Noise Noise ... Mindless Noise !!!!

Before the game we got bombarded with music and mindless talk.
It got even worse at 1/4 1/2 3/4 time with music pumping, two idiots talking cr@p and then bogan-cam.

I gave up trying to talk to my mate cause I couldn't hear properly.
I tried listening to the radio summary but that was drowned out.
So I just sat there reading the record in the half light on level 3.

WHY CAN'T THEY JUST STFU AND LEAVE THE FANS IN PEACE TO TALK AMONGST THEMSELVES OR CONTEMPLATE!!!!!!!!

Re: Noise Noise ... Mindless Noise !!!!

don't forget the number of times you need to hear the siren

Even though I didn't go last night, I agree with you.

It's part of modern thinking that we need to be entertained by the venue.

Heaven forbid, should you wish to sit and have a conversation with the person next to you, or listern to the radio, or even read a newspaper or a book whilst waiting for the game to begin.

And the thinking that cranking up the noise will grab your attention or the advertising or marketing activities being held out on the ground pre-game.

Of course none of this would happen if a curtin raiser was on. Hands up those younger threaders who may not even know what a curtin raiser is?

ozrulestrace wrote:Even though I didn't go last night, I agree with you.

It's part of modern thinking that we need to be entertained by the venue.

Heaven forbid, should you wish to sit and have a conversation with the person next to you, or listern to the radio, or even read a newspaper or a book whilst waiting for the game to begin.

And the thinking that cranking up the noise will grab your attention or the advertising or marketing activities being held out on the ground pre-game.

Of course none of this would happen if a curtin raiser was on. Hands up those younger threaders who may not even know what a curtin raiser is?

Maybe they would understand if you called it a "curtain" raiser ?? :shock: :lol: :lol:

lummox

ozrulestrace wrote:
Hands up those younger threaders who may not even know what a curtin raiser is?

Raises hand tentatively.

Enrico_Misso wrote:Before the game we got bombarded with music and mindless talk.
It got even worse at 1/4 1/2 3/4 time with music pumping, two idiots talking cr@p and then bogan-cam.

I gave up trying to talk to my mate cause I couldn't hear properly.
I tried listening to the radio summary but that was drowned out.
So I just sat there reading the record in the half light on level 3.

WHY CAN'T THEY JUST STFU AND LEAVE THE FANS IN PEACE TO TALK AMONGST THEMSELVES OR CONTEMPLATE!!!!!!!!
Totally agree Enrico. It spoils the atmosphere. A symptom of needing to be entertained every second. It's not just at the footy. It's bloody everywhere. Airport lounges, cafes, restaurants, waiting rooms, the post office, there are even service stations with 'Pump TV' - ffs. Fill every available second with media content of some kind. God forbid that we should have the opportunity to just quietly be with ourselves. It's a marketing and 'entertainment' driven epidemic.

I especially dislike that the moment the siren sounds the ground announcer comes on with -"At quarter time St.Kilda 4.4.28 leading......." etc. You farkwit, I've been watching the game. I know the bloody score. It's crazy but just a symptom of a society demanding entertainment every second.

Apart from both GF in 2010, I haven't been to an away filth game in years. Before that, I think 2006 was the last time at the G. Not planning to any time soon either.
Last edited by SaintPav on Sat 04 May 2013 9:19pm, edited 1 time in total.

MrCordz

Enrico_Misso wrote:Before the game we got bombarded with music and mindless talk.
bogan-cam.

!
Love it - definitely Bogan Cam :D

Humbly St. Kilda

VFL games are fairly basic and traditional. And really enjoyable to attend!

saintspremiers wrote:VFL games are fairly basic and traditional. And really enjoyable to attend!

The last year I was in Melb I started going to Ammos games. There's a lot to be said for grass roots footy. No bulls***.

be cheer leaders next dancing around when the guys come out to run thru the banner and then dancing about at half time to some crappy music blasting thru the pa

how about putting some local kids on the park
more auskick
something ffs

its not friggin nfl or 20 twenty footy for christ sake

Less noise , cheaper Beer.

snowdelisaint

Enrico_Misso wrote:bombarded with music and mindless talk.
Glad to see this has annoyed others as much as me. If it gets any worse it will become for me a good reason not to go to games (esp. Docklands games)

Superstar

SaintPav wrote:Apart from both GF in 2010, I haven't been to an away filth game in years. Before that, I think 2006 was the last time at the G. Not planning to any time soon either.
Not just a collingwood thing though.

Happens at MCG but seems worse at Etihad.

Went down to TBO thisafternoon.

The only noise was the sound of supporters barracking.
No loud music.
No f'wits doing voice overs.
No bogan-cam.
No idiot telling you the score.
No gambling adds.
Just the faint crackling Sandy theme song over the ancient speakers at the end!

What a great footy atmosphere.
That's the way AFL used to be.

I wish it would come back.

Totally agree on this. I go to the footy with my "football mates." We have been following the Saints since the bad old days. We go there to talk about the footy, what's likely to happen today, how we are going etc, etc. The stadium noise is simple "deafening" and I don't know many who enjoy any of it.

It's the same in the saints Social Club after the match, with the incessant Auctioning - you can't hear each other speak! I have complained to the Club several times and suggested reducing the number of auctions, but to no availe! I don't go in there anymore - drink elsewhere.

No point complaining - the AFL/Etihad do not want to know - I am pissed off now!

matrix wrote:
be cheer leaders next dancing around when the guys come out to run thru the banner
Remember when Eddleston took over the Swans................ that was introduced. Think it only lasted about 4 or 5 matches, when thankfully someone had the sense to say No! No!........ that's not for AFL

Clearly posters on this site despise this so called "entertainment" that is imposed upon us.

Presumably it must be for the younger audience?
I would like to hear from Gen Y/Z.
Do they like that sort of "entertainment"?

And if so ... why?

loris wrote:
matrix wrote:
be cheer leaders next dancing around when the guys come out to run thru the banner
Remember when Eddleston took over the Swans................ that was introduced. Think it only lasted about 4 or 5 matches, when thankfully someone had the sense to say No! No!........ that's not for AFL
The Swanettes and Bluebirds actually lasted a couple of years in the '80s. Thank goodness they were only at their home games.

Apparently the Yanks do it in baseball & gridiron; in baseball I believe they play a silly noise matching the hit or miss. A miss is followed by a "wa wa wa waaaa"
Is that correct?
Look, we need to copy Yank culture if AFL is to become a truly global sport.
4 games in NZ over 2 years is good, but we MUST play 9 home games in Vegas and an Anzac Day game in New York. Central Park.
Get that bald buffoon Hutchie as #one ticket holder and US recruiter (East Coast)
I want to get up at 3am to watch footy.