Greg Westaway to step down at the end of 2013.

Re: Greg Westaway to step down at the end of 2013.

GoSaintersGo wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:Jack Rush hopefully.

I genuinely believe Westaway has done a fantastic job. Not sure why the negs for him.
He inherited the Seaford issue and we have made a go of it. Club marketing has improved through the roof. We nearly won a flag (twice).
Club culture and brand have turned the corner. We ran the most professional and modern coaching selection panel in AFL history. And he has been low profile and not behaved like a knob (like many other club Presidents) . Big thumbs up from me.
Con, well said - I agree with you totally.
I note that there are some entries from that idiot Barks4E - wont read his, her or it's volumes of crap but assume he,she or it will be throwing crap at Westerway.
The new Board is an absolute credit to GW and with their experience and knowledge, the Club is in excellent hands.
Why is the club in excellent hands? Can you please elaborate?

its not and he/she /it cant.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

joffaboy wrote:They basically pissed the Butters Admin surpluses up against the wall, while we went through our most successfull on field period since 1966.
Footy clubs aren't meant to make profits. Especially in our socialist competition with equalization funding, what is the point of making massive profits? Profits are for distribution to the owners - who are the owners of our club? Any admin making repeated large profits is spending less than they should be on actually getting the team to play good footy.

So they are supposed to make 1.5 million dollar losses?

Fair Dinkum, you completely ignore the STKFC history where they never made a profit for about 100 years. And look where that got them? One flag by one point.

If you think it is a co-incidence that clubs like Carlton and Essendon won multiple flags and they were financial stable and secure, well you dont have much of a clue.

Oh and profits cant be distributed. It is an accounting concept. You can only distribute funds from your OE or capital accumulation.

And here is a fact. You dont have increasing capital when you are pissing all the good work up against the wall like Westaway and Football First have done.

Wasted all the hard work of Butters and his team and we still didn't win a flag.

Absolute disgrace these financial dimwits were put in charge from an ignorant and emtional group of members who have contributed in our financial weakness by voting these clowns in.

I said this would happen in 2008, and it pains me to see i was correct.

The last 10 years of relative success was largely due to the draft system. Fact.

If we had a little more cash and/or avoided the instability that came with the board and coach changes then maybe we'd have some silverware to show for it. Debateable.

Reading through the bios of our Board members gives me confidence going forward. They all seem like quality people who are very successful in their private lives. Greg Westaway fits into these categories. I see his announcement that he is stepping down as a positive. The Board now has plenty of time to work out who among them (or someone from outside) is best positioned to lead the Board post 2013. This announcement also allows the club to maintain stability at Board level. I believe that quality people and stability are vital for success. We have that now and going forward !!

Profits are useless when the AFL underwrite every club, no matter how much debt they have or how much money they are making.

The key factor in the AFL is revenue - higher revenue allows you to spend more on football and recent stats show that this gives you a greater chance of success.

In Butterss' final year at the club, total ordinary revenue was $22.93m.

For 2012, our total ordinary revenue was $30.84 million.

Even allowing for inflation and AFL contributions, this is a "real" increase of at least $4m in revenue for the club.

Great work by Westaway.

St Lenny

Barks, you talk so much crap it is pointless even addressing your issues as you have an issue with everyone at St Kilda, previous and present and basically wouldnt have a clue on business.

We were always going to be in a loss situation having built Seaford.

People have no idea how damaging the school girl affair was to our club, it was massive.

Westaway always said he would do 5 years.

oh when the

The Lovett issue , the school girl, & players summer issues have
Cost us members & sponsors big time

For some, the Seaford move meant that they were never going to be endeared with whoever was in charge.

And for some they will never be happy with a low key Prez when some other clubs have high profile spruikers.

It's difficult for anyone outside the club to know exactly how we're going. And it's impossible to compare our performance with what it could have been under a different leadership team. And to be fair, GF appearances don't automatically equate to sustained financial success. North Melbourne is sufficient proof of that.

Despite the relevant success of 2009 - 2010 the club has faced many difficulties; not all of which were within their control. I for one feel that Westaway and his team have done a fairly good job.

Could someone else have done better? Wouldn't have a clue. Who else was available; who else put up their hand?

At the end of the day the club appears to have a level of stability and a positive feel about its prospects. And that's not something that has been symbolic of the St Kilda Football Club over its history.

The end of 2013 is close enough and the club needs to use the time available to ensure it entices the best possible candidates for the next Presidency.  

St Lenny wrote:We were always going to be in a loss situation having built Seaford.
Hi Lenny, as I've ranted before, I hope that one day we return to playing boutique home games at the Moorabbin fortress. Since we still hold the lease, that remains a possibility... one day(!)

That said, in Seaford the club now has a tangible asset... finally, after 140 years(!) Hence why our annual report actually has the club in a net position of ~$4mil. (And if we don't own Seaford, then what was the ~12mil asset on the balance sheet?)

All you accountant-types on here..., I am reading the report sorta' correctly, right? :?

How many other clubs own their facilities? Nought Power? Effn'dum soon? Any others?

Any at all...? :?:

Dave McNamara wrote:
St Lenny wrote:We were always going to be in a loss situation having built Seaford.
Hi Lenny, as I've ranted before, I hope that one day we return to playing boutique home games at the Moorabbin fortress. Since we still hold the lease, that remains a possibility... one day(!)

That said, in Seaford the club now has a tangible asset... finally, after 140 years(!) Hence why our annual report actually has the club in a net position of ~$4mil. (And if we don't own Seaford, then what was the ~12mil asset on the balance sheet?)

All you accountant-types on here..., I am reading the report sorta' correctly, right? :?

How many other clubs own their facilities? Nought Power? Effn'dum soon? Any others?

Any at all...? :?:

I didnt know the club had a spare 60 million to do up Moorabbin? Not sure who owns their facilties. Do we actually own ours?

St Lenny wrote:
oh when the wrote:The Lovett issue , the school girl, & players summer issues have
Cost us members & sponsors big time
People have no idea how damaging the school girl affair was to our club, it was massive.
So guys, are you saying that those are the main reasons we don't have a major sponsor? (I don't know, so I'm asking.)

If so, that's harsh.

Lovett was clearly a mistake, from which we seemed to have learnt... No Darling, no Enfant Terrible, Grammy abruptly out, the no Richard Craniums recruiting policy... That said, what he did/allegedly did was not the club's fault, and we moved him out immediately..., and at cost to us.

Kimmy...? The club could have gone in harder, but given her age they were very gentle. And Beam me up Scotty, we were not the only club involved... then, it all turns out that we did nothing wrong anyway... Kimmy made it all up...! :roll:

The NZ after hours stuff. Dumb, but if that's the worst thing AFL players have done...? I mean, no one fell trying to climb down a palm tree (drunk?), there were no machetes, no drunk driving in the ute (or on the grassy knoll), no court cases for assault (with or without a subsequent jail spell)... :roll:

PS: I also agree with the good Doctor's sentiments just above...
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=78967&p=1290364#p1290351

plugger66 wrote:I didnt know the club had a spare 60 million to do up Moorabbin? Not sure who owns their facilties. Do we actually own ours?
Agreed Pluggs, we don't have the cash. That's one reason I cried when they started pulling down those grandstands. Grandstands that were built with blood, sweat and tears. That resultant debt servicing, when interest rates rocketed, was what plunged our club from power house, to cellar dweller..., to almost out the door... :cry:

The cash:
The Hillbillies didn't put up all the cash for Pussy Litter Park. They've has heaps of assistance for the rebuilding..., and would have had the ground capacity further extended to 50000, paid by the government, if we'd won the Soccer World Cup(!) Probably most other clubs have also had significant assistance with their new facilities... us included I'd think(?) It involves putting an appropriate pitch to the government... at the appropriate time. :idea:

Till then, we heed Martin Luther King..., we keep the dream alive.

Seaford ownership:
At his last AGM, Rod Butterss (remember him anyone?) said that we'd own the Seaford facility... our club's first tangible asset in 134/now 140 years. (If you don't count the BMW that Wally allegedly provided a lady friend with...)

Our current Annual Report has an ~$12mil asset on the books. If that ain't Seaford, then what is it?
(Hence my question to the accounting types on here... come on you guys, did you all take offence at the jokes Yaysaints and I posted...? :wink: )

Legendary wrote:Profits are useless when the AFL underwrite every club, no matter how much debt they have or how much money they are making.

The key factor in the AFL is revenue - higher revenue allows you to spend more on football and recent stats show that this gives you a greater chance of success.

In Butterss' final year at the club, total ordinary revenue was $22.93m.

For 2012, our total ordinary revenue was $30.84 million.

Even allowing for inflation and AFL contributions, this is a "real" increase of at least $4m in revenue for the club.

Great work by Westaway.
Spot on, I reckon. GW has grown the club and presided over a period of relative success.

Dave McNamara wrote:Our current Annual Report has an ~$12mil asset on the books. If that ain't Seaford, then what is it?
I imagine it's the improvements to buildings at Seaford which were capitalised rather than expensed, and will then be depreciated over twenty years or so. Not sure if we own the ground itself but that seems unlikely.

They're an asset in that they have value, but could we actually sell them to anyone? So what are they actually worth?

Dave McNamara wrote:Our current Annual Report has an ~$12mil asset on the books. If that ain't Seaford, then what is it?
I imagine it's the improvements to buildings at Seaford which were capitalised rather than expensed, and will then be depreciated over twenty years or so. Not sure if we own the ground itself but that seems unlikely.

They're an asset in that they have value, but could we actually sell them to anyone? So what are they actually worth?
It's not worth a cracker. Just land value.

The depreciation allowance reduces our tax but if we are making an operating loss we are simply just creating more credits along with the loan servicing costs I assume?

At least if we ever become profitable again we won't be paying tax for a while lol!!!

GoSaintersGo

Eastern wrote:Reading through the bios of our Board members gives me confidence going forward. They all seem like quality people who are very successful in their private lives. Greg Westaway fits into these categories. I see his announcement that he is stepping down as a positive. The Board now has plenty of time to work out who among them (or someone from outside) is best positioned to lead the Board post 2013. This announcement also allows the club to maintain stability at Board level. I believe that quality people and stability are vital for success. We have that now and going forward !!
StPav, just read what Eastern has to say above and there's your answer - has obviously read the bio's of the new Board just like me.

saintspremiers wrote:It's not worth a cracker. Just land value.
Wrong
saintspremiers wrote:The depreciation allowance reduces our tax but if we are making an operating loss we are simply just creating more credits along with the loan servicing costs I assume?
wrong
saintspremiers wrote:At least if we ever become profitable again we won't be paying tax for a while lol!!!

Three strikes and you are out :roll: :roll:

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
oh when the

Companies do not want their name associated with
a bad image and that was what the st kilda image was after
The lovett, school girl, & players behavour over past summers.
Why would a company want its name on the saints
Jumper on the front page of media highlighting bad issues.

lets all brag about how right we were 4 years ago
and about how no one on hear would listern

and how cool and smart we are

heres a trumpet

go blow it up your ass 8-)

Merry Christmas to Greg and his family :)