Go away CJ

Re: Go away CJ

Riewoldt is a decent field kick,

We need a big bodied defender,

We now have an abundance of key forwards,

So, Roo to the back line

Sadly CJ's kicking is sub-standard and I agree he should not play in this era. Gilbert has a lot to offer, but his kicking is pretty bad, he needs to improve or play in the magoos.

felix

Who would you rather play on Gary Ablett, cj or roo ? .
Last edited by felix on Mon 18 Feb 2013 4:48pm, edited 1 time in total.

Toy Saint wrote:Riewoldt is a decent field kick,

We need a big bodied defender,We now have an abundance of key forwards,

So, Roo to the back line

Sadly CJ's kicking is sub-standard and I agree he should not play in this era.

Gilbert has a lot to offer, but his kicking is pretty bad, he needs to improve or play in the magoos.
I think Stanley was mentioned as playing back by Watters a couple of weeks ago. Time will tell, but I like this idea. He has a big frame, and can run with the key fwds. Not sure he will be agile enough though.

saint6

thought cj did ok in the first game. Had one lovely long kick in to the forward line which was delivered straight to maister. Not so good in the second game but neither were a lot of others.

gilbert for mine has to be fringe
got baked twice, once by blake and once by geary
stupid mistakes a player with his experience should not be making
still shanking it too

god he is frustrating

thought cj was 'ok'

ROLS-LEE

Cj's kicking isn't as bad as everyone makes out. His style is very unorthodox which looks bad, and his confidence would be rock bottom too as the commentators regardless if he hits a target always roasts him. Gilbert is a worst kick imho.

matrix wrote:gilbert for mine has to be fringe
got baked twice, once by blake and once by geary
stupid mistakes a player with his experience should not be making
still shanking it too

god he is frustrating

thought cj was 'ok'
Thanks for that, nothing like picking up on these things watching it live...

ROLS-LEE wrote:Cj's kicking isn't as bad as everyone makes out. His style is very unorthodox which looks bad, and his confidence would be rock bottom too as the commentators regardless if he hits a target always roasts him. Gilbert is a worst kick imho.

His kicking is terrible otherwise it wouldnt matter what a commentator said. If a commentator said Sippos was a bad kick he wouldnt lost confidence and anyway how does a player hear what a commentator says anyway.

i think blakeys bake (which was down our end) was one gilbs managed to get both hands up to a ball coming in and instead of punching he double open handed it...the ball went bugger all away and came down for a goal
blakey let him know straight away and you see gilbs do the punch action and acknowledged what he did wrong

i think the geary one was when he left his man (running towards the goal square) and ran to the guy with the footy, yet someone else went to cover the player with the ball and just handballed over the top, easy goal
from memory geary pointed at his player and obviously said something

every time he got the pill i cringed, especially when he turns to kick across goal
its strange
he was a great kick in the early years but it seems to have seriously gone down hill for some reason
dont get me wrong he tries his ass off and goes in well and busts a gut....and i think its this that is keeping him in the side

mid you, there was a few clunkers off a few boots, dal and joey were not immune
thought cj wasnt bad, still wants to handball first, which sometimes gets him in trouble tho imo

all in all its the mickey mouse cup
not taking anything from it, especially the second game
geez it was warm...way to warm to be running around for 40 mins of footy
seriously cant believe they didnt shorten the halfs by a few mins and therefore extending the breaks

I'm going to wait and see on Gilbo Matrix.

When we have Gwilt back to his best, and Fisher...Dempster as well even...Gilbert can dish it off, which I reckon is what he did more in 09/10 when our backline was chugging along nicely.

I guess the pace of the game was slower under Lyon, so he had to make less decisions...it required less creativity then I think?

When we have Sam Fisher and Dempster back, will there be room in the team for Gilbert, particularly with the form of Newnes?

borderbarry wrote:When we have Sam Fisher and Dempster back, will there be room in the team for Gilbert, particularly with the form of Newnes?
Lovely problem to have though isn't it Baz...

I thought CJ looked like a headless chook out there myself, showed very little composure by hand or foot.

Witeout23

But he's our "headless chook" and we should stop bagging him.
I thought he was OK in the first game.
No-one was really outstanding in the second.

Witeout23 wrote:But he's our "headless chook" and we should stop bagging him.
Not much point posting if you can't say that some players were better than others, is there?

SainterK wrote:I'm going to wait and see on Gilbo Matrix.

When we have Gwilt back to his best, and Fisher...Dempster as well even...Gilbert can dish it off, which I reckon is what he did more in 09/10 when our backline was chugging along nicely.

I guess the pace of the game was slower under Lyon, so he had to make less decisions...it required less creativity then I think?
lets hope so K
if his foot skills were up there with his efforts the kid would be back to his AA performances from 08 and 09
whats happened?
its a strange one
im positive his kicking wasnt this bad back then
thing is you just dont lose your kicking ability..its there or its not

CJ another odd one
whats going to happen there?
if we dont play a tagger is he going to make the 22???
some games he racks up the touches and blocks and tackles but as soon as he is forced to kick he doesnt back himself it seems
id honestly be surprised if he plays all 22 this year

Some players are smart and some are not... SOme have that natural football brain where good things just happen around them. Some try their hardest yet the hardest still isnt good enough.

There is a reason why Jones was only picked up as a Rookie, there is a reason why Jones was only picked up as a 24 year old. There is a reason why Jones is bagged. He has endevour but is dumb.

There are plenty of these players. He was good under Lyon because everything was in close. Under Watters we are a more attacking team, so why have a tagger that cant kick under pressure and cant read the next play in offence? He is likable and trys hard, but if we are to move forward we have to get used to him not being in St.Kilda's best 22

Carn Saints

matrix wrote:
SainterK wrote:I'm going to wait and see on Gilbo Matrix.

lets hope so K
if his foot skills were up there with his efforts the kid would be back to his AA performances from 08 and 09
whats happened?
its a strange one
im positive his kicking wasnt this bad back then
thing is you just dont lose your kicking ability..its there or its not

CJ another odd one
whats going to happen there?
if we dont play a tagger is he going to make the 22???
some games he racks up the touches and blocks and tackles but as soon as he is forced to kick he doesnt back himself it seems
id honestly be surprised if he plays all 22 this year
I remember it was his shimmys that stood out to me back then, his evasive skills...not sure his kicking has ever been that flash, but under Ross you had time on your side...chipping it around the backline etc.

I'd be surprised if he plays more than 5 or 6 this year… surely he got another year becasue of a clause like Kosi & Gram?

Unfortunately he is exactly the type of bloke that has to make way so that Ross, Ledger, Newnes, Wright, Dunell, Curren etc get to play some footy alongside Lenny, Dal & Joey while they are still around.

Witeout23 wrote:But he's our "headless chook" and we should stop bagging him.
I thought he was OK in the first game.
No-one was really outstanding in the second.
Sorry if I offended - but I just don't see a place for him...he's firmly on the fringes IMO.

CJ is a driver. He moves the ball forward through sheer gut running. He is in the side because he is able to lock down but also able to move through traffic with his solid build and hard running. His disposal is iffy but he does go like an electric ferret.

Gilbo is more of an oversized running wingman and doesn't play tall well at all. He is best used as a rebound runner not as a KPP.

felix

Cj has grunt who else has grunt in that team you need pure grunt sometimes.

felix wrote:Cj has grunt who else has grunt in that team you need pure grunt sometimes.
# 7 has a little… as does gears…

Mark McGough had grunt, but he was ordinary footballer too.

don't know why ppl are questioning CJ's value now...

has been in the same patch of form since mid 2010

skeptic wrote:don't know why ppl are questioning CJ's value now...

has been in the same patch of form since mid 2010

I thought it was a bit later but it was basically when the traditional tagger went the way of the Tasmanian tiger. If CJ is still a regular then we are going backwards.