buy that crap.........i agree with that too.......yes, i'm a reformed smoker...and yes..i know we are the worst...but i hate cigarettes...they stink and pple who smoke stink as well.....although most pple might not be able to smell how bad they smell to me.....if that makes sense....

one point

Nicola's husband and daughter are saint fans. I think she is a luke warm Hawks fan.

Ah, Ms Roxon will have loads of time to do whatever she likes next year after the election

Furphy wrote:Ah, Ms Roxon will have loads of time to do whatever she likes next year after the election
You think she will lose her seat?
She might be opposition leader.
On the other hand Abbott is such a dufus he will probably shoot himself in the foot and lose.

can anyone find out ?
Oh Cr@p!
I have been a saints fan for over 50 years and now I might have to go find another club to support.

Maybe it is only her family, the parents should not be held to blame for sins of the daughter.
Please, please, let her be a Collingwood fan.
The sexist filth should support the filth, after all she supports Craig Thomson and even Peter Slipper despite Slipper's vile remarks about women.

Roxoff Roxon!
Last edited by ace on Wed 10 Oct 2012 8:31am, edited 1 time in total.

avid

Oh for God's sake ace, you write this as though we'd all agree with you.
I admire your posts on footy, and I wish you'd keep it to that.
It is deeply and manifestly objectionable that you'd characterise Nicola Roxon as "sexist filth". What sort of planet of wanton intellectual dishonesty do you live on?
I don't mind that you vote Liberal -- I'd be happy to debate you. But the sort of self-congratulatory bigotry you peddle isn't acceptable here in Saintsational, or in fact any forum we're a part of in Australian civil society.
The unfortunate performances of Thompson, Slipper, and quite a few others associated with the Labor government, pale in comparision when contrasted against the Abbott-led L/NP party -- the nastiest, shallowest, most irresponsbly destructive Opposition we've probably ever had in Australian history.
Would Malcolm Turnbull have called Nicola Roxon "sexist filth"? No. Turnbull is a leader whose fundamental political ethics you should perhaps take a peek at before you descend to the gutter again.
I would prefer to like you. We have a basis for liking each other, as Saints fans.
That's one of the fine things about Australian culture. But it takes a little restraint, goodwill and fair-mindedness to maintain.
Last edited by avid on Wed 10 Oct 2012 12:20pm, edited 1 time in total.

Yaysaints

I think this thread shows why politics and sport shouldn't mix.
I love the saints and pretty much hate politicians.
If Nicola avoids being saints ticket holder number one , I won't
ask Lenny who he votes for.

Yaysaints

I think this thread shows why politics and sport shouldn't mix.
I love the saints and pretty much hate politicians.
If Nicola avoids being saints ticket holder number one , I won't
ask Lenny who he votes for.