Extended squad in NZL v Swans

Patrick Keane‏@AFL_PKeane29s
StK v Syd; Koschitzke, Dempster, Lee, Siposs, Hickey, Murdoch, Saunders in to 25 for Milne, Maister, Milera, Simpkin.

Re: Extended squad in NZL v Swans

So it will be Dempster if fit, Lee and Siposs with Kosi or hickey fighting out for the other spot IMO.

Simpkin is a real strange one at the moment..

Poor preparation over the pre season, under done, out of favor??... Has not picked up from where he left off last year, very disappointing to this point...

Didn't see Hickey in the video, or hear that he flew over....anyone see him at the airport?

Simpkin just can't retain a spot, and Milera kind of expected once you don the red vest.

Sobraz wrote:Simpkin is a real strange one at the moment..

Poor preparation over the pre season, under done, out of favor??... Has not picked up from where he left off last year, very disappointing to this point...
Yet TDL gets another gig.....

The mind boggles.

At least we have already 4 outs - I'm hoping it will be 6 outs and all the ins play.

I can't believe I'm wanting Kosi in. Desperate times!

He injured himself at training a few weeks before the start of the year. If dempster doesnt play it is a very strange move. If he does play then there is simply no spot for him.

hope the young ones get a go! and ross gets a full game

seriously doubt they will risk Dempster, Simpkin seemed to escape much criticism after last week, but he did look out of touch

given night time in NZ, in Wellington (can be wet and windy) suggest not a great game for talls

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights

Dempster? still in cast/ glove at the airport?

or do they need to name all who flew to ensure AFL paying?

He injured himself at training a few weeks before the start of the year. If dempster doesnt play it is a very strange move. If he does play then there is simply no spot for him.
Suggests Dempster will play, doesn't it.

So Dempster/Blake/Simpkin all have occupied the same spot this year?

Still seems odd to me.

Yet TDL gets another gig.....

The mind boggles.

At least we have already 4 outs - I'm hoping it will be 6 outs and all the ins play.

I can't believe I'm wanting Kosi in. Desperate times!

Without being negative if all 6 play i reckon we may lose by up to 15 goals. That isnt the way to start the NZ experiment. I reckon we could lose by up to 10 anyway which isnt good either. What is does say with Milne and Milera out is the coaching panel got last week wrong by a long way. Pretty ordinary actually. 4 smalls and now 2 at the most. Mind boggling stupidity.

saintbrat wrote:Dempster? still in cast/ glove at the airport?

or do they need to name all who flew to ensure AFL paying?
Mind games.

So Dempster/Blake/Simpkin all have occupied the same spot this year?

Still seems odd to me.

So roberton played last year? Or Stanley played FB. Tell me where he can play if Dempster plays?

What's the logic behind an 'extended squad' 48 hours before the game?

They don't do that for Saturday matches, named on Thursday night.

Feel sorry Simpkin being thrown in the deep end against Essendon, what happens when Gwilt comes back... He'll be zero chance then.

dragit wrote:What's the logic behind an 'extended squad' 48 hours before the game?

They don't do that for Saturday matches, named on Thursday night.

Feel sorry Simpkin being thrown in the deep end against Essendon, what happens when Gwilt comes back... He'll be zero chance then.
They do extended squads on Thursday for Sunday games.

Anyway, the 22 tomorrow is a wank anyway.

Twy should just have squads of 25 named with a final 22 90 minutes prior.

plugger66 wrote:So roberton played last year? Or Stanley played FB. Tell me where he can play if Dempster plays?
No I'm saying this year, all three have appeared to occupy that spot at any given time.

I guess my point is were Blake and Simpkin seat warming?

The Craw

So roberton played last year? Or Stanley played FB. Tell me where he can play if Dempster plays?
Throw Wright in there as well.

I would say it is a good thing, at least there is some kind of pressure to keep a spot in the backline this season.

The problem is that it is not settled. Need to have some consistancy.
Last edited by The Craw on Tue 23 Apr 2013 7:48pm, edited 1 time in total.

Not Craw, CRAW!

Also Terry has played some good footy this year, donuts has not. I guess Terry never played under Watters in the WAFL though.

plugger66 wrote:What is does say with Milne and Milera out is the coaching panel got last week wrong by a long way. Pretty ordinary actually. 4 smalls and now 2 at the most. Mind boggling stupidity.
This is the alarming part of it all...

It's all a bit over the place at the moment.

I guess we'll likely see 2 talls, 2 mediums, 2 smalls with perhaps a resting ruckman at times?

saintgee

TDL still in the sqaud, what a farce, fair dinkum

plugger66 wrote:So roberton played last year? Or Stanley played FB. Tell me where he can play if Dempster plays?
No I'm saying this year, all three have appeared to occupy that spot at any given time.

I guess my point is were Blake and Simpkin seat warming?

No idea but I reckon if either were in the best and other backmen werent then the others may be out. All I know is you must have a settled side and we havent and some of the selections have been very weird IMO. Easy to say after a loss though.

plugger66 wrote:All I know is you must have a settled side and we havent and some of the selections have been very weird IMO. Easy to say after a loss though.
Completely agree.

No problem with trying a few things, but at least try and retain some structure in the lineup.

plugger66 wrote:All I know is you must have a settled side and we havent and some of the selections have been very weird IMO. Easy to say after a loss though.
Completely agree.

No problem with trying a few things, but at least try and retain some structure in the lineup.

Thats exactly what Robert Shaw said on Sunday on SEN. it is easy after the event but he said as soon as the final sides were picked he thought Essendon were certain because they replaced players from a certain position with another to play in that position. We just completely changed our forward line by having more smalls. Changed our structure completely. Didnt even have a back up ruckman. I refuse to count Maister as a ruckman.

Anyone hear Watters say Milne may not be back after his suspension - was very dirty on him not providing an example for the kids.

Also from the way he spoke I wouldn't be shocked to see Murdoch and/or Saunders to get a game.