Filth adds to indigeneous Round

Re: Filth adds to indigeneous Round

Life Long Saint wrote:
plugger66 wrote:The girl is 14. She has obviously been brought up wrong. it has nothing to do with the side she follows. I have heard every clubs supporters be racist. She needs to be looked after as she obviously has issues in her up bringing. I know we wont to blame the pies but i would back Ed in trying to make sure they dont have supporters like that. I also think Goodes had the right to complain but probably then realised how young she was so he was upset. All it shows is some people, no matter who they follow, have a long way to go.
Pretty well said.
What is also important to remember is that racism is a learned behaviour. It is not natural behaviour for humans to judge based on race. Watch young kids play together. They have no problem playing with kids of any colour and heritage. It is only when their parents get involved that their behaviour changes.
The fact that this girl is only 14 is a positive because she can learn from this and change her ways.
She will have learned a very hard and public lesson tonight and that will be very hard for someone so young to deal with...and often that is the best trigger for learning.
There is no condoning her actions but she looked genuinely upset when she was being ejected.
Collingwood should now work with and support her in changing her actions.
Well said, and to very good points. There is absolutely no excuse for the behaviour but theee is some mitigating circumstances in that this behaviour would have been learned from parents and other filth ppl around her, so to pin it on s 14 year old when they should be looking Arthur behaviour of those around her as well. This will be hard for a 14 year old to get over, she would now realise the effect she had on the individual, she will now become the centre of attention from the media, will cop it on social
Media, and will have to front school on Monday with this hanging over her head

Superstar

magnifisaint wrote:
plugger66 wrote:The girl is 14. She has obviously been brought up wrong. it has nothing to do with the side she follows. I have heard every clubs supporters be racist. She needs to be looked after as she obviously has issues in her up bringing. I know we wont to blame the pies but i would back Ed in trying to make sure they dont have supporters like that. I also think Goodes had the right to complain but probably then realised how young she was so he was upset. All it shows is some people, no matter who they follow, have a long way to go.
well said
Indeed.
Unfortunately racism still exists across all clubs. Only have to read this thread for proof.

Sobraz wrote:As much as I can't stand him, thought Eddie was terrific in that impromptu post match interview.. Good on him..
It's called damage Control...he knows as well as anyone how feral and unstable his supporter base is and quite frankly I can't see him fixing the problem.

saintspremiers wrote:What did the girl say?

I think it was "black c***".
Regardless of what she said, if it was racist, she should be banned for the rest of the season and named and shamed.

COllingwood supporters last season, again this season, in the Indigeneous Round at that, especially with Goodes playing a blinder.

Good on you Adam Goodes, the idiot woman looked like she was going to s.hit herself when Goodes had a go and then security got her.

Fcuking coward.
racial vilification is illegal. what good does a ban do? not enforceable.

I didn't see the incident, but IMO if she's an adult then prosecute her, if a minor then educate her.

You would have to assume that if this girl is 14 then the people sitting with her / around her were family or friends so I was absolutely astounded that when she was ejected they just sat there and didnt even flinch or make a move to follow her out (to offer support knowing she did something wrong) :(

Behind Play

Devilhead wrote:You would have to assume that if this girl is 14 then the people sitting with her / around her were family or friends so I was absolutely astounded that when she was ejected they just sat there and didnt even flinch or make a move to follow her out (to offer support knowing she did something wrong) :(
Side by side we stick together.....not

Eddie still tried to deflect this and give Collingwood supporters an out for there behaviour. When Ed was interviewed why did he have to comment that Jolly was there but heard nothing? Nice work Ed your double standards rise again.

The Fireman wrote:
Sobraz wrote:As much as I can't stand him, thought Eddie was terrific in that impromptu post match interview.. Good on him..
It's called damage Control...he knows as well as anyone how feral and unstable his supporter base is and quite frankly I can't see him fixing the problem.

Considering he labels it banter when someone from his club does it.

CURLY wrote:
The Fireman wrote:

Considering he labels it banter when someone from his club does it.
The fat slag abusing Milne was made a star on the Footy show.

Toy Saint wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:Goodes was perfectly entitled to point out the lone "lady" with the offensive comment to an official for them to take action.

But bursting into tears - spare me!
My appoligies folks, I was trying to say what Enrico said, that the bursting into tears was a bit over the top. It was not my intention to condone racism.

Fair Enough Toy Saint. Did Goodes burst into tears? Didn't know that.

Any cool sorry to get into you so hard.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

The Fireman wrote:
Yes, the offender was wearing a Collingwood jumper with the sponsors logos attached. Was the area where the incident took place a Collingwood MEMBERS area? Note to Eddie: There was ABSOLUTELY NO BORDERLINE about it. It was RACIST.

Damage Control = Protecting the BRAND and that of the SPONSORS. To that Eddie did a brilliant job !!

And I agree, there is racists in all clubs.

Heard a Saints supporter calling the aboriginal players at Carlton a few years back "petrol sniffers".

I am not dumb enough to believe any club is pure.

Facts are Collingwood have the most form.

Nicky started 20 years ago at Collingwood

McAlister showed the Collingwood culture - they must behave like white people

Monkhorst (Collingwood) abuses Long

(Not forgetting Everitt playing for the Saints)

Collingwood supporter abuses GC player - Thomas from Collingwood identifies the culprit.

last night.

And the filthy culture that lets this happen - the superiority complex propogated by McGuire.

Coach calls an opposition player a rapist - does not admit it until footage is shown.

Collingwood Cheersquad chants rapist to an oposition player. McGuire palms off as banter.

Real banter towards a Collingwood player who has done time and been convicted of criminal charges, McGuire pulls out the race card when everyone can see it wasn't.

McGuire and Collingwood pay lip service to "no tolerance", but continue to egg on their supporters by their actions.

yes there are racists at all clubs, but Collingwood have a culture that is condoned from the top and their moron army of filth who have a collective IQ of about 7 think it is OK because McGuire leads by example.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

If the same scenario played out but it was Saints fan would we have seen Westaway bound straight into the oppositions room?

I'm guessing they'd say "who are you?" and would refuse him entry!

joffaboy wrote:And I agree, there is racists in all clubs.

Heard a Saints supporter calling the aboriginal players at Carlton a few years back "petrol sniffers".

I am not dumb enough to believe any club is pure.

Facts are Collingwood have the most form.

Nicky started 20 years ago at Collingwood

McAlister showed the Collingwood culture - they must behave like white people

Monkhorst (Collingwood) abuses Long

(Not forgetting Everitt playing for the Saints)

Collingwood supporter abuses GC player - Thomas from Collingwood identifies the culprit.

last night.

And the filthy culture that lets this happen - the superiority complex propogated by McGuire.

Coach calls an opposition player a rapist - does not admit it until footage is shown.

Collingwood Cheersquad chants rapist to an oposition player. McGuire palms off as banter.

Real banter towards a Collingwood player who has done time and been convicted of criminal charges, McGuire pulls out the race card when everyone can see it wasn't.

McGuire and Collingwood pay lip service to "no tolerance", but continue to egg on their supporters by their actions.

yes there are racists at all clubs, but Collingwood have a culture that is condoned from the top and their moron army of filth who have a collective IQ of about 7 think it is OK because McGuire leads by example.

Well argued Joff. One rule for us and one for everyone else.....

ChelseaGuy

happy feet wrote:Toy Saint that comment is appalling. Have a think about what the indigenous round is there for . Well done Adam Goodes for doing what he did. On a night like tonight Adam Goodes displayed that he is a champion footballer and a true community leader.

Collingwood need to be punished for their appalling supporters who continue to racially abuse players. It happens every year.

Sanctions need to be applied to this most racist of clubs in any code in Australia.
Have heard equally appalling things from Saints supporters over the years and a few comments on this thread to show no club has a monopoly on racism or idiots

ChelseaGuy wrote:
happy feet wrote:Toy Saint that comment is appalling. Have a think about what the indigenous round is there for . Well done Adam Goodes for doing what he did. On a night like tonight Adam Goodes displayed that he is a champion footballer and a true community leader.

Collingwood need to be punished for their appalling supporters who continue to racially abuse players. It happens every year.

Sanctions need to be applied to this most racist of clubs in any code in Australia.
Have heard equally appalling things from Saints supporters over the years and a few comments on this thread to show no club has a monopoly on racism or idiots

I agree. The pies have a poor record but they do also have the most supporters so will obviously have the most idiots. We have a few as well as does every club. And I reckon Eddie actually does want to try and stop it but it just about impossible. That girl had parents that I would suggest didnt help the situation. She obviously knew the person next to her because she gave her something when she was lead out. That person who was much older didnt even go with the 14 year old girl so what hope does the girl have before the incident. It maybe the best thing for her and hopefully many others from every club.

If you hear something at the footy today then dob them in.

Looking forward to the mods on this site taking a zero tolerance on racism and handing out a couple of suspensions for comments made on this thread.

Won't happen though

kimberly saint

CURLY wrote:Eddie still tried to deflect this and give Collingwood supporters an out for there behaviour. When Ed was interviewed why did he have to comment that Jolly was there but heard nothing? Nice work Ed your double standards rise again.
spot on , the support for him on this thread makes me feel il. Sure he came across well in the after marth , but he is a smart man and went into damage control . Would he of been so forth coming if the camera had not caught this girl out red handed and goodes made a complaint. No friggin way would he, would been same old bla bla bla we ae investigating it we dont stand that stuff at collingwood . Dont forget about malthouse and milne saga, for the coach of a AFL club calling another player a rapist in the broad public eye that was proven inocent any how is 1000 times worse . Wat did eddie say or do about this ???

On a positive note well played swans , call me sick but we may suck a tad this year but i sure am loving watching bombers and now pies squirm a bit this year :D

I never really understood the Indian/Andrew Symonds situation properly... Did they call him a monkey?

Although I am sure the girl last night was intending to be racist, it seems that some animal references are deemed as a bit of fun, others are clearly unacceptable. Is it because of historical racist taunts?

McEvoy does look owl like...

Milne is famously known as the tip rat...

I guess it's all in the intent & a shocking history of vilification.

skeptic wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:Well done Eddie going down to the rooms to apologise.
Just like he did when his coach publicly vilified one of our players as a rapist.
???

Forgive my ignorance

Did that really happen?
Of course it didn't happen.
Merely my ironical anger!

Maguire is a despicable compromised inconsistent hypocrite.

dragit wrote:I never really understood the Indian/Andrew Symonds situation properly... Did they call him a monkey?

Although I am sure the girl last night was intending to be racist, it seems that some animal references are deemed as a bit of fun, others are clearly unacceptable. Is it because of historical racist taunts?

McEvoy does look owl like...

Milne is famously known as the tip rat...

I guess it's all in the intent & a shocking history of vilification.

We could have a whole other thread about the Symonds/Harbhajan incident. Not on the footy forum I guess. Can't stand Harbhajan in the aftermath of that and also lost my respect for Tendulkar. But most of all I lost what small respect I had for Cricket Australia and James Sutherland. What a slimy, corporate spin-meister that guy is. Symonds was left high and dry by CA because India threatened to take their bat and ball and go home, which would have cost tens of millions in TV rights. "we wont stand up for our contracted player because you guys control the money." That's what happened.
Sutherland and the corporate noddies at CA are lying, spineless, devoid of ethics corporate patsys.

Maguire as much of a super flog and a conflicted position holder did use his time as the main man on the footy show to stand up against racism even when guys like Newman thought it was funny to exploit it. Probably did as much as the AFL it's self to change the narrative in Australian sport.

Sheedy always gets the wraps for his work in the race relations area but he always seems to have a bit of " they play special" or need help- inferring something is generally wrong with them when he talks about them. A bit like they need some white man to fix their brokenness. Slight racial over tones. Maguire gets a more modern view point- one of common respect.

Maguire doesn't do much that doesn't rile me but he did ok on this and has been strong on the issue always.

I know a guy who used to be one of the "Ball Boys" behind the goals. He told me that whilst the Collingwood mob were pretty close, they weren't the worst. He told me that the worst supporter group (Cheersquad and those in that vicinity) were small in number, but BIG on vilification. He also told me that he enjoyed doing SAINTS games because what he heard from them was FUNNY without going over the top !!

You punish them by non-attendance at their home games, which is what we chose to do this year and will never ever again attend a game against those awful people.

The drop in takings is what will hurt them.

Munga wrote:It's probably worse that it has come from someone young. They're not some silly old fart that hasn't changed with the times. This is a kid growing up in a system that hasn't worked. Need to look at her parents, friends and schooling and find out wtf went wrong and how to improve.

Totally agree and very depressing that a new generation that continue to address players in such terms, (Goodes said she called him an ape) so all the PR is n the world including a fair amount of self congratulation by the AFL etc has been lost.