Greg Westaway to step down at the end of 2013.

Just announced on the radio. Thoughts? Has been incredibly low profile compared to Butterrs so it will be interesting to see who takes his place and how they go about it.

Re: Greg Westaway to step down at the end of 2013.

Nearest the pin. Who will be the new Prez?

SideshowMilne

Just read your post WW in the GT topic. Are you busy 2014?

Pity it's not the end of 2012.

White Winmar wrote:Nearest the pin. Who will be the new Prez?
Jack Rush. I can't see why else he would have bothered to join the board.

Who?

N.Burke a chance ?

Shane Warne? ;)

My vote's for B4E.

Jack Rush hopefully.

I genuinely believe Westaway has done a fantastic job. Not sure why the negs for him.
He inherited the Seaford issue and we have made a go of it. Club marketing has improved through the roof. We nearly won a flag (twice).
Club culture and brand have turned the corner. We ran the most professional and modern coaching selection panel in AFL history. And he has been low profile and not behaved like a knob (like many other club Presidents) . Big thumbs up from me.

Old news, just reafirmed, was on the cards since Greg and board introduced the motion 2 AGM's ago
He has been a solid defence over many issues and changes.

SideshowMilne wrote:Just read your post WW in the GT topic. Are you busy 2014?
Too kind, SideshowMilne.. I reckon Burkey may be keen, but they may go for someone with a strong track record in business. It seems the board has been building nicely of late. Good spread of skills and diverse, commercially. I like the way things are shaping up at our club.

Russell Caplan I would think ... former chairman & MD of Shell Australia, on a couple of big boards, but retired so he has the time to be President.

Jack Rush would not have the time, although he does do more inquiry-type work now so maybe he is contemplating it, but I would think very unlikely.

Sobraz wrote:
My vote's for B4E.
I thank you for your support, I'm truly humbled

Why wait for the of 2013?

surely if he has the club's best interests at heart, right, he would piss off now, right

Clown president who oversaw the Seaford fiasco, right

barks4eva wrote:Why wait for the of 2013?

surely if he has the club's best interests at heart, right, he would piss off now, right

Right!

barks4eva wrote:Why wait for the of 2013?

I assume you will be putting up your hand to become president!

St Lenny

Con Gorozidis wrote:Jack Rush hopefully.

I genuinely believe Westaway has done a fantastic job. Not sure why the negs for him.
He inherited the Seaford issue and we have made a go of it. Club marketing has improved through the roof. We nearly won a flag (twice).
Club culture and brand have turned the corner. We ran the most professional and modern coaching selection panel in AFL history. And he has been low profile and not behaved like a knob (like many other club Presidents) . Big thumbs up from me.
Agree totally, there is no pleasing some people, can't see that he has done anything wrong. Thumbs up from me also :\ :)

Reading through the bios on the club website and Ian McLoed appears to be well qualified !!

What absolute nonsense

Westaway and his board were the ones that ticked off Archie's Fraser's proposal for a re location so you're sprouting total bollocks there!

Ross Lyon appointed by the RB admin was responsible for guiding us to consecutive Grand Finals appearances so you point is what exactly??????????

As a result of the appointment of RL by the Butterss admin which led to two Grand Final appearances any extra club marketing was a direct result of that!

Westaway and his admin delivered a 1.5 million dollar loss in the very year following two Grand Final appearances

FAIR DINKUM

I challenge you to post something even more stupid than you're previous post, a difficult task I know but you do seem capable given your complete disregard for the actual FACTS

barks4eva wrote:[Westaway and his admin delivered a 1.5 million dollar loss in the very year following two Grand Final appearances

FAIR DINKUM

I challenge you to post something even more stupid than you're previous post, a difficult task I know but you do seem capable given your complete disregard for the actual FACTS

And I was pilloried and even threatened by people on this site because i dared to ask where all the money Football First was coming from to fund their promises.

They basically pissed the Butters Admin surpluses up against the wall, while we went through our most successfull on field period since 1966.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
GoSaintersGo

Con, well said - I agree with you totally.
I note that there are some entries from that idiot Barks4E - wont read his, her or it's volumes of crap but assume he,she or it will be throwing crap at Westerway.
The new Board is an absolute credit to GW and with their experience and knowledge, the Club is in excellent hands.

GoSaintersGo wrote:

Con, well said - I agree with you totally.
I note that there are some entries from that idiot Barks4E - wont read his, her or it's volumes of crap but assume he,she or it will be throwing crap at Westerway.
The new Board is an absolute credit to GW and with their experience and knowledge, the Club is in excellent hands.
Why is the club in excellent hands? Can you please elaborate?

joffaboy wrote:They basically pissed the Butters Admin surpluses up against the wall, while we went through our most successfull on field period since 1966.
Footy clubs aren't meant to make profits. Especially in our socialist competition with equalization funding, what is the point of making massive profits? Profits are for distribution to the owners - who are the owners of our club? Any admin making repeated large profits is spending less than they should be on actually getting the team to play good footy.

joffaboy wrote:They basically pissed the Butters Admin surpluses up against the wall, while we went through our most successfull on field period since 1966.
Footy clubs aren't meant to make profits. Especially in our socialist competition with equalization funding, what is the point of making massive profits? Profits are for distribution to the owners - who are the owners of our club? Any admin making repeated large profits is spending less than they should be on actually getting the team to play good footy.

So they are supposed to make 1.5 million dollar losses?

Fair Dinkum, you completely ignore the STKFC history where they never made a profit for about 100 years. And look where that got them? One flag by one point.

If you think it is a co-incidence that clubs like Carlton and Essendon won multiple flags and they were financial stable and secure, well you dont have much of a clue.

Oh and profits cant be distributed. It is an accounting concept. You can only distribute funds from your OE or capital accumulation.

And here is a fact. You dont have increasing capital when you are pissing all the good work up against the wall like Westaway and Football First have done.

Wasted all the hard work of Butters and his team and we still didn't win a flag.

Absolute disgrace these financial dimwits were put in charge from an ignorant and emtional group of members who have contributed in our financial weakness by voting these clowns in.

I said this would happen in 2008, and it pains me to see i was correct.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)