Lenny Hayes = Champion

Re: Lenny Hayes = Champion

What a legend.

Legend, could be right up there with the best players never to win one, something tells me that individual awards would mean that much to him anyway. Not like that cocky flog Watson.

So proud of Lenny I'm going to name my first born after him, maybe a middle name anyway! haha

ROLS-LEE

St Ick wrote:Legend, could be right up there with the best players never to win one, something tells me that individual awards would mean that much to him anyway. Not like that cocky flog Watson.

So proud of Lenny I'm going to name my first born after him, maybe a middle name anyway! haha

Lenny is our only norm smith medalist

I reckon he's an overrated ar$ehole.

Sorry, but I've never seen a Saintsational thread go on so long without some hero chipping in with a contrary opinion. So I'm just offering one.

St Ick wrote:Legend, could be right up there with the best players never to win one, something tells me that individual awards would mean that much to him anyway. Not like that cocky flog Watson.

Watson a cocky flog. Now I have heard it all. Lenny is a champion and so is Watson.

Absolutely agree, nothing cocky about Jobe, class act I reckon. Very worthy winner and just shows that when you put your head down and bum up
anything is possible.

OMG I just agreed with P66 :shock:

mullet wrote:

Absolutely agree, nothing cocky about Jobe, class act I reckon. Very worthy winner and just shows that when you put your head down and bum up
anything is possible.

OMG I just agreed with P66 :shock:
I find you can tell a lot about a bloke by his reaction when getting votes. Plus I find it very hard to like anything Essendon so my feeling may be tainted, still stand by what I said.

Waltzing St Kilda wrote:I reckon he's an overrated ar$ehole.

Sorry, but I've never seen a Saintsational thread go on so long without some hero chipping in with a contrary opinion. So I'm just offering one.
It's early days... Pluggs will be along shortly to ask you what stats you have to back up Hayes is a good bloke... it's just "logic" right? ... lol

St.Roly wrote:I doubted that I would ever see Robert Harvey surpassed as my favourite player. Lenny might now have his nose in front.
Out of sight… hard to split Harves & Lenny.
No its not.

Harves was by far the best and most enduring midfielder we have ever had.

Lenny is a great player but Harves was one of our greatest of all time.

Thats not a knock on Lenny, but you just can't compare. Heart yes, lenny has a heart as big as Harves, but evena comparision of the individual awards shows who is the better player.

Anyway Lenny is an absolute champion of the STKFC and I dont want to be churlish.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

true very true

St.Roly

St.Roly wrote:I doubted that I would ever see Robert Harvey surpassed as my favourite player. Lenny might now have his nose in front.
Out of sight… hard to split Harves & Lenny.
No its not.

Harves was by far the best and most enduring midfielder we have ever had.

Lenny is a great player but Harves was one of our greatest of all time.

Thats not a knock on Lenny, but you just can't compare. Heart yes, lenny has a heart as big as Harves, but evena comparision of the individual awards shows who is the better player.

Anyway Lenny is an absolute champion of the STKFC and I dont want to be churlish.
For the record - I said "favourite player" not "better player".

How very dare you St.Roly... The hide to come on here and tell us your favourite player.

dragit wrote:How very dare you St.Roly... The hide to come on here and tell us your favourite player.
Can we ban this St Roly character, honestly what was he thinking telling us who his favourite player was?

St Lenny

SainterK wrote:So....Lenny Hayes carries a heart ailment for much of the season, was also returning from an ACL, in his footy twilight years = 19 votes

:o

Wow.
yes.......bet the rest of the so called "stars" feel chuffed that an old man off a knee reco with a dodgy heart smashes them.....

generational type player.

If Goddard was half as good hed be worth more.
If Lenny got paid what BJ gets it would be fair.
I remember a few years back, Roo saying that Lenny was on a low contract.

stairwaytoheaven

We have a photo of Lenny and our kids after a tug
of war game for Family Day @ Moorabbin.
There was some talk when he was drafted that he
may not make it.
As young and green as he was amongst our
very young Kids he proved them all wrong.
We love our Lenny and still remember the night when we ran
into this man and introduced himself as Lenny"s Dad.
We did not believe him at first but he told us that the boys
were going to win the Nab cup and Lenny would be captain.
We were so taken back by this fellow that we just could not
believe it and we won the game.
Our pride and joy his 250th limited edition hangs next to
Harvs and alongside that is a photo of Stewie, Harvs and Bourkey.
gosh ya just gotta luv em all :P :P :P :P

RW&B

Lenny is just a dead set jet. Coming off a second knee, leaky heart valve, 32 years of age. But we know how good Lenny Hayes is. Is it not damning of the rest of the group? Not the greatest St Kilda player I've ever seen but the greatest Saint which I think is a higher honour.

"I'm a better coach when Nick Riewoldt is in the side" - Ross Lyon 2007

GF1 2010 I thought Goddard was stiff not to win the Norm Smith.

I am now 100% glad that Lenny won it :D

Watts the Buzz

Only a matter of time before we see a statue of Lenny outside Etihad Stadium, except we'll go one better than Warnie's bronze statue outside the 'G', it'll be GOLD, only the best for our Lenny!

Watts the Buzz wrote:Only a matter of time before we see a statue of Lenny outside Etihad Stadium, except we'll go one better than Warnie's bronze statue outside the 'G', it'll be GOLD, only the best for our Lenny!
Can it be fitted with robotics so that it can "sell a bit of candy" every 30 seconds? :D

Watts the Buzz

Watts the Buzz wrote:Only a matter of time before we see a statue of Lenny outside Etihad Stadium, except we'll go one better than Warnie's bronze statue outside the 'G', it'll be GOLD, only the best for our Lenny!
Can it be fitted with robotics so that it can "sell a bit of candy" every 30 seconds? :D
I like it :D

The Legend is getting bigger than the player may wish- But his humbleness is part of that Legend and the love.

Schneids this evening said when asked what/who he would be if reincarnated-- Lenny Hayes

Darren Jolly writing on going beyond the fear say.'
Lenny Hayes is another. He played 25 games in 2010 and won St Kilda's best and fairest. He missed 2011 after injuring an ACL that required a knee reconstruction. Amazingly, he came back in 2012 and won St Kilda's best and fairest again at the age of 32. If anyone is struggling to find motivation because of a serious injury, take a look at Lenny.
Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/t ... z2Qijz0nKw

and that is without mentioning a heart condition he has carried for some years.

damn straight!

Class act. When my Dad was alive and well into his 80's, he went to dinner with Lenny and a few other players. Lenny was attentive, looked after the old bloke and was very interested to hear Dad's stories of winning in 1966 and of our past great players . Made an old man very happy. An absolute ornament to the game on and off the field.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.