Article: St Kilda Supporters Reaction to Brendon Goddard

rct63

Re: Article: St Kilda Supporters Reaction to Brendon Goddard

lefty wrote:Anyone remember Goddard being angry at Luke Ball for leaving? Especially, in the 2010 NAB cup game?

What goes around comes around Brendan...
I can remember (vaguley) this bunch making some sort of oath/committment around 2003/04 about
staying together until they won a flag.
I wonder how this is going?
Anyone got a link to this?
Can anyone recall this?

*SIGH*

I don't wish a bad injury on him, as at least one poster has.

BUT

I do hope he never plays in a Premiership; if only because I hope Essendon never win another one.

AND

I hope he doesn't play any more than 99 games for the Bombers :wink:

philip

Austinnn wrote:I have no problems with Goddard leaving, no problems with the Saints for not offering him 4 years and no problems with the AFL for introducing the system that allows him to move to one of our rivals.

The way I see it, Brendon knew that he could set himself up with a lot more money by moving to a richer club while he was worth something. He's 27 years old and earning enough cash now to pretty much set up the rest of his life. If he maximises his current situation, his future (known in the football world as 'retirement') looks rosy.

He knows football is just a game, he's incredibly lucky to be good at something that is paid for so handsomely and when you look at it objectively, one club is pretty much like another when you get down to it. The Saints and The Bombers are both old clubs with a lot of soul and a passionate supporter base. He gets to stay near his family, he gets a kick up the arse which he will feel he needs after 2 years running round looking jaded and playing average footy, taking eyes off the ball and diving and getting suspended. His morale hasn't been up since the 2010GF, no matter what he said in the media, so it's clear he'll look forward to a new lease of life/change of scenery. After 10 years and 2 lost GFs, finals every year bar 2 or 3 but no Premiership, he probably feels, like Lyon did, that he tried his best at the Saints but it wasn't enough.

If we put ourselves in his situation, only the most loyal of us would ignore the promise of extra money, fresh start and (ahem) equal chances of winning a premiership to stay with our mates. Wouldn't we always be thinking 'What if?' Wouldn't we look at Luke Ball, with a Premiership medallion around his neck and think "What's the harm in trying again somewhere else?" He probably was upset at Bally at the time for leaving, but I'm sure that was only because he realised in his heart that it was the right thing for him to do, perhaps he was still torn at that stage, but I doubt he was this year.

Brendon Goddard is a professional sportsman. He did not play footy for the Saints because his family did, or because he is passionate about footy, or because he is a loyal fan. He was a Carlton fan growing up and probably grew up hating Essendon, yet that didn't matter one bit to his career. He is on the Footy Show, probably because he likes being at the top of his trade, I wouldn't think he's that interested in entering a popularity contest. He is a hardened professional. Other posters have called him arrogant, but not everyone is a people's hero like Lenny. He's probably the Anti-Lenny if you like, you watch when he takes control in the Lunch With Lenny episode where he nicks the mic. He's taking the mickey out of it, for him it's nonsense. But I noticed something else in those few seconds. Even when he's joking, he's serious about winning.

All players say it, because they know people want to hear it, but Brendon Goddard is competitive above all else. He is loyal to a point, he'll do the right thing to a point, but he absolutely won't stop until he wins. Look at him in the 2010 GFs; he got everything out of himself to get over the line, and if the rest of the team was the same, we would have won. He inspires other players by his actions, but I don't believe he's capable of motivating other people in other ways. I don't think he would have been a communicative captain, had he had the chance. I doubt he would have put his arm round a struggling player's shoulder. He's an individualist at heart, despite being happy to play in a team game. The guy loves playing golf. Standing out there by himself, cooly taking care of business to try and win. With his mates or without, I wouldn't think he cares much.

If he tried his hardest at St Kilda and still failed, twice, then really anyone expecting him to stay doesn't really appreciate the situation fully. He may have even seen his teammates as liabilities, especially when the club does show loyalty to far less consistent or effective players. He might wonder about how serious the rest of the team really is about winning. Team talks are fine, but these blokes didn't help me get it done, he'd have thought. What is loyalty worth, he'd have wondered. I think it's remarkable that players like Roo and Lenny - who could walk into any side in the comp - stay for less money than they could get elsewhere when they've already tried and failed to get premierships with us. Both of those guys are far more into the people's hero side of the game than BJ is though. They actually connect with the pain of the Saints supporter, the desire to win. They live to give us what we want. They are true selfless Saints, but they have essentially sacrificed competitive desire for our cause, like Harves, like Leowe, like Baldock. Like those guys they are destined to end their careers unrewarded. That style isn't for everyone though, and even Lenny and Roo might have considered it if Free Agency had been around when they were worth considering at other clubs.

The club could have offered him an extra year, after all that would take him to the same age as Lenny is now. But if he's thinking about leaving, and he can get so much money elsewhere, money that we clearly need for other players salaries, and we can get adequate compensation in the form of a younger fresher and just as hungry player who is perhaps more of a team man then why force him to stay? If he absolutely wants to stay, then that's great, but if he doesn't buy into being a one-club player, then it's best for everyone if he moves on, with no hard feelings. He sees the club delist players that give everything for their club every year, so he probably takes the ideal of loyalty with a pinch of salt. Loyalty is for the fans, not the pros. This is his career. This is business.

His motivation is to be the best, and to set his life up for the 40-70 years that will come after he stops getting paid so well. If he felt that he could have done that with us, I'm sure he would have considered staying. The fact that he didn't says absolutely nothing about us as a club. It is not an inditement on our culture, it doesn't mean that we will never win a flag. Clubs that value individuals over teams go nowhere, and that's been our focus in the past. We've shelled out outrageous sums into messiahs in the form of players and coaches in the past rather than looking after the team. What did it get us? Jezza, Blighty, Foschini, plenty more, but zero premierships. Finally the Saints stand up for themselves, and unlike the Luke Ball situation, they played their cards well. In this system the only way we lose is if the AFL gives us less than a Band 1 pick, or if we use that pick poorly. Chris Pelchen did a good job this time last year, and I personally have faith that with the increased knowledge of our list he now has, he'll use those picks well.

Anyone crying about the modern game being soulless and all about money is better off following a less professional league like the VFL which has footy without the commercialism and the high-quality live TV broadcasts, huge crowds and cream of footy talent that goes with it. Such is life. You want the best, you have to pay the most. Best solution is to enjoy the game and remember that despite the passion it's just a game. If it's your life, then sort your life out. It's 32 young men dressed in weirdly coloured underwear chasing a ball around a park for 2 hours on each weekend.

I wish Brendon well, and hope that he ends up happy. I also wish that Saints supporters move on quickly, still view him as family, even if he's like the daughter that married into another rich family. I think he'll still be a Saint for life in the sense that he will never lose his past, especially when it contained so much success. I hope that other supporters will not allow their feelings of betrayal to give rise to bitterness and that we will all show confidence that we will still be competitive and have if anything a stronger chance of winning a flag. Respect for Goddard, one of us forever, and self-respect.

C'ARN SAINTS, 2013 & BEYOND!
Respect for your post. Best post ever on Saintsational.

Well done.

philip

Just looking forward to us having a real crack each week, and appreciating the younger talent coming through.
andrewg

Harvey To Hayes wrote:
plugger66 wrote: Like Ablett. By the way if you work would you stay at your job if someone else offered you 30% more?
What the hell would you know about me mate? When I was captaining my club I knocked back a deal worth hundreds of dollars more a week to stay with my club and my mates, and that was when I was studying and had bugger all money - not the same as the hundreds of grand that BJs deals are worth but enough to be certain of my own moral compass when it comes to these things. Why don't you do us all a favour and piss off you sanctimonious d**khead... I fully believe you used to be an umpire, head up your ass and no idea about anything...

Excellent stuff especially after such a tough question. I take you havent had a root in a while. Surely if you had taken the extra money you could have paid for one. Now please settle down and go to bed. take a sock with you.
Another personal attack plugger. Not good enough IMO, just happening too often and shouldn't be tolerated not just by mods but by everyone else on here.

andrewg

Dr Spaceman wrote:I don't wish a bad injury on him, as at least one poster has.

BUT

I do hope he never plays in a Premiership; if only because I hope Essendon never win another one.

AND

I hope he doesn't play any more than 99 games for the Bombers :wink:
800,000 is a lot to pay someone who tears his second ACL.

Austinnn wrote:I have no problems with Goddard leaving, no problems with the Saints for not offering him 4 years and no problems with the AFL for introducing the system that allows him to move to one of our rivals.

The way I see it, Brendon knew that he could set himself up with a lot more money by moving to a richer club while he was worth something. He's 27 years old and earning enough cash now to pretty much set up the rest of his life. If he maximises his current situation, his future (known in the football world as 'retirement') looks rosy.

He knows football is just a game, he's incredibly lucky to be good at something that is paid for so handsomely and when you look at it objectively, one club is pretty much like another when you get down to it. The Saints and The Bombers are both old clubs with a lot of soul and a passionate supporter base. He gets to stay near his family, he gets a kick up the arse which he will feel he needs after 2 years running round looking jaded and playing average footy, taking eyes off the ball and diving and getting suspended. His morale hasn't been up since the 2010GF, no matter what he said in the media, so it's clear he'll look forward to a new lease of life/change of scenery. After 10 years and 2 lost GFs, finals every year bar 2 or 3 but no Premiership, he probably feels, like Lyon did, that he tried his best at the Saints but it wasn't enough.

If we put ourselves in his situation, only the most loyal of us would ignore the promise of extra money, fresh start and (ahem) equal chances of winning a premiership to stay with our mates. Wouldn't we always be thinking 'What if?' Wouldn't we look at Luke Ball, with a Premiership medallion around his neck and think "What's the harm in trying again somewhere else?" He probably was upset at Bally at the time for leaving, but I'm sure that was only because he realised in his heart that it was the right thing for him to do, perhaps he was still torn at that stage, but I doubt he was this year.

Brendon Goddard is a professional sportsman. He did not play footy for the Saints because his family did, or because he is passionate about footy, or because he is a loyal fan. He was a Carlton fan growing up and probably grew up hating Essendon, yet that didn't matter one bit to his career. He is on the Footy Show, probably because he likes being at the top of his trade, I wouldn't think he's that interested in entering a popularity contest. He is a hardened professional. Other posters have called him arrogant, but not everyone is a people's hero like Lenny. He's probably the Anti-Lenny if you like, you watch when he takes control in the Lunch With Lenny episode where he nicks the mic. He's taking the mickey out of it, for him it's nonsense. But I noticed something else in those few seconds. Even when he's joking, he's serious about winning.

All players say it, because they know people want to hear it, but Brendon Goddard is competitive above all else. He is loyal to a point, he'll do the right thing to a point, but he absolutely won't stop until he wins. Look at him in the 2010 GFs; he got everything out of himself to get over the line, and if the rest of the team was the same, we would have won. He inspires other players by his actions, but I don't believe he's capable of motivating other people in other ways. I don't think he would have been a communicative captain, had he had the chance. I doubt he would have put his arm round a struggling player's shoulder. He's an individualist at heart, despite being happy to play in a team game. The guy loves playing golf. Standing out there by himself, cooly taking care of business to try and win. With his mates or without, I wouldn't think he cares much.

If he tried his hardest at St Kilda and still failed, twice, then really anyone expecting him to stay doesn't really appreciate the situation fully. He may have even seen his teammates as liabilities, especially when the club does show loyalty to far less consistent or effective players. He might wonder about how serious the rest of the team really is about winning. Team talks are fine, but these blokes didn't help me get it done, he'd have thought. What is loyalty worth, he'd have wondered. I think it's remarkable that players like Roo and Lenny - who could walk into any side in the comp - stay for less money than they could get elsewhere when they've already tried and failed to get premierships with us. Both of those guys are far more into the people's hero side of the game than BJ is though. They actually connect with the pain of the Saints supporter, the desire to win. They live to give us what we want. They are true selfless Saints, but they have essentially sacrificed competitive desire for our cause, like Harves, like Leowe, like Baldock. Like those guys they are destined to end their careers unrewarded. That style isn't for everyone though, and even Lenny and Roo might have considered it if Free Agency had been around when they were worth considering at other clubs.

The club could have offered him an extra year, after all that would take him to the same age as Lenny is now. But if he's thinking about leaving, and he can get so much money elsewhere, money that we clearly need for other players salaries, and we can get adequate compensation in the form of a younger fresher and just as hungry player who is perhaps more of a team man then why force him to stay? If he absolutely wants to stay, then that's great, but if he doesn't buy into being a one-club player, then it's best for everyone if he moves on, with no hard feelings. He sees the club delist players that give everything for their club every year, so he probably takes the ideal of loyalty with a pinch of salt. Loyalty is for the fans, not the pros. This is his career. This is business.

His motivation is to be the best, and to set his life up for the 40-70 years that will come after he stops getting paid so well. If he felt that he could have done that with us, I'm sure he would have considered staying. The fact that he didn't says absolutely nothing about us as a club. It is not an inditement on our culture, it doesn't mean that we will never win a flag. Clubs that value individuals over teams go nowhere, and that's been our focus in the past. We've shelled out outrageous sums into messiahs in the form of players and coaches in the past rather than looking after the team. What did it get us? Jezza, Blighty, Foschini, plenty more, but zero premierships. Finally the Saints stand up for themselves, and unlike the Luke Ball situation, they played their cards well. In this system the only way we lose is if the AFL gives us less than a Band 1 pick, or if we use that pick poorly. Chris Pelchen did a good job this time last year, and I personally have faith that with the increased knowledge of our list he now has, he'll use those picks well.

Anyone crying about the modern game being soulless and all about money is better off following a less professional league like the VFL which has footy without the commercialism and the high-quality live TV broadcasts, huge crowds and cream of footy talent that goes with it. Such is life. You want the best, you have to pay the most. Best solution is to enjoy the game and remember that despite the passion it's just a game. If it's your life, then sort your life out. It's 32 young men dressed in weirdly coloured underwear chasing a ball around a park for 2 hours on each weekend.

I wish Brendon well, and hope that he ends up happy. I also wish that Saints supporters move on quickly, still view him as family, even if he's like the daughter that married into another rich family. I think he'll still be a Saint for life in the sense that he will never lose his past, especially when it contained so much success. I hope that other supporters will not allow their feelings of betrayal to give rise to bitterness and that we will all show confidence that we will still be competitive and have if anything a stronger chance of winning a flag. Respect for Goddard, one of us forever, and self-respect.

C'ARN SAINTS, 2013 & BEYOND!

Sweet jesus man,

thats a manifesto not a post. Hard to argue against it but footy is a passion sport, it goes beyond logic and reason. It's cultural identity.

Selling out to the enemy is more like marrying your uncle than marrying rich. I can't see footy as dispassionately as that, it's a couple of hours of theatre every week and he has now become a punch character in the pantomime of AFL. He will get booed, disparaging banners and snide comments from half smiling teammates because it's a tradition.

Just like Australian folk law loves Ned kelly despite the fact he was a Victorian era Carl Williams, we will now stick him on the enemy list where he belongs and assign him the mercenary tag that he earned himself.

I for one hope we ruthlessly harass him for the next 4 years and am hoping we can get Alan jones on board to write some material to use on him.

hungry for a premiership wrote:
They are true selfless Saints, but they have essentially sacrificed competitive desire for our cause, like Harves, like Leowe, like Baldock, like McNamara.
good insight
Totally agree. Another wonderful read. Thank you for going to all the effort to put that together for us Austinnnnnnnn...

Just the one little quibble... which I fixed above for you. :wink:

PS: James, I haven't read your latest article yet, but I'm sure it will be up to your usual very high standard. I for one have no issue if you wish to put in the odd 'shameless plug' (or shameless plugger) for yourself. :)

Dave McNamara wrote:
hungry for a premiership wrote:
They are true selfless Saints, but they have essentially sacrificed competitive desire for our cause, like Harves, like Leowe, like Baldock, like McNamara.
good insight
Totally agree. Another wonderful read. Thank you for going to all the effort to put that together for us Austinnnnnnnn...

Just the one little quibble... which I fixed above for you. :wink:
Fair do's Dave, sorry about your omission. For some reason I had it in the back of my mind that you defected to Essendon or something like that; happy to be wrong.

As for Gringo, that's fair enough. I appreciate everything that you said. Maybe I'd feel differently if I thought we were a bees dick away from a flag and he could recover his form with us, but I'm sorry I can't. Perhaps also if I thought we'd get screwed again like we did with Ball, but we are destined to get a juicy pick so I'm satisfied. Players come and go, no one cried for Stevie Baker after the first two weeks of his forced retirement.

But I absolutely appreciate the passion family betrayal tribal vibe. I guess I'm a contrary person; if everyone was taking this loss well and seeing the logic, I'd be writing posts screaming about wanting Essendon's blood. Just hoping that us supporters don't let ourselves down, like the tragic ex-boyfriend who writes songs about his ex-girlfriend 10 years after they split up and hangs around outside her boyfriend's house throwing rocks at his window.

Thought I'd throw in my two bob's worth:

I'm not angry at BJ for leaving. I would've liked him to stay but these things happen. Same when Ball left, didn't bother me. It was sorta sad to see these guys who fought so valiantly in the losing GF's leaving the tight knit team we had during those years.

This isn't like when the great man Plugger left. I was upset but got on with things. He needed a new lease of life and got it at Shitney.
Doc posted something about BJ - none of our losses this year were because he played like s***; none of our wins were because he dragged us over the line, ala Roo in his prime. BJ was an integral part of our team but not the glue that binds it.

So, enough with the cerebral stuff - BJ might find some of the conversation with his new teammates a bit stilted - they'll be discussing soft tissue injuries at some stage of next season, and he'll feel left out! :roll:

Superstar

The only thing I don't understand is how will BJ play golf at royal Perth, while playing for the bombers?

how about you f*** off with your website plug
dont come here and say f*** all
except to plug that crap site

read some rules knob

james rose

matrix wrote:how about you f*** off with your website plug

read some rules knob
Thanks for bumping the thread genius.

james rose

matrix wrote:how about you f*** off with your website plug

read some rules knob
also in my last 13 posts I have mentioned my website once.

Just because I'm trying to do something other than post here 8 times a day for people like you to abuse other posters doesn't mean I don't contribute.

Get a life knob.

the thread was already top two you f****** d**khead
how is that a bump???

moron
brilliant deductions watson

the only time you ever come here is to flog that pathetic site
piss off

mbogo

Strewth Matrix - you are a bit tetchy today!

This is a team game and there is no room for individuals who think they are above walking through the fire.
james rose

matrix wrote:the thread was already top two you f****** d**khead
how is that a bump???

moron
brilliant deductions watson

the only time you ever come here is to flog that pathetic site
piss off
Not sure what I've done to really upset you. I post about my site maybe 1 in 20 posts. at .5 posts a day that means you have to put up with seeing my "pathetic site" linked to once a month at most. It is almost always St Kilda relevent and written by a St Kilda fan.

Why should I be subjected to abuse straight off the bat.

Have a look around you buddy everyone else has been able to read it, enjoy it and start a relevent conversation in this thread.

You meanwhile have probably made yourself feel 5% better today by attempting to impact mine negatively. Good for you. The world needs more like you.

Btw, you may not realise it because your new in the scheme of this forum but its posts like yours in this thread that have seen a dramatic drop off in activity.

Austinnn wrote:They are true selfless Saints, but they have essentially sacrificed competitive desire for our cause, like Harves, like Leowe, like Baldock, like McNamara.

Fair do's Dave, sorry about your omission. For some reason I had it in the back of my mind that you defected to Essendon or something like that; happy to be wrong.
Thanks Austinnn. :)

No, that was Essendon in another league, not the (then VFL) Essendon FC.

To then get back to the Saintas had to stand outta' footy for the 1913 season, which very arguably cost us our first flag. :evil: Post-footy also served as a committeeman and eventually as club president. And of course, ended up in our Team of the Century, despite having played sooooooo long ago. Lived and died in our area, and now buried in the Brighton Cemetery.

Always a true Saint, and never involved with any of our enemies.

Austinnn wrote:
Dave McNamara wrote:[

As for Gringo, that's fair enough. I appreciate everything that you said. Maybe I'd feel differently if I thought we were a bees dick away from a flag and he could recover his form with us, but I'm sorry I can't. Perhaps also if I thought we'd get screwed again like we did with Ball, but we are destined to get a juicy pick so I'm satisfied. Players come and go, no one cried for Stevie Baker after the first two weeks of his forced retirement.

But I absolutely appreciate the passion family betrayal tribal vibe. I guess I'm a contrary person; if everyone was taking this loss well and seeing the logic, I'd be writing posts screaming about wanting Essendon's blood. Just hoping that us supporters don't let ourselves down, like the tragic ex-boyfriend who writes songs about his ex-girlfriend 10 years after they split up and hangs around outside her boyfriend's house throwing rocks at his window.

i'm only half joking anyway, I actually think we are better of long term with him going but he deserves the jeers he gets even just from the perspective that it will discourage defectors in the future.

Thomas tweeted last night: ''Great clubs don't lose great people. On the surface it seems Saints were happy to release him. I'm somewhat perplexed.'

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/s ... z285jIuIlx

says it ll really..... :cry: :cry:

me....?...i'm sad......very sad...... not sure if i will renew my membership......i have been a member most of my life.......but this.....f***.... :cry:

mbogo

I cannot see that any news from the Saints is going to make me feel any happier over the next few weeks.
It seems that most of the high-profile/good players available are already locked into deals with other clubs.
Not much mention of what we are going to get except "lets HOPE we get a good pick" - brilliant!

This is a team game and there is no room for individuals who think they are above walking through the fire.

the dark side of me would love to see him never play a game for the bombers

Little Dozer
Location: Forward Pocket, Outer side, Linton Street end or bay 38 Waverley

skeptic wrote:the dark side of me would love to see him never play a game for the bombers
Like Lovett with us. The Weapon will take care of BJ, hopefully...

Are we waiting for a saviour?
I'm so sick of waiting!
I've been waiting my whole life!
This is a new day!

Little Dozer wrote:
skeptic wrote:the dark side of me would love to see him never play a game for the bombers
Like Lovett with us. The Weapon will take care of BJ, hopefully...
Will he even make it to training with all that truck driving he'll be doing?

Tassie Saint
Location: In the wilds of Tassie - Where boys become men, and cousins become wives

mbogo wrote: Not much mention of what we are going to get except "lets HOPE we get a good pick" - brilliant!
Again, the club can't do anything about that though as it is the AFL that decides the "appropriate level of compensation" once all free agent stuff has gone through and they can determine "net" gain or loss and compensate appropriately.

I'm sure they have a good idea of what level of compensation he might be worth from the AFL (if there is no further free agent movement from the Saints) and there's no harm in continuing to spruik in the media how good Goddard is/was, his value, how much money he's left for, etc etc to keep the net loss to the Saints high in people's mind, thus increasing our level of potential compensation.

At least Goddard didn't play games and neither did the saints. We knew he would test his value as a free agent. We offered what we were willing to pay. We didn't screw ourselves with a longer contract at higher rates (which it seems we have done previously). It is what it is and we haven't had to wait all week for a decision to be made. Like a bandaid being ripped off, it's over nice and quickly.

Wish he was still a saint. Wish him all the best for his future. Hope the bombers don't make the finals for the next 4 years and that the saints pinch 1.

Caaaaaarn you Sainters!!

Best wishes to BJ. Nearly won us a Grand final. Gave it all up for the club when he played. Good leader. We couldn't afford to keep him and Essendon could....why do we have to turn it into a character assassination?