Cripps requests trade to West Coast

fpm84

Cripps requests trade to West Coast

PROMISING young St Kilda player Jamie Cripps has told the club he wants to return to Perth in a trade to West Coast.
Cripps, who was St Kilda's first pick in the 2010 national draft, asked the club this week to trade him back home to the Eagles.
St Kilda was disappointed at the decision by the player, who was taken as a first-round selection (pick 24), but remained hopeful of being able to convince him to return to Seaford. Cripps is on holidays in Perth visiting family.
“Yes, Jamie's manager has indicated his interest in returning home, but we are still hopeful of being able to him to stay,” St Kilda list manager Chris Pelchen said.
The Eagles and Saints have spoken briefly, but have not seriously discussed a trade.

Re: Cripps requests trade to West Coast

Come on Chris.......work a trade...you're meant to be the boy wonder....let's see what you've got :roll:

Good.

Out of most of the youngens he showed the least.

He didn't really have a position, pace was meh, kicking was meh.

Now f*** off.

Cripps & Stevens, easy straight swap... This homesickness is getting a bit much.

MadSaintFan

didnt show heaps this kid other than the odd goal. disposal was iffy and apparently shirked a few contests according to people on here.

anyway see ya later mate.

pelch try and get koby stevens or mitch brown maybe?

Bardon Saint

The kid had potential. Unfortunate loss. I hope we get a good deal.

If nothing else will be happy to see the photo of him off the players list - it is a shocker

Mitch brown?

maverick wrote:Mitch brown?
better than Stevens....but he's injured more often than Stanley.... :shock:

bobmurray wrote:
maverick wrote:Mitch brown?
better than Stevens....but he's injured more often than Stanley.... :shock:

Who's better than Stevens? Not Cripps? Easy to say now that he's gone/going, but I never rated him. Made poor decisions with the ball, had only average skills, and wasn't very tough. No great loss.

Stevens however WOULD be a loss. Clean up his disposal, and he'll be a gun. That WOULD be a loss.

Bad move by cripps, there will be a lot more opportunities with us over the next few years than west coast you'd reckon.

Bardon Saint

Has Stevens showed much? He hasn't played much in the last 3 seasons. Ave 9.5 disposals. Is he not good enough to play or injury prone? I'm leaning toward Mitch Brown

Not surprised had been told a few months back that he and Ledger were 'homesick' and may request a trade at years end. Hopefully we get a good deal for him, be interesting considering how strong this draft is to see what the eagles would give up for him.

Junior

Waste of a draft pick, miss out on Jack Darling to draft him to then find out he has diabetes.

Gets compartment syndrome writing off his first season, then wants out after the second.

Might be handy playing at Subiaco, but from what I have seen he needs to toughen up and work on his decision making.

A champion team will always beat a team of champions.

I hate all this bagging of a player who has played a handful of games & had just started to show what he's got.

Very disappointed in this, I hope he can be talked around.

Junior wrote:Waste of a draft pick, miss out on Jack Darling to draft him to then find out he has diabetes.

Gets compartment syndrome writing off his first season, then wants out after the second.

Might be handy playing at Subiaco, but from what I have seen he needs to toughen up and work on his decision making.
If we'd drafted darling, he'd be doing exact the same right now, he never wanted to leave Perth so flunked his interviews apparently.

On the Bench
Location: Perth. Where Foxtel has now allowed me to watch my beloved Saints each week.

I can't understand how a kid who has done all his secondary schooling as a border can be homesick.

Having said that I am a big believer in that if say you want out, be it a job, love or whatever, better to move on. If your heart is not in it 100%, better to get somebody who is totally on the same page.

I am still hurting from 71;
my gut churns thinking of 97;
2009 was agony,
2010a was a pleasure to watch only to be devastated by 2010 b.
It hurts barracking for the Saints

trade him for nic nat !
thats fair .

On the Bench wrote:I can't understand how a kid who has done all his secondary schooling as a border can be homesick.

Having said that I am a big believer in that if say you want out, be it a job, love or whatever, better to move on. If your heart is not in it 100%, better to get somebody who is totally on the same page.
I agree. If a player doesn't want to be here then move on and get someone who does.

Spud02

Would be disappointing to lose him, he has a nose for the goals I reckon. Worse still he was our first pick in 2010, highlighting how poorly we have done during this and previous years drafts.

It's quite an FU to the club who drafted him, gave him the number of a legend, supported him through injuries and gave him far more senior opportunities than he deserved.

With that said, I can't see him ever being more than a fringe player without drastic improvements in strength and smarts and don't think he's much of a loss. I'm not sure if West Coast would really want him, though Subi would suit him since hard offensive running is really his only strength.

Will be more than handy for West Coast as he kicks goals. Honestly he would be good for us but we have ample players of his position. Use him to get Mitch Brown or at Stevens and no one will care.

Seems a fairly clear swap of Cripps for Stevens.

Cripps, 20yo, pick 24 in 2010 draft, 16 games, averaged 8.9 disposals, 2.4 marks, 2.4 tackles, 1 goal
Stevens, 21yo, pick 22 in 2009 draft, 11 games, averaged 9.5 disposals, 3.2 marks, 3.0 tackles, 0.2 goals

Frankly by the look of those numbers I'm not really much encouraged by either of them, so perhaps we might get another 2nd round, or an upgrade of our 2nd round via a 3 way trade if we don't go for Koby.

Watts the Buzz

Interesting to see that Cripps has requested a trade to the Weagles and hasn't mentioned Freo at all. Probably knows he wouldn't get a game under Lyin given that he's under 25.....